Today Is My Only Daughter's 6 Birthday - Showing Off Her Paintbox Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #crafting6 years ago

6 years ago today, I was holding my brand new baby girl! We did not find out what we were having for our first three kids, so this was an epic surprise! She was born at 4:10 pm in Texas and I was so excited! She was my first baby born at home as well...right there in my claw foot tub! Having a baby girl was fun from the beginning. Pink, pink, pink...and pretty dresses!

380900_10150921413005035_871671936_n.jpg

Before she was born, I started working on a quilt for a girl. I had this fabric, liked the pattern, and wanted to put it all together. I thought it was so cute and turned out well. It started with a paintbox quilt tutorial, but I didn't read all of the directions, so I ended up improvising some, which made it a little more difficult than it should have been.
60204_10150281521085035_7848385_n.jpg

The back of it was just leftover fabric and a super soft green minkie fabric. It is hard to sew minkie fabric, but it ended up looking alright! I quilted it together with an all over free motion. (The picture was taken before I finished the binding by hand - I haven't been able to find the box the quilt is in after our recent move yet, so I had to use an older picture.)
62814_10150281520560035_8105018_n.jpg

So, I'm happy to say "Happy Birthday" to my sweet girlie today! We have had a fun day playing with friends, painting nails and watching a movie. Cake and popcorn were also included! And lots of baby dolls!


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Check out the discord group for fabric arts!! Please join and post your crafty blogs!

Sort:  

Tell your little one Happy Birthday! They grow up so fast... I know! @ironshield

This quilt is so cute! No square is the same, I love all of the different pattern designs and colors. Happy Birthday to your little girl! 😃🎉

Thanks so much! :)

Absolutely! 😉

Happy Birthday Apanamamamadaughter!

Thanks! That's quite a name she would have. ;) Lol!

Great birthday and nice quilt.

Pretty! I love the pink and green combo! I bet everyone in your family is enjoying their own custom made quilt :)

well...i have yet to start one for my husband (he wants a denim and red flannel one) and my two youngest boys still need to have theirs finished! Yikes! I am slightly behind! ;)

Ah well, I am sure you will catch up, as it is such a labour of love to create such beautiful things! 😀

True...someday. ;)

Happy Birthday to this awesome darling please wish her heaves best for me @apanamamama

Thanks! She had a great day! :)

very beautiful work !!!!

awwww congratulations and a happy birthday to her

Thanks! She had a great day!

She's adorable. And the fact that you started the quilt before you knew she was a girl, that's going on faith!

I wanted to make a girl quilt no matter what I was having. Had she been a boy, I would have made a new one for a boy and given hers away at some point. ;) Glad she got it because I love it! :)

Awes!!! What part of Texas?

We were about 30 miles north of Dallas. :)

Oh,ok! I lived in Austin for 3 years. Its where my oldest son was born, the one I just wrote about in fact.

It was funny- we had only lived there 1 1/2 years when he came into the world, and his father and I had definitely not acquired the accent, but when he started speaking there was a Texas twang! One of his first few words was ya'll, lol!

Lol! Too funny. That is one word I actually skipped out on. I lived in California from 2-5th grades, so I never picked it up and actually don't like it! :) But the rest of my family uses it. Austin is an interesting place. I've visited a few times, but never been there for an extended amount of time. We have family in San Antonio and Houston. :)

I was relocated there for work. I liked San Antonio much better, and always wished HQ was there instead of Austin!

I enjoy San Antonio. Great Tex-Mex and lots of stuff to do there! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97