7 Classical Pieces That Will Make Your Blood Boil

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Hello ladies and gentlemen, the last few weeks have been crazy. There have been a lot of birthdays, and I haven't made a weekly 7 in a month. So, today I'm making a weekly7! These are 7 of the most intense classical pieces (with some modern "classical" music as well (Movie soundtrack themes)). I made a list similar to this with my list of 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week 6 months ago, but this list is of darker sounding music. Here are 7 Classical Pieces That Will Make Your Blood Boil:

7. The Moonlight Sonata (Movement 3) - Ludwig Van Beethoven

This is a very popular piece. In fact, I heard this movement playing on a harpsichord in Bush Gardens in Williamsburg Virginia. This is one of the more thematic pieces on this list, it has a diverse range of themes that Beethoven develops throughout the piece. At the same time, it is fast and the bass makes it really intense, with a rather evil sounding theme that goes from left hand to right and is used throughout the movement.

6. The Imperial March (from Star Wars) - John Williams

I have loved this piece ever since I first heard it. It really gets your blood going, it riles you up as a march should. It is by (probably the most famous composer in modern society) John Williams. This piece is also thematic, but it has a dark and evil sound that doesn't come from the theme, but the instrumentation (If a group of flutes played it, it wouldn't sound quite so evil). That is one thing I admire about John Williams, he understands which instruments represent which kinds of emotions, and knows how to write in a style that fits each instrument (also he uses a lot of horn). :)

5. Psycho Theme - Bernard Herrmann

I have never seen this movie, nor do I have any interest in seeing it, but this music is very blood boiling. It is a very recognizable theme, and almost certainly has to frighten you considering that it is from a horror movie. It would appear that in the movie some lady runs away with 40,000 dollars (stolen from her an employer), and stops at the bates motel for a night (really that's the first hint that you shouldn't stop there [it's called the BATES MOTEL]). Anyway, I think the boy thinks he's his mother and murders her, and tries to cover it up (I really don't like horror movies). The soundtrack definitely fits! It is scary because of all of the dissonance (I think it's fully diminished 7ths).

4. Jaws Theme - John Williams

This movie is what sparked my fear of sharks. For a while, they were cool to me, yet I was terrified to go in the water at the beach. I still kind of am, thanks to the fact that this theme plays in the back of my head whenever I think of sharks. This theme definitely fits in this movie, especially whenever the shark attacks. This theme is not a representation of evil, but a representation of fear and terror.

3. 1812 Overture - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

This piece is really just loud and exhilarating. The cannons at the end really make this piece cause your blood to boil. This is probably (along with the moonlight sonata), the mildest theme on this list as for (dark) emotions, but still presents a powerful blood-boiling sound. I recently included this in my Tchaikovsky Birthday Article. The beginning of this piece is actually quite relaxing, but the late middle and ending are very exhilarating. This piece has one theme that is actually pretty famous, that you will probably recognize.

2. A Night on Bald Mountain - Modest Mussorgsky

This piece is one of the most evil pieces on this list. It is used in many horror movies because of this sound. It would be the most blood boiling on this list if number one didn't exist. This piece is probably most famous for its use in the Disney film Fantasia in which there's like this giant vampire thing that releases demons to "play" for the night with this piece as a soundtrack. I don't know what the motivation for this piece was, but it is pure evil.

1. Dies Irae (From Verdi's Requiem) - Giuseppe Verdi

This piece is what I'd imagine plays as you fall to hell. This is pure and hellish evil. We are currently playing it for concert band, and actually have a Marching band show next year themed with this piece. This is probably one of the most intense pieces ever written. It is very interesting how Verdi and Fauré took different approaches in their requiems. Fauré wrote his requiem after his mother's death, and wrote it with a peaceful style (representing death as peaceful [with Requiem meaning "rest"]). Verdi wrote his requiem about death as if death is angering, and expanded a little bit more into the underworld [hell] in his style. Either way, this piece is by far the most blood boiling of any of the pieces on this list, and probably the most blood boiling piece there is.

All Previous Weekly7s

7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits
7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week
7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music
7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week
7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies
7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week
7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)
Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year
7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week
7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week
7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother
7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away
7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You
7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week
7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week
7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday
7 Of The Funniest Musical Comedic Skits
7 Great (Classical) Songs YOU Should Listen to this Week
7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week
7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week
7 Symphonies You Should Listen to this Week
7 Classical Pieces That Will Make Your Blood Boil

Thanks for reading this! I will post this in the morning, but I wrote this last night (Sunday Night). Let me tell you, I should really have done this during the day. I'm not gonna be able to sleep tonight. The second I finished the list, I immediately turned on some relaxing music. Anyway, comment which piece was your favorite, and remember to check back later! (Today is Wagner's birthday).


Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts
Make sure to check out my minecraft server themed on Steem. Ip is steemcraft.mcph.co!!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing
Nice post
Followed

Good interesting post. A couple of my favourites in there. 😊

Thanks! That's s good! Which ones?

nr.1 and 7 are fine. thank you :)

Yes I like both pieces! No problem.

Dies irae all the way! Heavy metal like no other!

Good job,
Beethoven and Mussorgky pieces also in my favorits list. I find interesting the inclusion of the Psycho theme, I would not thought of it. And of course Verdi should be in most favorit lists. Thanks for sharing!

Amazing post! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41