Steemit Record Pool // Song Of The Day - "These Words Are Everything" by Jonwayne

in #recordpool7 years ago

In 2015 I stumbled upon Jonwayne on Soundcloud and was tripping over his EP "Jonwayne Is Retired" back in 2015. Drawn in by his oddball production and that whimsical flow that took me back to the days of Cold Vein Cannibal Ox I was happy to stumble across him again!

His latest project "Rap Album Two" dropped almost a year ago and I didn't have a chance to soak it in until now. Don't let his appearance fool you, this kid's got bars and flow.

jonwayne.jpg

In sticking to my theme for the month - Empowerment - I decided on the "These Words Mean Everything" because as an emcee and poet the power that words produce are often overlooked. Words have power, their intent the source of the power and I have to also admit, I have a soft spot for the underdog misfits. Enjoy!


Tag #recordpool Because Sharing is Caring

rp
ttp
rp


My Previous Record Pool Posts

The Blast - Talib Kweli
Final Offering - Eternia
2017 Year in Review - Vandal
Frosty - Blowfly
If - Davido
16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir
Falling (remix) - KRS.
Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low
Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists
On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya
Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal
Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up
Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up
Am Suuya - Ice Top
For The Town - SonReal
Chant Seggae - Kaya
A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders
Brick - Rich Kidd
Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz
Northern Touch - Rascalz
I Wanna Go Back - Onra
Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

Nice song and lyrics.. thanks for sharing bro.

always a pleasure to share dope music my friend!

"If I threw a hook on this beat it'll get hella plays"
The refrain "words are everything, or maybe words are just my only thing" kinda performs the function of a hook. No need to add a hook.
He's got that late 90s hip-hop renaissance flow and content.
The looks can still work to his advantage. He looks like a prophet and deep thinker.

yeah man it really reminds me of Cannibal Ox. Have you heard Cold Vein?

No I have not. Is that another song of his? I will check it out.

@vandigital Dope Dig B! i never heard any of his works hes purely dope, love his story telling rappin style and the beat great vibes and a dope video, really enjoyed it. Kudos on always diggin those gems and sharin dat knowledge!

#recordpool love :P

always my bro! you know how we do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12