60 years of my favourite music – some randomssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)

It’s Friday and my 60 years series is about done, and I’m in withdrawal. So here are some randoms that I missed out.

My challenge to myself still stands – to find new music from 2015 & 2016 to complete the 60 years. But that takes more than a few days. I’ve got 3 from 2016 already but 3 songs does not a post make. So that is still on the back burner.

But there are many well loved artists that I missed out in the previous post, so here, in no particular order are some of them.

Meatloaf

I was already a fan of Meatloaf, especially the first Bat out of Hell and his portrayal of Eddie in the Rocky Horror Show, but when this song came out, I didn't get it at first. It didn't grab me right away. Till I saw a video of him performing it live, and the passion he put into it. Then I got it, and it became my favourite song of his.

This isn’t the same video, but it’s close enough - “I Would Do Anything or Love, But I Won’t Do That”.

Tim Curry

Usually known more as an actor than a singer, but since we’re talking about the Rocky Horror Show, his performance in that is possibly the greatest in his career. I’ve seen the movie and stage show many times, and of course I love The Timewarp. But my favourite comes at the end of the show, when we see his pain at being away from his home planet, his hope that he’s going home, and we see beyond the monster. I can’t decide who has (had) the sexier voice – Tim Curry or Alan Rickman.

Real Life

I think this band might be considered a one-hit wonder. But oh what a wonder it was. From 1983, Send Me An Angel.

Gordon Lightfoot

I think his most well known song was something about some wrecked ship ;-) but the songs I loved best are these two, and yes, we’re having both.

If you Could Read My Mind

Talking in Your Sleep

Crystal Gayle

She also had a song called Talking in Your Sleep, which was completely different, so let’s have it too. I could have chosen a version of her singing it live, but it was a bit overwrought, so I think I’d rather just listen and not watch this one.

Toni Basil

Let’s finish with something a bit more up tempo and ok, maybe a bit silly. And yes, I know it’s a rip off from Racey’s Kitty. But I like it anyway.

Oh Mickey, you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind… you take me by the heart when you take me by the hand…

Back to the start

Oh, alright, one more. I want to go full circle, back to Meatloaf and back to the Rocky Horror Show. Eddie and “Hot Patootie, Bless my soul”

The closing lines from the mad brilliance of the Rocky Horror Show:

And crawling on the planet’s face
Some insects called the human race
Lost in time
And lost in space
And meaning.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

I am now on Peerhub offering one on one nutritional coaching and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype.

Previous posts about music and entertainment:

Benefits of joining a community choir
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994
If crying in movies was an Olympic sport
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014
Remembering some artists who passed away in 2016


Badges courtesy of @elyaque and https://www.steemverify.com/

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

AW Great, I have been waiting for this post!!

Yay, glad that you're enjoying them! It's great fun revisiting some of my best loved songs.

good posting ... upvoted... have a nice day... ^^

Thanks abdullar

Send me an angel extended version - yeah

Glad you like it :-)

Rocky Horror rocks!

Indeed it does. Do you think I should have dedicated the whole post to it?

You could easily dedicate a whole post to it. there is just so much about it that is cool. ;-)

True, dat.

I love Gordon Lightfoot. I must have listened to the Edmund Fitzgerald a hundred times when all of my friends were singing Things that make you go hmm and staring at me like my music taste came from some other universe. And meatloaf's I would do anything for love? One of the first videos ever made of me featured myself and a friend lip synching to that song, God I wish I still had that!!

Being from, ahem, a previous generation to you, my friend and I used to lip sync and act out Delilah by Tom Jones. Luckily it was way, way before any possibility of it being video'd. This was back in the day when, if you wanted to record a song off the radio, you (I) used your dad's old reel to reel tape recorder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52