Steemit Record Pool // Song Of The Day - "You Must Learn" by Boogie Down Productions

in #recordpool7 years ago (edited)

February is upon us and with that I introduce my theme - Black History Month - I'll be focusing on Hip Hop, Funk, Blues, Rock and Jazz songs that reflect the African-American Experience.

bdp.jpg
source

With the appearance of more and more Hip Hop representing on the Blockchain lately, I, as a Hip Hop Artist, feel it's important to pay respect to the foundation that paved the way and celebrate the great achievements often overlooked by the mainstream globalists and masses of sheep.

61uzj2Ow-IL.jpg source

With my first post I'm taking it back to 1989 and the Boogie Down Productions album Ghetto Music: The Blueprint Of Hip Hop. If you don't know BDP then you might know "The Blastmaster" KRS-One. The group also included D-Nice and DJ Scott La Rock (who passed away in 1987 around the same time the group dropped their debut album Criminal Minded).

I chose You Must Learn because it talks about Black Heroes & Innovators and encourages the listener to learn more about the achievements of Africans that have made an impact in our world and to understand how History is often skewed. This song also brings me back to my early days when I discovered Hip Hop and realized that i too must learn.

So in the immortal words of GURU - "It's a long way to go when you don't know where you're going, you don't know where you're going when you're lost"

Boogie Down Productions - You Must Learn

song lyrics


Tag #recordpool Because Sharing is Caring

rp
ttp
rp


My Previous Record Pool Posts

It's Time - Vandal x JCB x HM
Stand Tall - Childish Gambino
These Words Are Everything - Jonwayne
The Blast - Talib Kweli
Final Offering - Eternia
2017 Year in Review - Vandal
Frosty - Blowfly
If - Davido
16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir
Falling (remix) - KRS.
Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low
Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists
On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya
Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal
Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up
Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up
Am Suuya - Ice Top
For The Town - SonReal
Chant Seggae - Kaya
A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders
Brick - Rich Kidd
Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz
Northern Touch - Rascalz
I Wanna Go Back - Onra
Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

Happy to have stumbled on this.
Havent listened to Boogie Down Productions in a looooong time.
Loved the Guru quote.

Me neither! It's always good to go back once in a while to remember the roots. One!

This brought me back... dope post. Take em to school @vandigital... they must learn!

@heaterville no doubt! So much good music to share with a positive message, I hope to be pushing out more posts over the month. Vibe with #recordpool!

This for sure one of the highlight in Hip Hop history. Thanks for the sharing brother.

My pleasure! Hoping to share some more History as we continue through Feb! One!

looking forward to it brother.

This was a pretty dope cypher type feel. I'm an artist myself, check the track on my page

Welcome to Steemit! Hip Hop is taking over the Blockchain!

Classic @vandigital

Edutainment changed my life Black Man in Effect dope Gif @vandigital

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01