7 Songs from Broadway Musicals You Should Try to Listen to This Week

in #music7 years ago

Earlier today I uploaded a post called 7 Relaxing Pieces of Classical Music You Should Try to Listen to This Week, it did extremely well, and many people told me I should continue the series, so I am. Everyone loves at least one musical, whether young or old. They are fun to watch, and usually display life lessons. Here I have selected 7 Songs that I think are worth listening to from Broadway musicals! 


7. Seasons of Love - Rent

Overall this musical inspired by La  Bohème  is incredibly confusing, but also inspiring. Rent, written by: Jonathan Larson, tells the story of many young people in the mist of tragedies like AIDS, HIV, and even just Paying the Rent. This song is about how short a year can be, and yet how much can change in 525,600 minutes. It even foreshadows what will happen later in the musical.


6. Seize the Day - Newsies

This musical tells a story based on a real life event, the newsboy's strike of the 1890s. It depicts the hardships of being a "Newsie" under a News paper company run by: Joseph Pulitzer. When Pulitzer raises the prices of the papers for the Newsies they decide to strike, and this is the song, written by:  Alan Menken, that they use to unite. 


5. Hellfire - The Hunchback of Notre dame

Made famous by the famous Disney movie, this story tells of a man who is despicable on the outside, but truly beautiful on the inside. I think this is a fantastic movie, but this song truly depicts evil at its finest. Not only is judge judge Frollo evil, but he is also going crazy looking for this gypsy girl.  Eve Forward does a fantastic job of depicting absolute insanity through this incredible work.


4. Think of Me - Phantom of the Opera

The last musical was about a person who is despicable on the outside, but beautiful on the inside, this entire show is quite the contrary. The phantom is ugly inside and out. This show is about good and how it conquers evil, and how discrimination can drive someone crazy. I think this song, by Andrew Lloyd Webber is absolutely beautiful, and does a fantastic job of depicting Christine as not only a good singer, but also a good person. This piece actually begins to set up the story, to win the audience on to Christine's side.


3. America - West Side Story

This musical is definitely on my list of musicals to watch next time I get a chance. Though I cannot acurately summarize the whole plot behind the musical, I can tell you that this song, by: Leonard Bernstein, is basically an argument between the Puerto Rican Guys and Girls about whether Puerto Rico is better, or America is better. Either way this song is incredibly written, and catchy to the listener.


2. Stars - Les Misérables

Les Misérables has an incredible story. One of the messages is that those who cannot adapt to reality will be destroyed. This is demonstrated through characters such as Fantine, the Rebel Band, or even Javert, who sings this song. Javert had a black and white point of view, those who falter and those who fall must pay the price. In the end when he faltered, he went crazy. This song by, Claude-Michel Schönberg, is a beautiful metaphor comparing Javert to the stars.


1. Music of The Night - Phantom of The Opera

As you can see by the fact that this is the only musical to appear twice on the list, Phantom of the Opera is my absolute favorite musical. This is my favorite song from the musical. This song, by: Andrew Lloyd Webber, demonstrates that not only does the Phantom have emotions, but he has powerful emotions. It helps to humanize the Phantom for the audience. It wins the audience over to the Phantom as well as Christine. 


Please let me know if I should continue the Top 7 series! Let me know of any topics you'd be interested in me making a top 7 post about! Please comment your favorite song! Thanks for reading this!

Sort:  

Since you are posting music related stuff here maybe you are interested to create some connection. We have NEWS: We are testing our first live streaming. Please give us your feedback!

what about that new one? the hamilton one? heard it's good

I haven't seen it, but I heard it is good as well.

Hi Chris, it's Colin. Thanks for inviting me to the site. I put this here because I don't know where else to put it.

Welcome! I can't wait to see your posts!

what i love 'bout this is how — while you included the well known musicals that are [in a way] that a' "wicked" in terms a' popularity — you explained the beauty a' each chosen number you picked, which a lot of lists do although carryin' bias alongside; i feel like you perfectly balanced the two. (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06