Song of the Day // Steemit Record Pool - "Tongues of the Next Shit" - Mad Skillz Ft Kalonji The Immortal

in #recordpool7 years ago

This is a dedication to @ty2nicerva and @clove71 out in RVA. And since I've been a fan of Mad Skillz since the '94 single "Nod Factor", I thought I'd drop my favorite track from his debut album From Where???.
TEG75523CD.jpeg source
Mad Skillz was the first emcee I had heard from VA and when I first listened to Kalonji on that joint I was like yooooo dude is sick! Kinda wish they had done a video for the tune so i could share some visuals but I managed to find a HQ version.

lyrics
Now this jazzy joint below is where Skillz sampled from. The keys go crazy on Bobby Lyle's "Night Breeze". Plus the album artwork is pretty trippy! Enjoy!

Join #recordpool and share the songs you love and more...

Steemit logo header final.png
Steemit logo header final.png

Previous Record Pool Posts


Northern Touch - Rascalz
I Wanna Go Back - Onra
Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks so much! This is dope, I'm listening now, jamming in the AM! I resteemed this & used resteemit for you! :-)

most welcome! always show love for great music!

Two BIG tunes in one. Every time I try to sample "Night Breeze", I just end up zoning out to the music instead.

sure is one of those tunes to zone out to that's for sure

Skillz is a dope dude and really down to Earth. I met him while he was working at my college's parking deck, and this is when he was poppin. He wrote a ton of hits that we will never know. He is probably the most prolific ghostwriter in hip hop history. He has been DJ ing the last couple years, and even was Nicki's DJ on the Pink Tour. Thanks for shouting us out bro.

yeah man i heard that despite his early success he stuck to his 9-5 and has always been super humble. I saw him with Jeff a few years back here in KL and once before that in Jakarta and I've been keeping up with his DJ endeavors as well.. When you're with Jeff all the time I'm sure those skills rubbed off on him no doubt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32