7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This WeeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, 

This is a continuation of my weekly top 7 post. Sorry for the skip last week, I had Marching Band Nationals. I often feel Classical music is relaxing, but there is also an emotional and powerful part of it as well. Here are  7 exhilarating classical pieces you should listen to this week. (One song per day)


7. Fantasie Impromptu - Frédéric Chopin

Chopin is one of the most intense piano composers ever to live. This piece proves that.


6. Rondo a Capriccio in G major - Ludwig Van Beethoven

When I listen to this, I try to imagine the rage and despair Beethoven felt when he "lost that penny," even though he's not the one who subtitled it Rage over a lost penny. I love a comment I read on YouTube "I can't imagine what he would have written if he had lost 100 bucks."


5. String Symphony No. 2 in D major -  Felix Mendelssohn

I enjoy listening to this piece in the morning because it wakes me up. It is hard to believe Mendelssohn wrote these symphonies when he was 14. As you can tell, Mendelssohn is one of my favorite composers.


4. Horn Concerto No. 3 in E flat, K. 447 - Wolfgang Mozart

Though Mozart was in his 30s when he died, he demonstrated his brilliance, leaving behind over 600 pieces. Obviously I like this piece at is a Horn Concerto, and I am a hornist. I switched to the classical channel to search for pieces for this list, and I'm glad I found this.


3. String Symphony No. 1 in C major -  Felix Mendelssohn

This is another piece I enjoy listening to in the morning to wake up. I enjoy Mendelssohn strings music, and recommend listening to all of his music, not just what I have included in this list.


2. Piano Concerto 1 in B Flat Minor - Peter Tchaikovsky

This piece is arguably the hardest piece for a pianist to play, and takes much skill. It is powerful, embracing, and exciting to listen to. 


1.  Symphony No. 9 - Ludwig Van Beethoven

Beethoven has always been my favorite composer, and I really like this piece. At 53:00, I imagine running through a field at night time, home from a long day of work, just to see family. 


Please let me know if you enjoyed this list, and make sure to comment your favorite piece. Check back next week for 7 Christmas Carols you Probably Didn't Know Came from Classical Pieces.




Sort:  

Two favorites: (i) Rage over a lost penny, because I've heard you practice it so often on piano that it's now a permanent favorite; and (ii) Mozart's horn concerto. I had never heard that one before, but I really enjoyed all 16 minutes of it. Who would have guessed that a 15 year old would be teaching his father to enjoy classical music?

Just finished Fantasie Impromptu. Exhilarating to be sure. Would probably be great on a run with challenging terrain. I use the Game of Thrones theme song sometimes when I feel myself getting sluggish. Fantasie Impromptu reminded me of the feisty and tenacious Arya Stark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58