Song of the Day // Steemit Record Pool - "Chant Seggae" by Kaya (RIP)

in #recordpool7 years ago

Kaya.jpg

In 1998 I was blessed to spend 3 months in Mauritus (Ile Maurice) and during my time there I got to know a number of local artists and performed at a couple of really interesting venues. It was an amazing experience overall and I should probably dedicate a couple of posts about, but let's keep this one to the music.

One of my fondest memories was going to see Kaya in concert. It was an open air affair on a school football (soccer) field and was organized by one of the opposition party member who was in support of Decriminalizing Cannabis on the Island. Sadly, that was his last performance. After the concert he was detained, imprisoned and beaten to death by the police.

I wont go into details now, but if you want to read about what happened to him just click HERE

  • It's important to note that Kaya was a Pioneer and created a fusion of Reggae and Sega (traditional music from Mauritius) and he called it Seggae.

In his memory I decided to share one of my favorites, "Chant Seggae". Rest In Power brother Kaya


Join #recordpool and share the songs you love and more...
Steemit logo header final.png
Steemit logo header final.png

My Previous Record Pool Posts


A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders
Brick - Rich Kidd
Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz
Northern Touch - Rascalz
I Wanna Go Back - Onra
Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32