7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Good evening ladies and gentlemen. I have been very busy this week, and have not made the Rachmaninoff article yet. I was going to do that today, but I became very sick (likely a sinus infection). I missed the weekly7 last week, so I decided to write that today (considering there is less formatting) rather than the Rachmaninoff. A fantasia (or fantasy) is classically a musical piece that does not have a specific structure, an improvisation if you will. Here is a list I have compiled of 7 of Fantasies that I like, or found recently. 


7. Fantasia in G Minor op. 77 - Ludwig Van Beethoven

I always love kicking off a list with Beethoven. Beethoven was capable of writing nearly anything and making it sound incredible. In this piece, Beethoven alternates between fast (allegro) complicated themes, and slow (adagio), melodic themes throughout the entire piece. The theme at 5:15 is gorgeous. I enjoy the tender themes that Beethoven writes (Such as the Pathetique sonata movement 2, or Piano Concerto no. 5 Movement 2). Beethoven is generally regarded as an angry composer because of the "evil" sound he often had, but if you dig a little deeper, you'll learn that he had a loving and expressive side (style) as well.


6. Fantasy in C op. 17 - Robert Schumann

This is obviously unstructured. Right off the bat it sounds like the soundtrack for a dreamlike world. I can't wait to write my birthday post for Schumann! He had an interesting story, and a magical sound in his music. This particular piece makes me think of a dream castle (I once read a book where a kid shrunk and learned that there was a kingdom in the castle in his attic). I could imagine this being the music playing if the book were made into a movie. [I think this is the book]


5. Fantasia for piano in F sharp minor - Richard Wagner

This piece by Richard Wagner is very similar to the Beethoven fantasy I put for number 7. Wagner and Beethoven had a similar style, except I generally regard Wagner as having a richer/grander sound (at least in the pieces that come to mind). 


4. Fantasie for Flute - Gabriel Fauré

Fauré had a style that was uniquely his. He avoided a grand sound on purpose, making for a great fantasia because of the playful (unstructured sound) of the flute. Fauré lived into the 20th century, so his music is not that old. This fantasia is definitely one of the cooler fantasias on this list considering it is the only one so far featuring an instrument.


3. Concert Fantasia Op. 56 - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

First of all I'd like to say the first note that the cellos play is really cool. Then when Tchaikovsky develops brings in the rest of the orchestral, it creates such a unique sound. Lastly, when Tchaikovsky brings in the piano, it is really cool. Overall, this piece is a well done piece on Tchaikovsky's part. I enjoy it when a composer plays with the audience by bringing instruments in and out, as well as themes. This almost gives it a sense of teasing. I enjoy it when Tchaikovsky brings in the legato theme, then backs off yet again (which surprised me [and I assume the audience]).


2. Fantasie Impromptu - Frédéric Chopin

This piece is probably one of the most famous fantasias on this list. If you go onto Facebook, usually the videos of the kid piano players with insane skills are them playing this piece. I do not enjoy this piece as much as number one though, which is why I made it number two. If you'll recall my post about Chopin, he created his own style of piano playing, and this is definitely included in that style.


1. Wanderer Fantasy in C Major - Franz Schubert

One year ago I had no idea who Schubert was. Now, he is one of my favorite composers. His style is incredible! This is probably one of his most demanding Piano pieces, and definitely shows that Schubert understood not just the voice (he was a singer), but also the piano. I enjoy all of the complicated scales and the march-like melodic theme. I hope to someday play this piece!


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away

7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You

7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week

7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday

7 Of The Funniest Musical Comedic Skits

7 Great (Classical) Songs YOU Should Listen to this Week

7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week


Thanks for reading this! I am sorry I have delayed Rachmaninoff, I hope to write that article tomorrow. Let me know what you thought of this list! I was really excited to make this list when I first heard the Wanderer Fantasy a few days ago. Make sure you check back later! I will be soon posting my performance at the talent show on Thursday (hopefully tomorrow or Monday).

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts


Sort:  

Thank you for this post. I don't listen enough to classical music, You inspire me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43