My Friends Threw Me a Baby Shower and Gave Me a Project to Do - Needlework Monday

Last month, my friends here in Panama threw me a baby shower. At the shower, each person signed a square of fabric and they gave it to me so that I could make the baby a quilt. Having a project to do motivated me to get all the work done I needed to do around the house so I could focus on baby girl's quilt.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

We all met up at a friend's house for the shower, and they decided to dress me up for the occasion. Ha! It was a lot of fun sitting around with them, opening gifts, playing a few games, and enjoying the day.

IMG_5043.JPG
They had a lot of fun dressing me up.

When I left the shower, I wasn't sure I was going to get the project done that they had given me, so it sat on a shelf for a while. There were 16 signed squares and quite a few blank ones. I wasn't sure what design I wanted to do, so it just needed to sit for a bit and wait.

Finally, one day I decided to pull out the squares and see what I could do with them. This design came quickly into my head. I knew I couldn't cut up the squares too much because of the placement of some of the signatures. I was able to decide on big blocks in the middle with a border around it with one of the fabrics I had a little bit more of. Then around that, I cut the squares up to make another border with smaller rectangles. I love how it turned out. I wasn't planning to finish it all in one day, but I sat down and it all came together within about 5 hours! I was glad to not have it hanging over me for long to get it done.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg
.
IMG_5655.JPG

For the back, I decided to go with a solid fleece blanket I already had on hand. It made it quick to put together. The binding is all the leftover pieces of fabric from the front. There are only tiny pieces of scraps leftover from the quilt! It will be one of a kind! I plan to write baby girl's name and birth information on the front blank square.

I am glad to have such caring and nice friends here who came up with this fun idea for me. I'm even more glad that I was able to finish the project with time to spare before the baby arrives!



Baby update - I still have about 3 weeks until my due date. Everything is going well for both of us. She is very active, but lets me sleep well at night. I am ready to meet her, but enjoying this time when life is a little easier with her totally contained at the moment! I can't wait to introduce her to the world!



Are you interested in visiting Panama to learn more about moving here? Check out Panama Relocation Tours if so. This tour will take you to many cities in the area where expats have settled and introduce you to many helpful people. Each tour is 5 nights and 6 days across the entire country (and you get to meet me)!




My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Thatcher’s Disappearing 9 Patch Baby Quilt
Gwen’s Wonky Star Baby Quilt
Quilted Baby Boy Cowboy Boots
Piper's Picket Fence Quilt
Max’s Zipper Quilt
Texas Angel Pillow
Handmade Rag Doll for My Daughter
Baby Charlotte’s Purple Wave Quilt
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

#needleworkmonday brought to you by @crosheille!

Sort:  

It’s such a pretty baby quilt! Glad you finished it early before the baby arrives!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.66$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Awwww! What a fun and cute idea that your friends came up with! You look dazzling mama! 😄😉 I love that outfit!

So glad you were able to put the signed squares together, what a great memorable project that your daughter will love!

Wow only 3 weeks left?! Yikes I got to get finished with making the baby bunting! Oh yes I forgot to tell you. That baby bunting I am sewing that’s taken me ages, it will be a gift for your daughter once it’s finished! When I realized my baby girl would outgrow it because I’m slow at sewing by the time I got finished I couldn’t think of anyone better to give it to!! So hopefully soon I can get it completed and sent your way!!!

It’s great to hear you both are doing well, get plenty of rest for the big day!! 💗

Thanks! The outfit was hilarious, but it sure didn't make me look 40! ;) I'm glad my friends got me the project to do. I still have two or three quilts for my kids that I need to do...and they're already way older than I'd like them to be to receive a quilt. :) Ha! Yea!! I can't wait to receive a super special gift. I bet your girlie is getting big now!! They grow so fast!!

thats such a cool idea for them to all sign patches and sounds like it was a fun baby shower, it will be a quilt you will have such nice memories with

So true! They know I quilt, so it worked out pretty well. It was a great time to hang out and I'm glad I have such fun times with my Panama friends. :)

That is great and I look forward to seeing the finished quilt ;)

I love your shower outfit, very stylish!
The quilt is a lovely idea and wonderful that it all came together so readily.
I hope your last few weeks are restful :)

Thanks! The outfit was pretty hilarious, but it almost made me look younger than I am. Ha! I'm glad it came together so quickly. I've already finished one other project, straightened all the rooms in the house, and am about halfway through one more project. Hoping to get it all done so I can relax a little. ;)

That is a lovely and thoughtful gift. My mother received a quilt from her friends that was cross stitched for my baby sister. Something to cherish for generations.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so nice to receive a quilt from her friends! I imagine that was a cherished gift!!

Love your pink quilt and your fun baby shower outfit @apanamama, so nice seeing you! You must be getting so excited to meet your new baby :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am getting ready to meet her! The shower was a lot of fun and I was totally not expecting to be dressed up! Lol

This quilt is darling, well done @apanamamama. You look fabulous, I don't know how you do it with all of your children and another on the way. Take care and get your rest while you can :)

Yeah it's going to be an adventure for a little while having 5 plus a newborn. I'm quite hopeful that the older kids (or at least my 7 year old daughter) will help out somewhat! :) My kids entertain themselves pretty well, so it's nice when I get a little while to work on projects while they're playing!

Beautiful quilt, such a thoughtful present from your friends. They definitely know that you like to keep busy. You look great!

Thanks! Yes, I was glad that I was able to find the time to get it done before the baby arrives! :)

Awwww, what a special quilt and personalized too!
It's great that you've managed to complete it before your baby arrives! Well done!

I know! I love how it turned out and its extra special meaning! I'm glad it is finished too. Now to just wait for the baby!!

You do know I was joking about "Time for another one" back about a year ago. Oh, well. Too late now. I can't wait to see the latest addition. (And I'm glad it's you and not me. That part hasn't changed even a little.) Love & blessings to everyone.

P.S. For some reason I'm glad it's a girl. Not that it's any of my business -- but this one feels special.

Yes it is going to be fun to have another girl. From the start, I've felt like I would have a daughter. So crazy. :)

What a joyful time!!! All the best to you both!!!!

Wow what a cool outfit :p - seems like you had a lot of fun working on that quilt too :)

Lol - the outfit was hilarious. They were happy I was a good sport about it. Let me just say that the friend who dressed me up in it, you don't tell her no. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34