Steemit Record Pool Presents... 2017 - A Year in Review by Vandal

in #recordpool7 years ago (edited)

If you've only been paying attention to Top 40 Charts & Commercial Radio, you probably haven't noticed that 2017 has been a year of Amazing Music. Following in the footsteps of a year-end tradition, I've decided to make this my final entry of 2017 for our Steemit Record Pool initiative and give you my Top 5 selections and a couple of bonus tracks to bring you in to 2018 like any Vandal would!

vandal 2017.jpeg


In no particular order...

Humble by Kendrick Lamar

I chose this track manily because of the commercial hype surrounding Kendrick over the last few years. The result? With Damn Kendrick kept it Kendrick with the trackHumble addressing the problem of Ego in Hip Hop and it went mainstream.


Travelling Light by Talib Kweli Ft Anderson .Paak

Most us might not have noticed, but Talib recently dropped a new album called Radio Silence and with Anderson .Paak one of the most talked about new artists of 2017, this Kaytranada produced joint seemed most fitting to share.


Land Of The Free by Joey Bada$$

Kendrick's East Coast rival made a strong showing in 2017, not to mention his guest appearance in Mr. Robot. Land Of The Free touches on a lot of issues facing Americans coming out of a crazy 2016, Joey sums it all up over a vibe reminiscent of Biggie's Juicy.


Freedom Form Flowing by Gift Of Gab Ft. A-F-R-O & R.A. The Rugged Man

I've been following A-F-R-O for a while now, since he got with R.A. and I always thought he reminded me of Gift Of Gab! It finally happened and I'm happy to say that with the right guidance the future of Hip Hop is looking hella bright!


Power by Rapsody Ft. Kendrick Lamar & Lance Skiiiwalker

I couldn't leave 2017 without representing the ladies of Hip Hop! In my opinion Rapsody is the biggest name of them all this year, aside from the popularity of Stripper Rap, she's kept it proper with some dope lyrical skills to go right along with the positive vibe she represents. Power!


Honorable Mentions:

Jin Hackman is back with the "2017 Malaysian Rap Up". This one is going out to everyone at #teammalaysia!


Joyner Lucas shook social media with "I'm Not Racist". Go support his new project.


My 2017 Record Pool Posts

Frosty - Blowfly
If - Davido
16 Baris - Aman Ra x Airliftz x Balan Kashmir
Falling (remix) - KRS.
Forsaken Grammar - Lay Low
Hong Kong All Star Cypher - Various Artists
On my Way - Rizal and Rasendriya
Small Talk - Jarreau Vandal
Vandal's Weekly Record Pool Round Up
Crypto Rap Up 2 - Crypto Rap Up
Am Suuya - Ice Top
For The Town - SonReal
Chant Seggae - Kaya
A Message From The Inner City - The Crusaders
Brick - Rich Kidd
Tongues Of The Next Shit - Mad Skillz
Northern Touch - Rascalz
I Wanna Go Back - Onra
Made In The USA - Lupe Fiasco


HAPPY NEW YEAR 2018!

vandal banner at.jpg

Sort:  

@vandigital dropped the Bomb! Love the selection broski, Super dope as always! The Gift of Gab feat. R.A. & AFRO) made my 2017 and as u said keeps me motivated to hearing more dope fresh hiphop in 2018 to come. happy New Year Akhi to u and all ur fam, may 2018 be bigger and full of more blessings and success. Kudos

No doubt my bro! Catch you once I'm back to KL aight!

Woop Wop!!! Lookin sooooo forward to 2018 inshallah

All winners on this list. I'm a Kendrik Lamar fan.

Have a Happy New Year!

Thanks @jgvinstl hope you enjoyed some of the other selections as well! And a Happy New Year to you too!

nice selection!!

no words needed for Kendrick.

first heard about Anderson paak on the Dre album, love his style

joey badass fan since 1999

And they say Hip Hop is garbage these days.. People just don't know where to look for the good music out there!

so true. thats because they only know Lil Pump! 😂

God, heard that song just a few weeks ago and can't stop laughing...its like a car accident, you can't stop looking at it, but it hurts so much!!

Gotta do what we gotta do to stay in touch with the youth these days! I find myself watching Everyday Struggle to catch up with all of it hahahaha!

greetings leaving my vote up here, I hope in my blog thank yougiphy.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12