STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #31: "Spring Time At The Sea" Lemon sesame sea hummus, sautéed local white elm mushrooms and spring onions, sea kraut, succulent purslane, avocado, and super seeds. Base hummus recipe included!

in #steemitculinarychallange7 years ago (edited)

My dish is inspired by foods I love to eat as a vegan, as well as what inspired me at the local farmers market and co-op. I am very excited to share my vegan main with you all. This is my first time submitting a dish for Steemit Culinary Challenge, being recently new to steemit :D

Sautéed white elm mushrooms and spring onions
Lemon sesame sea hummus
Succulent purslane
Super seeds

Spring Time at the Sea for a Happy and Nutritional Vegan Me :)

hello

I have been craving all things seaweed and sesame inspired lately and a sea vegetable kraut caught my eye at the local co op, leading to the inspiration for my whole dish. All ingredients are organic, and as sustainable/locally sourced as possible.

Garbanzo beans, kraut, avocado, and greens are a large part of my diet as a happy vegan, I love them and they make me feel good! I put together a dish of something I would love to eat, inspired by my surroundings and taste buds. I love putting together well balanced dishes, you can usually find black pepper, greens and a touch of citrus on my plate.

The white elm mushrooms caught my attention at the farmers market and are a key component to this dish, I love them, they remind me of oyster mushrooms. The white elms add a earthy and savory element to the dish. Mushrooms over meat!

elm

The hummus is a masterpiece all on its own, and its real quick and tasty.
Also included is a base hummus recipe, for all of you hummus lovers out there that you can spice up whatever way that you like.

For my vegan main I took this base hummus recipe and spiced it up with lemon, sesame and other goodies.

kraut

The base hummus recipe: amounts are guidelines, go with your flow and taste buds!
Garbanzo Beans, dried, I had about 2 cups
Tahini, 2 spoonfuls
Lemon juice, a lemon or two
Olive Oil, a few drizzles
Garlic (I like a lot, but it can be really spicy depending on your garlic, also roasted is nice!)
Salt
Pepper ( if you like it, I love it and put it in most everything)

dry

I started my beans from dry; you could also use a canned if you are in a pinch. I think it is quite beautiful and satisfying to prepare beans from their dry form, hydrating them to life, and into your tummy.

soak

I rinsed my beans and placed them in a mason jar, left the lid loose, filled almost full with water.

Soak your beans overnight, with a good amount covering them, they will expand!

cook

The next day I drained and rinsed them and placed them into a pot with water and a sprinkle of sea salt. I left them on a soft boil for about an hour, until they were tender. Feel free to try one and keep them on less or longer. Let your beans cool and then we can put our hummus together.

A food processor is the most efficient way to make hummus, but there are always alternative ways to do something without electricity! Last summer at the national rainbow gathering in Vermont (link) I mushed garbanzo beans and lentils up in a big bowl with a rock( that I had cleaned off) to create a magical big batch of hummus out in the woods.

set

Chop up your garlic, and squeeze your lemons. Gather your beans, tahini, olive oil, salt and pepper.

In your food processor add your beans and garlic

garlic

Tahini, lemon juice, salt and pepper

tahini

Let that blend up a but then add in your olive oil, if you can keep it on with the top open to drizzle it in as it mixes that is the best!

olive

Give it a taste now to see if you should adjust any flavor; is the salt and pepper good? Salt to balance not to over power, and I like to really taste my lemon. More olive oil will make it creamier too as well as tahini, but you don’t want them to overpower the garbanzo beans either. We learn as we go, explore the balance of flavors and your food flow.

base

There you go, your base hummus recipe!

Now we can take this recipe and spice it up into lemon sesame sea hummus for our dish.
The lemon sesame and kraut flavors are what will pop in this.
Take your hummus base into a bowl, and add these ingredients.

sesame

Add your:
Sesame oil (not too much, it is very powerful and tasty), I used about a little over a tablespoon
Sesame seeds
Flax seeds
A little more salt and pepper

seeds

More Lemon
Sea Kraut ( I love adding kraut to hummus!)

sea

Lemon sesame sea hummus complete!

The next part of the dish is our yummy, sauteed Asian inspired, white elm mushrooms, and spring onions that I got at the local Portland farmers market.

sautee

Gather your ingredients:

White Elm Mushrooms
Spring onions
Coconut oil/ Sesame Oil
Soy free Soy Sauce from @kennyskitchen
Garlic
Ginger
Salt and pepper
Water

shroom

I love sautéing, and I love mushrooms. When I get mushrooms like these, that are relatively soft and then, I pull them apart gently. Care for them :)

gentle

Cut up your spring onions, white a nice sharp knife. The white, firmer part of the onion on the top will be for sauteing, and the greener, more soft part of the onion on the bottom will before garnishing fresh.

onion

Equal parts fresh chopped garlic and ginger to taste

garlic

Alright lets get ready to saute!

yay

Heat your saute pan to medium/medium high. And add a good spoonful of coconut oil and a drizzle of sesame oil.

sesame

The white elm mushrooms

white

Spring onions

oniona

Garlic and Ginger

ginger

Soy free soy sauce , a touch of water, and salt and pepper

not

Let that cook a bit, not too high or low, until they get a nice caramel color. Moving them around quite a bit.

done

Turn off the heat and finish with a touch of sesame oil, some lemon juice and black pepper.
Yummm. Now time to plate.

Components:

time

Lemon sesame sea kraut (probiotics!)
White elm mushroom and spring onion saute (spring fungi)
Purslane ( a moist earthy local green full of nutrients , from the succulent family)
Avocado (super food powerhouse, and my favorite food)
Super seeds (sesame, hemp, golden flax)
Sesame oil drizzle
Spring onions
Cracked black pepper

And lots of love!

yum

Yummm.
This dish was very satisfying.
It tasted magical, and made me feel great.

Thank You #steemitculinarychallenge!

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing for putting this all together!
Thank you @englishtchrivy for starting the challenges
Thank you for our sponsors @smooth and @sirwinchester
Thank you to our guest judge @amy-goodrich

Much love to all the other entries and foodies.

It was a pleasure.

I am grateful for you! I appreciate you! I love you!

❤ Kerri Tucker ❤

love

May we all be abundant and free,
Loving to ourselves, one another and Mother Gaia.

I'm excited to share my photos, poems, other recipes, art, reviews, and adventures with this beautiful community; follow me here and on Facebook to catch them all!

❤ Bitcoin : 1NMbeSTg7Bh8pHir9XZ7iBeCTHZEpdHv9Q

Sort:  

Congratulations on 2nd place @kerrismiles! A very well-deserved prize! I hope you join us again and treat us to more of your very wonderful and creative cooking :-)

Wow!!! I am so grateful!!!
Thank you!!

I will be back :)

I'm happy to hear it! :-)

you are so talented, an;d you look pretty too! i hope you win the contest because your recipe was just brilliant! i think its one of the bast I've seen so far!

Oh my goddess!
Thank you so much :)
I really appreciate you.

Oh yessss, it looks so gooood!!! Bless ya, keep cooking with love and respect for yourself and nature

Thank you sister! Much love and gratitude for you.
:)

Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!

Thank you!
Thanks for viewing.
:)

Another great entry! It's going to be hard to pick a winner! I also love how you didn't use canned chickpeas! They taste so much better when cooked from dried chickpeas! I'll be making this recipe myself!

Thank you so much!
Chickpeas are one of my favorite foods :)

I love them too! We always cook big batches and freeze them. Saves you a lot of time.

Wow @kerrismiles... it's great to meet you and what an awesome entry! You clearly have a natural relationship with the fresh and wild... a feel for flavours and balance and creative ways of preparing food (I love that story of you mashing garbanzo beans with a rock haha). Everything looks so fresh and colourful and lovingly prepared, I wish I could taste it. I know @amy-goodrich is deciding winners as I write this, so good luck!!! And I hope you join in again... I love creative cooking very much!

Wow @woman-onthe-wing ....... Thank you so much!
What lovely compliments.
I am so grateful that you see my vision.
Much love to you sister!
:)

Man, it looks good haha!

Thank you Love!

That's a nice plate! Is it bronze?

Thanks! No it is not bronze.
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54