7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right AwaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

 

 

Hello everyone, this is a continuation of my weekly7. Songs pop up all the time, and the groups that produce them disappear never to be seen again. Here are 7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away in both "modern" music and classical.

7. Bow wow wow - I Want Candy

I think nearly everyone knows this song. But, a fun fact about it is that when it was recorded(1980) the lead singer Anabella Lwin was 13 years old. The song was first written in 1965 and performed by The Strange Loves.


6. The Buggles - Video killed the Radio Star 

I recognized the chorus of this song right away, but had never heard of the group. A fun fact about this song is that it was the first music video played on MTV and predicted the rise of music videos. (Who would have thought MTV ever played music?) 


5. Nena - 99 Luftballons 

Did you know they had eighties hair in Germany? I had no idea this song was originally written in German, so I found it kind of funny that they had eighties hair. This song was about the cold war because the balloons were picked up by radar, as an unidentified bogie and almost caused an international crisis (Panic and war) in the song.


4. Deep Blue Something - Breakfast at Tiffany's 

I included this because the movie Breakfast at Tiffany's is my mother's favorite movie (Plus it's catchy and I recognized it right away). I actually have a red and white cat named "Cat" because of that movie. This band regrouped at the end of 2014, so they still have a chance to break their one hit wonder status.


3. Falco - Rock Me Amadeus

This song is clearly about Mozart. As you can see from this video. Falco died at the age of 41 in 1998 under the influence of alcohol and cocaine. Fun fact about Mozart, he changed his middle name frequently. First in 1770 he referred to it as Amadeo, then in 1777 Amadè. He has also referred to himself in letters jokingly as Wolfgangus Amadeus Mozartus. I guess you could call Mozart the John Cougar Mellencamp (Or whatever the heck he calls himself these days) of the 1770s. Today is also Mozart's birthday.


2. Samuel Barber - Adagio for Strings

This piece is famous as the theme song from the movie "Platoon." I decided to include this because Samuel Barber lived in my hometown (West Chester) when he was growing up. I guess you could call him a local celebrity. It's funny how much Samuel Barber has had an effect on my life: he was the organist at my current church during his youth (This was like 100 years ago), studied at the West Chester High School, wrote my school alma mater at an early age, and studied at the same conservatory as my piano teacher (and Leonard Bernstein). 


1. Johann Pachelbel - Cannon in D

During his time Pachelbel was renowned for his church piano and organ music. But this is definitely one of the only pieces that is still famous today. I think this is probably one of the most recognizable pieces on this list. I recommend listening to it to relax (I actually plan to download it into my relaxing music playlist). It is debatable whether this is actually a one hit wonder, but I included it because it is recognizable and I only knew this piece as a piece by Pachelbel.


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away


Thanks for reading/listening to this! I am getting back into the swing of things, but I need a series to hold me over until the summer when I think I will start a talk show called "Chatterbox." As always, remember to leave feedback, and check back later!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, [Something else will eventually go into this space]!

Sort:  

I have all but #1 and #2 in my collection. Not forgotten for me.

what a flash back. nice post upvote

That was fun. Great selection. Yes, I knew all of them, including the two classical ones. I might pop both of those into my relaxing music selection too. Nice to have the relaxing ones after the more uptempo ones.

Thanks! It's good to know that you recognized the music. I'm glad you recognized the Barber piece, I felt that not many people would recognize it to the extent that the other pieces would be recognized. I didn't even realize I had put the relaxing ones after up tempo, I just wanted to put the classical pieces towards the bottom of the list.

I was a bit surprised to recognise that too, as I never saw Platoon. I didn't know it well, but it was familiar.

Great songs, really love the first and №2 , the first songs were pretty much known to me , for some reason I listened to a lot of disco in my youth :D , then moved on to rock and so on.

Classical music has a specific feel to it, can't quite describe it , every piece is different, but so vibrant and full sometimes, more sounds I guess. And more form .

PS PS Thr s Steem Radio , maybe it can be updated so people can make playlists and post them around, maybe it can work by donations, I would like to hear such playlists, great finishing pieces :)

I just upvoted some of your post the pictures are very beautiful,we have something's in common please follow me @scotty777

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41