STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 32: Delicious Falafel for a perfect #picnic

in #food7 years ago (edited)

1falafel.jpg

Hello Steemians!

Today I post a recipe I absolutely LOVE to join the Food Challenge organized by @woman-onthe-wing. The topic of this week is "Picnic al fresco", a perfect one considering that here in Italy the temperatures are rising a lot!
I can think at nothing better than a refreshing picnic under the trees or by the sea!

This is the first cooking challenge I'm joining and I hope you like the idea!

Chickpeas Falafel

Ingredients

  • Dry Chickpeas 200 gr

(the quantity is indicative, you can prepare more mixture or less, it is up to you. Usually I prepare a greater quantity that I store in the freezer)

  • 2 small onions
  • 3/4 garlic cloves
  • a LOT of parsley or coriander
  • a teaspoon of baking soda
  • salt and pepper
  • a spoon of flour
  • 3-4 spoons of mixed spices (curry/paprika/cumin)
  • Oil for deep frying
  • a mixer

2falafel-prezzemolo.jpg

  1. Let's start: 24 hours before put the dry chickpeas into a large bowl and cover them with cold water. Let them soak overnight. They will double in size as they soak. If you want to prepare the falafel in the morning, remember to put them into the water at least the evening before.

  2. Chop the onions in big pieces and put them in the mixer with chickpeas, garlic cloves, parsley, baking soda, spices, pepper and salt and flour.

3falafel- cipolla-aglio.jpg

  1. Mix the ingredients together until a rough blend forms. Process till the mixture's texture is consistent but not too creamy.
  1. Put the mixture into a bowl and let it rest in the fridge for at least two hours. The cold helps the blend that gains the perfect consistency.

  2. When the blend is ready, prepare the falafel, as if you're making meatballs. I don't have the specific falafel tool, so I just made ordinary small round balls with wet hands. You can make them smaller or larger, it is up to you!

7falafel-polpette.jpg

  1. Put a large pan filled with frying oil on the cooker. Once the oil is ready, start to fry the falafel.
    If you don't eat fried food, you can also put them in the hoven, at 180° for 30-40 minutes.

  2. Start with one. If it splits apart, it means the mixture is not mixed enough. Just add some flour or some breadcrumbs and mix it again.

10falafel2.jpg

  1. Fry all the falafel and enjoy!!

falafel-risultato1.jpg

Falafel are delicious both warm and cold.
You can serve them with hummus, babaganoush or tsatsiki sauce.

You can store them into a lunchbox and bring them to your picnic party al fresco!

Hope you like it! If you try to do them or if you have different recipes, feel free to share!

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

ill go with the tsatsiki version ! good luck to the challenge !!

You won't regret It!
Try It with some hummus too!

You have been awarded a bonus prize from judge @rebeccaryan for such a great entry. Well done @stella87s, and I hope to see you next round for the Newbie Special!

Wow thank You girls !! What a lovely surprise! You made my day! @rebeccaryan thank a lot!

Congratulations @stella87s! Please check your wallet for your prize. :) You did an amazing job with your culinary and photography skills. Please keep going. You have what it takes to be a Steemit success. :)

Ciao Rebecca, thank You so much for several things: for having appreciated my post and idea, for the prize, for the nice and warm words ! I'll try to continue following this Steemit way! Thanks again a ciao dall'Italia. (Actually I'm.now in San Francisco on holiday :D )

You're most welcome. Have a great time in San Francisco @stella87s!

It's great to hear you're happy @stella87s! Well done, and keep those tasty recipes coming...!

I LOVE falafel too! Last year I would make it so often that I sorta burned out on making it myself, I would still eat yours, looks great!

Lol #falafeladdiction is so good! To avoid the burning problem , I often bake them I'm the oven! They are even healthier this way ! Thanks for passing by!

Mmmmm I love falafels too @stella87s, and yours look fantastic! Very nice clear post with lovely colourful photos and presentation. I see you've impressed our judge @rebeccaryan already, so I wish you good luck!

Thank you!! It's always time for falafels! I started cooking them some years ago and from that moment I'm ve always a portion ready to be made in the freezer! Glad you and @rebeccaryan liked it!!

Welcome to Steemit and the 32nd SCC @stella87s!
I have recorded your entry and I have to say that your falafels look delicious and would definitely be picnic basket pack-able!
Thanks for entering the contest and I have followed you so I can see your other culinary creations as time goes on.

Ciao Rebecca! I'm so glad you liked my recipe and happy to have joined this contest! I'm following you back! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54