10 Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Since I have a history test to study for, this is also going to be my Weekly 7 (with 3 bonus pieces).

Today is Antonio Vivaldi's birthday, as many of you may or may not know. Vivaldi wrote 94 operas, and was the inventor of the overture. However, I've decided to include more of his instrumental and choral works.  Here's a little bit about Vivaldi: 

The Life of Vivaldi

Antonio Vivaldi was born on March 4th, 1678, in Venice, Republic of Venice [Italy]. Vivaldi was likely taught music from a young age by his father, who was a violinist. Vivaldi was the eldest of 9 children. From a young age, Vivaldi had poor health. He had a form of Asthma that did not allow him to play wind instruments. He could, however, play the violin, compose, and participate in musical activities. 

    At the age of 15, Vivaldi began to study to become a priest. 10 years later (at the age of 25) , he would be ordained. Soon, though, he would stop participating in mass due to ill health. He stopped performing priestly duties, but remained a priest.

The same year as his ordination, Vivaldi began working at the Ospedale della Pietà, an orphanage. Here, he would perform as an exceptional violinist, and compose a majority of his famous works over a period of 30 years. 

    When Vivaldi began to work here, the orphans who performed in the orchestra (which played his compositions) began to gain appreciation from more and more people. Vivaldi wrote numerous concertos, cantatas, and sacred vocal (choral) music while working here. 

    Vivaldi would be commissioned by numerous members of royal and high ranking families to compose music. Sadly, on a trip to Vienna one of these officials would die, leaving Vivaldi in poverty (no where to stay and no way to make money). Because of this, Vivaldi died at the age of 63 on the evening of July 27th (or early morning of the 28th) in 1741. 

    Though he died, Vivaldi contributed much to the way concertos are now formatted, as well as baroque music in general. Here are 10 of his pieces (mainly concertos):


10 of His Compositions


10. Violin Concerto no. 6 in A Minor 

This piece has a similar sound to it as many of the pieces Bach wrote (probably because they're both Baroque composers). It sounds like music I could imagine being in the background of intense sports game. It is not incredibly dark (At least until the second movement), but it's not cheerful either. 


9. Bassoon Concerto in A Minor 

I picked this piece because it is not very common to hear a bassoon as the featured instrument of a piece (plus I don't think I could have told you what a bassoon sounds like before listening to this piece). This piece sounds a bit darker than the last one, but unlike the last one it features a bassoon (which is actually quite beautiful). When I hear this piece I think of jogging, mainly because that is something I can't do well, so jogging music to me is dark :) The bassoon part for this piece is beautiful, and I would definitely recommend listening to it.


8. Violin Concerto no. 4 in D major

I like this piece! I can imagine a horse majestically running in a field when I listen to it (at least the first movement). Man, Vivaldi really liked to write for strings, as I look through his pieces, many of them are string concertos. They all sound very similar.


7. Domine Deus, Rex Coelestis (Gloria Movement 6)

This piece is wondrous! It sounds fairly similar to Angel of Music from The Phantom of The Opera (I think they have the same time signature). It is the 6th movement of Vivaldi's Gloria. It also sounds very similar to Lamento Della Ninfa by: Claudio Monteverdi. 


6. Come and Be Joyful

We sang this song last year in my church choir. It is strange but after a year of not singing or listening to it, I can still sing the men's part. I doubt Vivaldi actually wrote this with the lyrics come and be joyful, it was probably a melody he wrote for a piece in a different language that some English guy wrote a poem to. Here is the piece, try to listen to all of the parts (men and women) it's cool to zone in on who's doing what.


5. Concerto in G minor for two Cellos and Piano 

This is definitely the most melodic concerto I've heard so far. Right away, Vivaldi establishes the theme, and has all of the parts that are different but coexist. I like it when Vivaldi gives the piano the spotlight and has the Cellos slightly back off, then brings them back in with the main theme. Overall this piece is very different compared to the other concertos.


4. Et in terra pax (Gloria Movement 2)

This sounds a lot more sorrow filled than movement 6 which I previously shared (number 7). This movement is probably about repentance in the church, and being ashamed of yourself for the sins you commit. I could imagine this being part of a requiem, or a funeral service. 


3. The Four Seasons (Winter)

I love the energy that this portion of Vivaldi's Four Seasons gives off. It does feel exactly like winter, I'd also recommend watching a live performance of this movement, it is incredible to watch the Violinist's bow move. This is likely one of the most famous portions of this series (That isn't what I'm including as number 1).


2. Gloria in Excelsis Deo (Movement 1 of Gloria)

This is also very energetic. I think it depicts the glory that you feel being involved with the church. Unlike movement 2 which is the shame you feel for the wrongs you've done, this depicts the joy you feel for what you've done right, and being a part of something bigger than anything else. This music is grand, I love the strings part as the choir is singing.


1. The Four Seasons (Spring)

I bet you'll recognize this part of The Four Seasons right away, it is very famous. I love the minor section (2:02) when the violins play the cool tremolos and the theme alters for a few seconds. This is definitely Vivaldi's most famous piece. I listen to it very often (like 3 times a week or so). I found this video interesting to watch as well. Here is spring: 


Sources

Information

Images


Previous Composer Birthdays (In order by how recent it was) 

3/4 - Antonio Vivaldi

3/1 - Frédérick Chopin

2/28 (29) - Gioachino Rossini

2/3 - Felix Mendelssohn

1/31 - Franz Schubert 

1/27 - Wolfgang (Amadeus) Mozart

The Next Birthday will be J.S Bach on March 21st


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away

7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You

7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week

7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday


Thanks for reading this! I haven't listened to much of Vivaldi's work before, but I intend to download a few of the pieces I listed. Let me know what you thought of this list (and my descriptions. As always, feedback is appreciated, and remember to check back later! 

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts


Sort:  

I just noticed that number 8 and number 9 were the same video, so I fixed it. Sorry to anyone who was confused.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50