Steemit Record Pool // Song of the Day - Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos by Public Enemy

in #recordpool6 years ago

Public Enemy has been one of my all-time favorite Hip Hop groups. Chuck D with his powerful voice and lyrics, complimented by Flavor Flav and their DJ Terminator X, the crew brought that militant, fight the power, anti-oppressor mentality to the mainstream WITHOUT any commercial Radio support.

PE2.jpeg
source

One of the reasons I chose this particular track, that appeared on the It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back, is two-fold. First is that it reminded me that the problem with incarceration has not been resolved and has actually increased since the release of this song, and secondly The Bomb Squad killed this beat. Makes you want to start a riot.


PE.png
source

I had a chance to meet Chuck D many years ago when he was in Toronto and got him to sign a copy of his book Fight the Power: Rap, Race & Reality for me after seeing him on a panel about Hip Hop and the Music Industry. In case you haven't read it yet.. Order it!

Ok... on to the Music and Video!

Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos



On a side note ... relating to the issues surrounding incarceration, there is an amazing Documentary out there (13th) that deals with some of the deeper seeded issues, so it's definitely one you should check out if you haven't already. Peep the trailer below...


Tag #recordpool Because Sharing is Caring

rp
ttp
rp


My Previous Record Pool Posts

Get Down - Nas - UNITY - Queen Latifah - Red, Black & Green - Roy Ayers - Redemption Song - Bob Marley - To Be Young, Gifted & Black - Nina Simone - You Must Learn - BDP - Stand Tall - Childish Gambino - These Words Are Everything - Jonwayne - The Blast - Talib Kweli - Final Offering - Eternia - 2017 Year in Review - Vandal - Frosty - Blowfly - If - Davido - 16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir - Falling (remix) - KRS. - Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low - Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists - On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya - Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal - Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up - Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up - Am Suuya - Ice Top - For The Town - SonReal - Chant Seggae - Kaya - A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders - Brick - Rich Kidd - Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz - Northern Touch - Rascalz - I Wanna Go Back - Onra - Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

Public Enemy #1...

Picture me givin a damn, I said "Never!" dopest shit ever....(yea I rhymed that on purpose...clever.) lol

Once I met Flav at NYC airport with his big clock around his neck....Unforgettable moment of fun :)
Chick D has been a huge "voice" for many years!

Yeaaaa man, story telling ON POINT. Really nice, taking me back my dude!! Dig it.

Legendary group and great track! Already knew it but thanks for sharing and reminding me!

Yea be loving some Public Enemy!! Great choice, surprisingly I haven't heard this one!!
Or maybe I have and just don't remember haha!!, it's been awhile!!

I know I am definitely going to have to take a trip haha!! Just sit back and listen, learn, then dominate!!

I've totally heard this beat and the beginning rhymes, thanks for informing me that it's Public Enemy! Music video is intense as fuck.

Also i saw the 13th too, amazing doc that everyone should watch

yeah man the documentary is powerful and eye-opening!

Legends!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48