STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE 31: Wild, Wild Salad - 19 wild plants - trees, flowers, weeds! - with foraging ID quiz

in #food7 years ago

It's weeds, tree leaves, flowers, and vines! It's a wild summer salad - vegan-style! Do you know any of these plants? You could be eating them in a wild, wild salad! Here's how I did it!


x DSC05603 WEB TN 1.jpg

Thanks to the Steemit Culinary Challenge for prompting me to make this salad! There are special challenges in foraging a salad in the late spring. Many wild spring salad greens have gotten tough, or bitter, or both, due to bright sunshine and moisture stress, or just from growing older. And the summer weeds haven't appeared yet here at Haphazard Homestead. So what plants will end up in my salad?


Step 1. Forage the greens

My salad greens all came from my yard. I just took a walk. I took all the photos first, because that takes a lot longer than actually picking everything. Here are two collages with the plants I picked, except for one that I show later. Under each collage, I name the plants. I also give their scientific names in a plant list near the end of this post, because common names vary from place to place.

Some of these plants grow in many parts of the world - as weeds, trees, or garden escape artists. Do you recognize any of these plants? Which ones do you have growing around you?

x June wild salad 1 WEB.jpg
Top, left to right: common sowthistle, prickly sowthistle, prickly wild lettuce. Middle, left to right: bristly hawksbeard, yellow dock, nipplewort. Bottom, left to right: common dandelion, spearmint, lemon balm.

x June wild salad 2 WEB.jpg
Top, left to right: Concord grape, Douglas-fir, noble fir. Middle, left to right: American elm, hawthorn, trailing blackberry. Bottom, left to right: white clover, English daisy, White Dawn rose.

This time of year, being able to identify plants at all stages of their growth is really helpful, because I am looking for the youngest, most tender plants I can find. The leaves I pick from the American Elm and Hawthorne trees are the tender young growth from the ends of actively growing branches. You can see the difference in their color and texture from neighboring leaves in the images. The secret to getting the giant, older dandelions to taste good enough for a salad, is to strip the center rib out. The Trailing Blackberry is tiny, but it's tasty. It's the only blackberry that is native to the U.S. Pacific Northwest.


Step 2. Bring the harvest back to the kitchen

Back in the kitchen, I lay all my plants out to double-check that I don't have anything that is not edible. And I cull any poor quality plants. The numbers in the images go along with the plant list. So you can use these pictures as a quiz. You can also try to match the plants in my kitchen with the ones outdoors in the previous section. Can you recognize any of them? Are any of your favorite wild plants here?

x DSC05587 WEB.jpg

x DSC05588 WEB2.jpg


Step 3. Make the Salad

Once I review all my plants, I put all the vegetation in a big pan to rinse them well. Then I drain the plants and chop them finely. I don't just chop them once, but a few times over. Chopping up all the greenery is not in fashion at fancy restaurants, but this is what makes a wild salad so tasty. By chopping them so finely, all the flavors mix together. You can see that my big pile of greens ends up a lot smaller in the final pile.

x June wild salad 5 WEB.jpg


Step 4. Get the Salad Toppings Together

These wild weed salads are incredibly filling. But to make them a complete meal, I need to include some protein. I still have plenty of homegrown English walnuts. And my favorite vegan cheese is this Chao Coconut Herb cheese with black pepper, made by Field Roast. It's incredibly good! It's one of my favorite cheeses, whether dairy or vegan!

Earlier this spring I made some Redbud flower vinegar, by putting flowers from my Eastern Redbud tree into apple cider vinegar and letting it steep for a few weeks. All the color from the flowers moves into the vinegar and it's like a raspberry vinegar. I mix the olive oil, redbud vinegar, and blackberries into a vinaigrette.

x June wild salad 3 WEB.jpg
The numbers correspond to the plants in the plant list.


Step 5. Enjoy a Great-Tasting Healthy Salad!

It's easy to make this salad. Fill a big bowl with all those greens. Add some broken walnuts, small pieces of the vegan cheese, and the blackberry-redbud vinaigrette. Toss that salad, put it in a bowl. Top with the English Daisies, blackberries, more vegan cheese, and walnuts. Finish off with a few crackers.

x June wild salad 4 WEB.jpg
Ingredients: Foraged plants, Vegan Coconut cheese, walnuts, olive oil, redbud vinegar.


Plant List

This list goes along with the numbers on the plants arranged in my kitchen, in section 2. Can you match up these plants with the ones in the collages in section 1?

  1. Spearmint - Mentha spicata - it lasts from spring until deep winter
  2. Lemon balm – Melissa officinalis - it lasts from spring through fall
  3. Concord Grape - Vitis labrusca - young leaves and tender tendrils
  4. Douglas-fir - Pseudotsuga menziesii - young spring growth
  5. Yellow Dock - Rumex crispus - young leaves, anytime
  6. Noble fir - Abies procera - young spring growth
  7. Nipplewort - Lapsana communis - leaves, fall through early summer
  8. English daisy – Bellis perennis – leaves, fall through early summer
  9. White clover - Trifolium repens - flowers, late spring and summer
  10. Rose "White Dawn" - Rose spp. - flower petals, late spring and summer
  11. Bristly Hawksbeard - Crepis setosa - young leaves, late spring through early summer
  12. American Elm -Ulmus americana - young leaves, spring to early summer
  13. Common Sowthistle - Sonchus oleraceus - young leaves, spring through early summer
  14. Prickly wild lettuce - Lactuca serriola - young leaves, early spring through early summer
  15. Hawthorn tree - Crataegus spp. - young leaves, spring to early summer
  16. Prickly sowthistle - Sonchus asper - young leaves, spring through early summer
  17. Dandelion greens and flowers – Taraxacum officinale – tender leaves, anytime
  18. Trailing blackberry - Rubus ursinus - when ripe, early summer
  19. Eastern Redbud - Cercis canadensis - flowers, spring

What Do You Think?

Being able to eat wild plants, especially weeds, is the epitome of sustainability. The plants in this salad took absolutely zero effort from anyone, except for using them. They take care of themselves. Many of them are invasive weeds, so we can pick all that we want. That's incredible and sustainable. I truly hope that every one of you can find wild plants around you, especially weeds, that are good to eat. This is real food for regular people. It's incredibly good food.

  • Are you enjoying eating any wild plants this spring and summer?
  • Would you eat my wild salad?
  • Are there any specific plants from this salad, or others that I've posted about, that you want to know more about?

Here are more wild salads that I've posted on Steemit. They use different wild plants, but they are all delicious! - Wild Hotel Salad 1 // Wild Hotel Salad 2 // Wild Weed Salad // Homestead Extravaganza Salad with Shaggy Parasol Mushrooms // Paleo Weed Salad // Not Quite Paleo Weed Salad // Winter Weed Salad // 15 Minute Weed Salads //


I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

Congratulations @haphazard-hstead, I'm delighted to announce your salad won 3rd place! I bet it was super yummy and I totally wish you could help me to gather myself a meal too :-)

What a wonderful surprise! That was such a great category, too. Every entry looked so good! I would totally have fun seeing what sort of salad we could make from the plants around you!

I'm very happy that you're happy with your prize @haphazard-hstead! It would be so interesting to see what kind of salad we could make here :-)

So many of the edible "weeds" in North America were brought over here from Europe as food. Then people moved on to plants that they could garden and market in volume. So I bet there's some good wild food around you!

I know there must be! Of course we have masses of nettles, dandelions, cleavers, dock... umm... I think that might be all I know! But I am learning more and more as time goes on!

Those plants are a grocery store's worth of good eating!

I have also replied to your message in Chat now we can get onto it again! :-)

That's awesome :)
There are also wild leaves that must be dried, then boiled, then drunk. Eat it raw as you write, I am very interested. Good job @haphazard-hstead, always...

Thanks -- and good to see you, @steemvest17! Yes, I process a lot of greens, too. Some absolutely have to be treated that way. The ones for eating fresh in a salad are special.

You keep amazing me with your foraging skills! Even though it is a challenging time of the year, you nailed it! When nature gives us weeds and edibles @haphazard-hstead turns them into a yummy and very creative salad! Since living in Cambodia comes with no health stores or vegan products I never have tasted vegan cheeses like Chao Coconut Herb cheese. I bet they are delicious! I'll look out for this one when we go to Europe in late summer! But we do have plenty of coconuts... maybe I can try and make my own! Thanks for the lovely salad and great inspiration!

haha -- you have to food source right there, with all those coconuts. That's got to be amazing to be around all those coconuts, all the time. I hope you can find some of the Chao Coconut Herb vegan cheese.

The Field Roast Grain Meat Company is out of Seattle, Washinton. I eat regular cheese, too. And I think the Chao is better than over half, probably three-quarters, of any cheese I've ever eaten. Especially for a salad!

It's based on a "traditionally fermented soybean curd called Chao by the Vietnamese". So you may have something similar in Cambodia. The ingredients seem pretty simple: filtered water, coconut oil, potato starch, the fermented soy curd, and the seasonings -- salt, cracked black pepper, oregano, etc. I bet you will figure out to make this!

I'm sure they will have it there.... but if it is soy based I'll pass Phytoestrogen in soy mess up my hormones with painful swollen milk glands as a result + calcification in both breast.

Yes, fresh coconut and mangoes everywhere! Ohh and fresh moringa leaves. just love that stuff!

I bet you will figure something out, especially if you have already been making any sort of soy substitutes. And with those moringa leaves, you've got some greens! I've never eaten it, but I've heard it's good -- and now from you, too!

It is delicious... kinda taste like spinach. great in smoothies, soups, salads, sauces, stews... the only thing... the small stalks of the leaves don't blend well. Beautiful leaf though!

That is so pretty! I guess it makes sense to juice those leaves or use the blender and strain the 'tough stuff' out. I do that with the tougher ends of asparagus when I make asparagus soup. Enjoy your moringa! :D

I would definitely eat it if you made it for me ;) I just don't trust myself enough to go out there and pick all the plants you are showing myself.
It looks soooo good!

Every wild salad is different, yet every one is still so delicious! So many of our "weeds" came from Europe, so I bet you see many of these plants. That Bristly Hawksbeard (Crepis setosa) is an outstanding plant to eat! The Crepis are Mediterranean plants, and I've read that they are still traditional food plants. If you ever find someone that uses it, and you learn it, you are set! And I bet you know some pine trees, too! Some parts of them are really good! How to Harvest Pine Pollen.

English below

Wow! cette salade a l'air absolument délicieuse!!! Je fait de la ceuillette sauvage régulièrement mais je n'ai jamais essayé de couper mes herbes en tout petits morceaux, j'ai testé cela dès demain!! Et oui, je dévorerai volontier cette magnifique salade!! Je suis moi aussi passionnée par tout ce que la nature nous offre si généreusement et gratuitement. Ce serait vraiment merveilleux que Steemit soit une référence pour la ceuillette sauvage. Je vais utliser le tag @foraging dans l'avenir et ajouter ma contribution francophone! Merci pour ce partage. J'ai fait une belle découverte aujourd'hui!

Wow! This salad looks absolutely delicious !!! I do foraging regularly but I never tried to cut my herbs into tiny pieces, I will tested this tomorrow !! And yes, I would gladly eat this beautiful salad !! I too am passionate about all that nature offers us so generously and for free. It would be really wonderful that Steemit become a reference for foraging info. I will use the tag @foraging in the future and add my French contribution! Thank you for sharing. I made a great discovery today!

Thank you! I think you would enjoy any of the wild salads I have made. If you do try cutting your herbs into tiny pieces, I am interested in your view of doing that. I think restaurants don't cut them small, because it takes more time, and it takes more herbs to fill the salad bowl! ; ) I look forward to your posts on @foraging! :D

Incredible! Looks so delicious, and it's packed with nutrition.
I normally eat dandelion, lambsquarters, burock, wild lettuce, plantain(leaf and seeds)wild grape leaves, poor man's pepper, mulberries, wineberries and maybe some other things that I forgot to mention.

By the way, do you make that coconut cheese?

It sounds like you have some good eating, too, with all those great plants! It's amazing how much good food is out there. That coconut cheese is coconut and fermented soybeans. It's from the Field Roast Company out of Seattle, Washington. They make some good vegan food!

AWESOME! I'm stoked to find your post and follow you. I can't wait to learn more about wild foods. I'm just scratching the surface but nothing is more empowering than strolling through nature or even your backyard and finding food and medicine growing at your fingertips. Thanks again for sharing your knowledge!

You're welcome! And you have the right name for a good forager! There are so many wonderful plants to eat out there, for free.

Haha, indeed. In the forest, free food is surrounding us. Often even in the wild zones of our own backyard. It's exciting to be able to start identifying and eating it!

In North America, so many common weeds in our yards were brought over from Europe as food plants. I'm always surprised what I find when I let my yard get a little wild. :D

Seriously! Weeds are simply misunderstood plants, right?

I'll agree with that, for the edible weeds, for sure!

Lovely, and nice to run into you again

Hey, Woody! So great to see you here! I think you will end up liking this place. The business model is so much better here. It's a more complicated system, but it's a great place. Here's my comparison of Tsu and Steemit that I wrote back in August. It's mostly still correct, although you can make more than 4 posts per day, now. Here's to your success and fun on Steemit!

I'm curious about how you look. Apparently, beautiful and healthy body. So I think. Your style of food is exciting and amazing. @ @haphazard-hstead I will try to cook something with your recipe. It should be interesting.
Good luck to the Challenge.

Thanks, @shady, I'm glad you enjoyed my salad. I bet you have some of the same plants around you. Many of them are common. Like the Hawthorn trees (Crataegus spp.). One of the secrets of a good wild salad is chopping everything up into small, small pieces. It's a good thing wild plants like these are healthy, because I eat cookies, too, lol! ; )

Congratulations on the third place.)

Thanks, @shady! I'm headed over to see who else won, too. There was so much really good food! I think the 'Vegan Main' is a good category!

Looks delicious! Sadly i only knew blackberries and spearmint. I've got some studying to do!

That's two that you know, so that's a start! And those are two wonderful ones to know, aren't they! :D

Yes they are. We've had some black raspberries over the last two weeks- so delicious- and none make it inside the house. Our fingers and faces (well, my kids' anyway) are stained. I love this time of year.
I've got spearmint growing. I haven't tried it in a salad, but i do love it in tea.

A few spearmint leaves really perks up a salad. One reason I cut my salads up so fine is to spread the flavors around. So there's a little mint throughout, rather than just eating a big mint leaf. Enjoy those blackberries! So delicious! And enjoy your berry-stained hands, lol! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54