Steemit Record Pool // Song Of The Day - U.N.I.T.Y. by Queen Latifah

in #recordpool6 years ago

It's Cupid Season so i had to go with this one. Back in the day I used to adore Queen Latifah, coming from the Native Tongues Collective she always held it down for the Women in Hip Hop. So this one goes out to the Queen!

QUEEN-LATIFAH.jpg
source

This post is a celebration of Women. Mothers, Daughters, Sisters, Aunts and is specially dedicated to my Grandmother who I hope to see just after her 94th Birthday!

Queen Latifah is now a mainstream Celebrity and Actor, who in my opinion is the Oprah of Hip Hop. Her 1989 All Hail The Queen album came with single Ladie's First featuring UK's Monie Love and was an instant classic. Her contributions to the Black Power movement that was prevalent in Hip Hop at that time were not unnoticed and I've always seen her as a leader.

maxresdefault.jpg

U.N.I.T.Y. is one of those jams that just sticks with you, over the years, throughout your life and embodies not only female empowerment, but empowerment of the African American communities through Hip Hop.

And since it's still Valentine's Day over on in North America, this is a lil something from the film Valentine's Day... Hope y'all are enjoying all the #recordpool love!


Tag #recordpool Because Sharing is Caring

rp
ttp
rp


My Previous Record Pool Posts

Red, Black & Green - Roy Ayers - Redemption Song - Bob Marley - To Be Young, Gifted & Black - Nina Simone - You Must Learn - BDP - Stand Tall - Childish Gambino - These Words Are Everything - Jonwayne - The Blast - Talib Kweli - Final Offering - Eternia - 2017 Year in Review - Vandal - Frosty - Blowfly - If - Davido - 16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir - Falling (remix) - KRS. - Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low - Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists - On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya - Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal - Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up - Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up - Am Suuya - Ice Top - For The Town - SonReal - Chant Seggae - Kaya - A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders - Brick - Rich Kidd - Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz - Northern Touch - Rascalz - I Wanna Go Back - Onra - Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

From hip hop to living single to the movies, the Queen is always holding it down!

So catchy. And a powerful message! U N I T YYYYYYYY

Still relevant!

I read it as Stupid Season and I was going to relate. But it's actually Cupid Season so I don't relate. lol

Oh @scuzzy... hahahha I'm sure you can relate to UNITY ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27