7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

in #music7 years ago (edited)

5 months ago, I posted my first Weekly7 entitled 7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week. Since then, I have learned of so much music through researching for this series, that I've decided to make another list of 7 completely different pieces from the original. I, for one, really enjoy listening to relaxing pieces. So, usually those are the pieces I remember. Here are 7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week


7. Mazurka no. 37 in A Flat Major - Frédérick Chopin

I first discovered this piece when my theory teacher was showing examples of what he was teaching me (Probably chord structure, I can't remember for sure). Anyway, ever since I first heard this piece, I have really found it both relaxing and enjoyable. The pianist is Natalie Schwamova:


6. Der Müller und der Bach - Franz Schubert

This song is not relaxing if you know what the man is singing about. He is singing as a young man (Who is a miller), who is in love with a woman. When he finds out she does not love him, he goes to the local brook to kill himself. The title means The Miller and the Brook. Here is a translation of the German in English. If you forget about the story, the tune sounds very relaxing.


5. Cantique De Jean Racine - Gabriel Fauré

As I have said in a few posts now, we sang this in my school choir this year. This is probably one of the most relaxing pieces I have ever heard. The title means Hymn of Jean Racine, and it is a devotional hymn of the lord. Gabriel Fauré purposefully avoided a grand sound, as he wanted to create his own style, and indeed he has.


4. Panis Angelicus - César Franck

I sang this piece this year for my classical recital. It is a beautiful piece about the bread of angels (Panis Angelicus) becomes the bread of men (fit panis hominum). Here is the translation from Italian to English. This piece is incredibly relaxing. . . The singer (soloist) is Luciano Pavarotti.


3. Harpsichord Concerto no. 1 in D Minor (Movement II) - Johann Sebastian Bach

I have included this piece in my list of Piano concertos. It is incredible, especially the second movement. The second movement is rather calm compared to the other two. As I said in my piano concerto post, I could imagine it depicting coming home after a stressful day.


2. Ave Maria - Franz Schubert

This piece is a classic. Schubert out did himself with the beautiful verses, and unforgettable chorus. This is generally regarded as a Christmas piece, but I feel this is probably one of the most relaxing classical pieces there is. You have probably heard the version Beyoncé did [LINK]. The title literally means Hail Mary. Here is the original (Schubert Version):


1. Piano Concerto no. 5 Movement II - Ludwig Van Beethoven

As I said in my Piano Concerto Weekly 7, the first time I listened to this movement, I cried. It is so beautiful! It is used throughout the movie Immortal Beloved as a love theme, and with good reason. This piece is warming no matter what is going on in my life. I highly recommend it!


All Previous Weekly7s


7 Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

 7 Songs By Billy Joel That Should Have Been Hits

 7 Exhilarating Classical Pieces You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Classical Composers That Wrote Extremely Famous Christmas Music

 7 Love Ballads You Should Listen to This Week

 7 Pieces of Classical Music Used in Popular Movies

 7 Piano Sonatas YOU Should Listen to This Week

 7 Movies About Artists You Should Watch (This Week)

 Revisiting 7 of My Own Compositions to Wind Down the Year

 7 Pieces by Gabriel Fauré YOU Should listen to This Week

 7 Fantastic Sports Related Movies YOU Should Watch This Week

7 Songs I've Been Listening to this Week in Remembrance of My Great Grandmother

7 One-Hit-Wonders You probably Forgot About but Will Recognize Right Away

7 Magic Tricks That Will Probably Amaze You

7 Disney Songs You Should Listen to This Week

7 Piano Concertos You Should Listen to This Week

7 (+3) Of Vivaldi's Compositions in Honor of His Birthday

7 Of The Funniest Musical Comedic Skits

7 Great (Classical) Songs YOU Should Listen to this Week

7 Fantasias You Should Listen to this Week

7 (More) Relaxing Classical Pieces You Should Try to Listen to This Week


Thanks for reading this! As you can probably tell, I enjoy relaxing music. I have discovered so much new music through my composer birthday, and weekly7 series. I can't wait until what I have planned for next week! As always, feedback is appreciated, and have a nice day!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As Well As My Composer Birthday Posts


Sort:  

Nice selection! I love the Schubert Ave Maria, but the Bach one is also gorgeous:

The Fauré and the Panis Angelicus were also beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87