7 Symphonies You Should Listen to this Week

in #music7 years ago (edited)

We have all heard them, whether we know it or not. Many symphonies are used as soundtracks for movies, but where is their spotlight? Here is a list I've compiled of 7 symphonies that I enjoy listening to (I'm going to do the best movements though, so you don't have to listen to 7 hour long pieces).


7. Symphony no. 9 "The New World Symphony" (Movement 4) - Antonín Dvořák
This movement is probably my favorite of Dvořák's New World Symphony. It is energetic, and bold. Also, unlike the other movements, this movement develops a really catchy theme almost immediately. Of course, after tricking you into thinking it's the theme song from Jaws. The other day, I saw this movement in a Crayola commercial and I seriously thought it was Jaws at first. We played this piece for my Marching Band show this year, so it was really cool to see how the arranger fit themes from this symphony in with modern music. Here is Gustavo Dudamel conducting this piece (Might I say, he seems to like it too [His movements are hilarious]).


6. Symphony no. 3 " The Eroica Symphony" (Movement 1) - Ludwig Van Beethoven
This symphony is probably Beethoven's 3rd most popular symphony. However, it struck some controversy. As put by musical critic, Harold C. Schonberg , “Musical Vienna was divided on the merits of the Eroica. Some called it Beethoven's masterpiece. Others said that the work merely illustrated a striving for originality that did not come off.” Never the less, Beethoven achieved what he had wanted, a new style. As put by Aaron Green on thoughtco.com "Three years before he wrote the Eroica, Beethoven had declared he was discontent with the quality of his compositions thus far and 'Henceforth [he] shall take a new path.' " This piece is very grand, I could imagine it playing during war. Which, is understandable considering that it was originally entitled Bonaparte Symphony as a tribute to Napoleon until in 1804, Napoleon crowned himself emperor. This enraged Beethoven. A legend emerged from this, Beethoven is alleged to have ripped up the title page and renamed it Eroica. Anyway, this piece is probably one of Beethoven's best. Here it is conducted by Leonard Bernstein, composer of West Side Story.


5. Symphony no.4 "The Italian Symphony" (Movement 1) - Felix Mendelssohn
My parents and I watched a movie last night with this as the soundtrack called "Breaking Away" I should have recognized it, but I didn't until my dad looked it up. They used this because the one kid was obsessed with Italy and thought he was Italian, even though he wasn't. The Symphony was written by Mendelssohn when he took a trip to Italy during his tour of Europe as seen by what he wrote to his parents "This is Italy! And now has begun what I have always thought... to be the supreme joy in life. And I am loving it. Today was so rich that now, in the evening, I must collect myself a little, and so I am writing to you to thank you, dear parents, for having given me all this happiness." It is, according to Mendelssohn, his Jolliest piece. As seen by what he wrote to his sister Fanny "The Italian symphony is making great progress. It will be the jolliest piece I have ever done, especially the last movement. I have not found anything for the slow movement yet, and I think that I will save that for Naples." I am writing about the first movement because that was what was included as the sound track for the movie. All quotes found on Wikipedia.


4. Symphony no. 5 in C-Minor (Movement 4) - Ludwig Van Beethoven
You've probably heard the 1st Movement of this symphony, considering that it is probably the most famous theme of all time, but my favorite movement is probably no. 4 (Don't get me wrong, no. 1 is still amazing). I just enjoy the regal sound of this piece, it sounds like it could be played as the queen of England walks in, or the president. I'm not going to be including the 9th Symphony in this list because I've included it before, that's too much Beethoven, and I want to feature a composer that's not extremely famous. Here is a video of Leonard Bernstein conducting the 5th (4th movement):


3. Plaude laetare Gallia - Jean-Baptise Lully
My father recently discovered this baroque composer. Before the 18th century (probably classical era [late 18th century]), the terms Symphony, Symphonia, and even overture were really interchangeable. There wasn't really a structure to follow for symphony. This composer, Lully, isn't very popular whatsoever, but I decided to include this to show what a symphony would have been considered in the Baroque period. It could have been a sacred work, an instrumental piece, a sonata, or a concerto.
The vocal part kind of reminds me of Claudio Monteverdi's Lamento Della Ninfa (Probably because they were both Baroque composers).


2. Symphony no. 4 (Movement 4) - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
This piece is hard for the strings. We are currently playing it in band, and the Woodwinds have the string part. If the horns didn't have about two measures of 16th notes, we'd be able to sight read it because it is only quarter, 8th, half, and whole notes. Meanwhile, the woodwinds have a giant blur of black 16th and 32nd notes to play. This piece is grand, and fits Tchaikovsky's usual style. Here is Julian Kovatchev and the Sofia Festival Orchestra playing it:


1. Symphony no. 9 "The Great" (Movement 1) - Franz Schubert
This is probably my absolute favorite symphony on this list. Especially, this movement. I enjoy the brass sounds in the bass clef towards the end, and the growth in complexity throughout it. It contains absolutely beautiful oboe solos, as well as a heroic theme that is introduced by the French horns. This symphony is amazing! It is so sad that Schubert never got to see it performed live, but this helped introduce Schubert to the world through composers like Mendelssohn and Schumann. I would highly recommend this piece, it is incredible how nicely done it sounds. Here is a recording of a performance by the Cleveland Orchestra with George Szell conducting.


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away

7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You

7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week

7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday

7 Of The Funniest Musical Comedic Skits

7 Great (Classical) Songs YOU Should Listen to this Week

7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week

7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

7 Symphonies You Should Listen to this Week


Thanks for reading this! I have been planning this weekly7 for a while now. Symphonies are very much fun to listen to, when you have the time and energy. I really enjoy these symphonies, and I hope you do too. Let me know which piece on this list is your favorite, and check back later!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts

Sort:  

That really does sound like Jaws! I wonder if that's where John Williams got the inspiration...

I've thought about that too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43