Steemit Record Pool // Song Of The Day - "Redemption Song" by Bob Marley

in #recordpool6 years ago

Bob Marley would have been 73 years young today. His music has touched the depths of many souls, including mine. It is this song, Redemption Song, that stirs the emotions within me. How such simple lyrics can have an impact beyond words. I don't think I need to introduce the man to you, he's known around the world and is one of the most celebrated figures in music, even until this day.

bob-marley.jpg
source


I've decided to go with a version of "Redemption Song" that was performed & recorded around the world in celebration of his Birthday - February 6th 1945 - and includes his son Stephen Marley alongside a host of other musicians.

"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can from our mind"

The one line that stands out the most to me. Those words that resonate such truth also came from Marcus Garvey, who was a National Hero in Jamaica and the United States in his efforts in establishing the Black Nationalist Movement.

Ok without further ado... Happy Bob Marley Day!


Tag #recordpool Because Sharing is Caring

rp
ttp
rp


My Previous Record Pool Posts

Young, Gifted And Black - Nina Simone - You Must Learn - BDP -
Stand Tall - Childish Gambino - These Words Are Everything - Jonwayne - The Blast - Talib Kweli - Final Offering - Eternia - 2017 Year in Review - Vandal - Frosty - Blowfly - If - Davido - 16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir - Falling (remix) - KRS. - Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low - Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists - On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya - Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal - Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up - Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up - Am Suuya - Ice Top - For The Town - SonReal - Chant Seggae - Kaya - A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders - Brick - Rich Kidd - Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz - Northern Touch - Rascalz - I Wanna Go Back - Onra - Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing song! I actually made a Swedish cover of it last year. https://open.spotify.com/track/0kmVzt52n2588T6E4sgXFD?si=2t0oVihUQ-qPwp-jiPResA

Wow that's great!

Thank you! I do gonna re-record it in the future since I got a lot better since I did this one.

absolutely the history that remembered until today

giphy (1).gif

I love Bob Marley. His music always makes me feel better.
He was one of the first musicians that made me really love music.
Thanks for sharing

yeah man, such an amazing talent gone way too soon. Amazing how after almost 40 years his music is still relevant

Still my favorite Bob Marley track...

Excellent video choice to celebrate Bob, I've never seen that before. That lyric stuck out so hard to me too when I first fell in love with his music. It doesn't even rhyme, it doesn't need to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40