7 reasons why Steemit, the Steem blockchain, and Crypto currencies are NOT illegal

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Many of us have seen it. As passionate as we are about Steemit, the Steem blockchain, and countless other crypto currencies, there are still those who doubt. We've all heard the arguments "that must be illegal," or "it must be a scam! That's too good to be true." Recently, we had a conversation in my health class, where several of the students still think that Steemit is illegal or the dark web. This article is to ease those doubts. I have often avoided posting about Steem because I don't think it brings value to the platform to post about Steem (or Steemit). Generally when new people read articles they don't want to read articles about something they don't understand. So, this week I am posting two weekly7's. You can see the second one, 7 Tragic Songs by Franz Schubert here. Now, let's get into the article:

Here are 7 reasons why Steemit, the Steem blockchain, and Crypto currencies are NOT illegal:


Background

Before I explain my 7 reasons, I'd first like to establish my background and experience with this platform.


Back in the summer of 2016, I joined this platform for the first time. The price was high, and life looked good. My father had pestered me for several days to "check out this new platform that literally pays you to post." My response was quite similar to the responses I stated before. I finally decided to give it a try. I had been working on my first symphony and sonata for several weeks. I also had an interesting fact about Bach's first invention to share, so I posted my first few articles:


All of these posts made over 300 dollars, with the highest being my "symphony" at close to 900. My father and I were blown away. I had been mining bitcoin for about a year, and had made 30 dollars (which is now worth 300 for those who are curious). We quickly decided to send the liquid money to my bitcoin account, which got me over one bitcoin. As a young composer, I grew quite interested in posting my music and within the next few weeks, I had posted every piece I'd written (none of which did well). At this point, Steem dropped into what I call the dark ages. During the winter, it stayed low reaching an all time low of 7 cents (if I remember correctly). Even though the price was low, I posted daily for almost three months (making about 5-10 dollars per article). At this time, some of my most critical series began The Art of War Review which grossed about 230 dollars (about 6 thousand dollars now), my weekly 7 series, which has grossed about 96 dollars (probably about 600 dollars at modern prices), and my composer birthday series, which has grossed about 389 dollars in 16 articles. This is probably about 5 thousand dollars in modern pricing. Along with these, I have posted many of the pieces I write, almost all of which do well. This constant posting, and a small investment from bitcoin when Steem was down, has brought me to about 40 thousand dollars in my main account. As well as another 30k in other currencies. So, now that I've established my experience, let's get into the article.


Reasons

Here are my 7 arguments as to why Steemit, the Steem blockchain, and Crypto currencies are NOT illegal:


7. The People on Steemit and Open Source White Paper

Steemit has a community that holds many seasoned programmers as well as college professors and doctoral candidates. Everything that has to do with the Steem blockchain is open to the public in the open source bluepaper. Many of these smart people, including my father @remlaps, have read through this and understand it. If any aspect of the blockchain broke any form of law, don't you think one of the many thousands of users would have noticed?

This week, Temple Univerisity is launching a course, Mining History with Steem & Temple University. Do you think a nationally recognized college would make use of an illegal platform?

6. Steemit.com the company

Steemit.com is a privately incorporated business that operates publicly in the United States. If they were doing something illegal, they would not be permitted to continue operations.

5. Steemit.com has been up and running for more than a year and a half

Last year in July, I would understand if this were illegal. But, this site has been up (in beta) for nearly two years. If something were illegal, someone would have figured it out and shut down this platform.

4. Bitcoin

For one thing, bitcoin is a non-centralized currency, meaning that even if it did somehow break the law, there is no way to easily shut it down without tracking down ever computer (across the world) that runs it and shutting them down.

Major companies like Microsoft and Overstock.Com have accepted bitcoin for purchases. Don't you think their lawyers would have noticed if it were illegal?

3. Exchanges

Bitcoin may be non-centralized, but the exchanges that trade it aren't. There are several large, federally licensed exchanges which trade bitcoin for altcoins, or even for USD.

2. Burden of Proof

It is debatable whether these currencies are illegal or not, but the burden of proof is on those trying convince us that crypto currency is illegal. If it is illegal, tell me which law(s) it violates. If you don't know, you can't confidently say that it is illegal.

1. Market

If any of these currencies broke the law, their price would drop and the currency would crash because of people trying to sell out in the markets. Considering that that hasn't happened in the last two years with Steem, and 9 years for Bitcoin, it is doubtful that either of those currencies are illegal.

All Previous Weekly7s

7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits
7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week
7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music
7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week
7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies
7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week
7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)
Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year
7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week
7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week
7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother
7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away
7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You
7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week
7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week
7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday
7 Of The Funniest Musical Comedic Skits
7 Great (Classical) Songs YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week
7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Symphonies You Should Listen to this Week
7 Classical Pieces That Will Make Your Blood Boil
7 Pieces of Miltary Tech that Will Blow Your Mind
7 Oboe Concertos YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 Bassoon Concertos YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 French horn Concertos YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 Scenes from The Big Bang Theory YOU should Watch this Week
7 Violin Concertos YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 of My Own Compositions to Kick Off the New Year
7 Tragic Songs by Franz Schubert
7 reasons why Steemit, the Steem blockchain, and Crypto currencies are NOT illegal

Thanks for reading this! Hopefully I will see you on Monday at 6pm (est) (or in jail)!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  
  • Wow I hadn't noticed you do a 7 tips or 7 things style article. This is such a unique way of creating content. (And in future, these would make such great animated/ illustrated videos too).

  • I have introduced over 30 people to Steemit. 10 have joined and 3 have stuck it out. I think I will send some this link because most are skeptical.

  • Also, the hardest task I have is explaining to people who don't understand blockchain the age old question of "Jean. Where does the money come from?"

Thank you for this feedback. I enjoy writing my weekly7's and am glad to see that you enjoy reading them. I have also found it hard to explain where the money comes from. The day that you don't need to explain that is the day that Steem is as big as facebook.

I am also investing also with steam and SBD. Because I'm sure steem will be a bitcoin.

you can check my profile give comment & upvote

(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

I like that one of those 7 reasons"Steemit.com the company ".
And now I can keep peach and can earn some also.(there was an often fear if it legit or scam then, what I will do?). Mostly I am just with that cryptocurrencies.

If a pair of socks is not illegal to sell online, than why it should be any different with crypto - coins?
I usually explain to the people who already have a previous knowledge on the crypto, because all the rest, ... just futile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44