7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Often times I enjoy learning about an artist's life just as much as I enjoy their work. So as you can imagine, I love movies that explain portions of their lives. It's the holidays, so many people have enough time to watch these movies each day, so here are 7 Movies About Artists I think YOU Should Watch this week (if you have time).


7. Ray - About Ray Charles

I have seen this movie at least four times. I am fascinated not just by Ray Charles' music, but his life. He went through a lot of pain as a child after watching his brother die, and then going blind. I think Taylor Hackford, the director of "Ray," did a fantastic job portraying the pain his past caused him and what drugs can do to someone. This film also portrayed how much Ray Charles accomplished in the music business, and actually shows the impact he leaves on music today. Ray Charles' story can inspire anyone to pick themselves up, and work hard when tragedy strikes, and this movie does a good job to get that message across.


6. The Raven - Edgar Allen Poe

This movie is about Edgar Allen Poe, but not his personal life. It creates a fictional story in which the short stories he writes begin to come true. Poe was a genius, and this film displays short stories he wrote in his life time in a creative way to entertain the audience. This is one of my favorite movies because I love a good mystery. 


5. Scott Joplin - Scott Joplin

I first watched this movie when I first started playing the Maple Leaf rRag. The piece was extraordinary to me, a style that I had never seen perfected so well. After watching this movie I felt moved, and sad for what became of Scott Joplin. Towards the end of his life he got syphilis and began to experience mental problems because of it. Never the less, despite the choices he made, I consider him the father of modern music. Without ragtime, jazz would have never been born, and without jazz, rock and pop never would have been born. I highly recommend this movie, it is very moving.


4. Walk the Line - Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash is undoubtedly the father of modern country music. He created a sound that impressed people of his time, and now. But this movie doesn't just show the genius of his music. It also shows the problems he had in his life, with a failed marriage, father that beat him, and brother that died young. I believe Johnny Cash succeeded because his music came from the heart, whether he was a good man or not doesn't matter.


3. Great Balls of Fire - Jerry Lee Lewis

I have not actually seen this movie (so I'll probably watch it this week too), but my dad recommended I include it. My dad likes country as you can see from this and the Johnny Cash one. Jerry Lee Lewis was arguably one of the most energetic performers ever, as you can see from the trailer. (Setting a piano on fire is even beats Justin Bieber peeing in a cup in public [barely]). It was his energy that most likely made him a star. Many of the artists on this list used music to attract an audience, but Lewis mainly used energetic performing to attract his.


2. Amadeus - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

I consider this movie name to be funny because Mozart's middle name wasn't actually Amadeus, he put it on his music as a joke. Clearly it stuck. Mozart was a star beyond stars. There are few composers who I would say have a God-given-talent, I would say that for Mozart. He was a virtuoso, and had his first symphony written at the age of 7. However he mysteriously died at a young age, and this movie makes an entertaining story out of this fact. Many people actually believe Antonio Salieri killed Mozart, however this is a myth made up for entertainment. Salieri and Mozart were actually good friends. This movie is available on Netflix for free, but it is a long movie so watch when you have time. Mozart is most likely one of the most influential composers ever, and this movie shows his true genius.


1. Immortal Beloved - Ludwig Van Beethoven

This is definitely my favorite movie ever (outside of a Beautiful mind). As I said earlier, I enjoy a good mystery, and this is one that really occurred. The whole movie is about Beethoven's friend, Anton Schindler, trying to find who to give Beethoven's estate to. The last letter he wrote stated to give it to his "Immortal Beloved" and throughout the movie, Schindler goes to all of the women who Beethoven dated, and through this intricate outer story they show almost all of the important parts of Beethoven's life. The cool thing about this movie is Beethoven actually addressed his estate to his immortal beloved in a real letter. I would highly recommend watching this movie as it highlights Beethoven's life, genius, and provides an entertaining story on the side. 


Thanks for reading this! I hope everyone is enjoying this holiday weekend. I will see you tomorrow with my LAST weekly Christmas song performance!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, and my weekly piano performance of Christmas pieces. 



Sort:  

This looks like a good movie! I'm gonna try to watch it this week.

I've only seen Amadeus out of these. Thanks for the recommendations!

no problem

I can spend the whole day watching this scene from Scott Joplin:

wow! Gotta see this movie!

Yes I love that scene! Joplin uses indirect tactics to beat the man he was competing with using indirect tactics :) The art of war is at work ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40