7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Disney composers are some of the best in the world. Whether or not you like the plot, we can all agree that the music is absolutely spectacular, and well written. I have been debating posting this for about 3 months now, and I decided today's the day. Here are some of my absolute favorite Disney songs that I think you will also enjoy.


7. Friends on the Other Side - Princess and the Frog

The Princess and the Frog is definitely my favorite Disney movie, and the main reason is the music. Randy Newman is one of the best Jazz composers that I know of, in this case Dixieland. This song is my favorite from the movie, and is meant for Facilier to persuade the prince to take his deal. It is funny because if you listen to the lyrics closely, you can hear that he's foreshadowing that he plans to turn the prince into a frog.


6. Hellfire - The Hunchback of Notre Dame

I absolutely love this piece, it shows how Judge Frollo is going mad trying to catch Esmeralda, but the music is partially what portrays that. It sounds like dark church music, and absolutely sends a shiver down your spine. The composer, Alan Menken, is a very popular Disney composer, and will undoubtedly appear on this list again.


5. Why Should I Worry? - Oliver and Company

I love this song, mainly because the performer is one of my favorite artists, Billy Joel. The song is about not caring about young Oliver's feelings for stealing. I have owned this song for three years now, and just remembered that it existed. 


4. The Phony King of England - Robin Hood

The libertarians on this site will be very happy with this song. I enjoy the melody, but for the record a thousand years ago, you would have been considered a witch for singing like this. Anyway, I consider this song a classic, because I have known it for as long as I can remember.


3. Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah - Song of the South

It's debatable whether this movie was racist or not, but no matter what, this song is still catchy. It is very popular  because of the ride in Disney World (Splash Mountain) that features it. I think the stories of Brer Rabbit, Brer Fox, and Brer Bear are interesting and definitely should be modernized. This movie is stereotyped, but really not many people have seen it, so not many people can speak about what the plot actually depicts. Anyway, here is the song. 


2. A Spoonful of Sugar of Sugar - Marry Poppins 

This melody is extremely popular. It was performed by Julie Andrews, who played Maria in the Sound of Music. I included it because it has been used as a rhetorical tool by Kristen Bell and Remy. Here are those videos. 

Kristin BellRemy

Here is the original


1. Circle of Life - The Lion King

I had to include a piece from the Lion King, and this is probably one of the most well known Disney songs ever. It was composed by a "modern" artist, Elton John. It basically talks about the food chain, entitled the circle of life (This could also metaphorically reference economics). Here is the song (I like the version where Elton John sings).


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away

7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You

7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week


Thanks for reading this! I'm sorry I haven't posted recently, I was kind of upset that the Sherlock Holmes article didn't do as well as I had hoped. Anyway, please remember to leave feedback, and check back later!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, [Something else will eventually go into this space]!

Sort:  

I love old Disney music. Haha. Great post. Great descriptions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43