Baby M's Soft Flannel Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago

A few years ago, my great friend from college was having a baby boy and I wanted to send her a little gift for him. I found some super adorable manly flannel and super soft minky fabric to make his quilt. It is a pretty small size - something he could easily carry around. I made it with simple squares on the front. You can see the dark blue fabric has little tools on it! The light blue and light green solids are minky.

185414_10150728969750035_7052485_n.jpg

The back of the quilt was the left over flannel pieces, simply sewn together. I think it turned out cute and was a nice personal touch to add to the gift. I quilted it together by doing intersecting lines.
250274_10150728969425035_7282128_n.jpg

My friend loved the quilt.

I am always nervous to ask non-family members if they still have the quilt that I have made for them as I wonder if they have already gotten rid of it. I have one that my oldest son got when he was born from a lady my dad worked with. I know how much time she spent on that quilt and it is the quilt that made me think I could also start quilting. It is the quilt that started it all!

Do you have a treasured quilt someone made for you?


Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!

If you have a project you have made, do a post about it, tag it with #makeitmonday and link to it in the comments!


If your project is fabric related, be sure to share it with #NeedleworkMonday (by @crosheille)
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

Very nice!
I recently started quilting! I made one for my daughter, and am in the process of making another for my son. Im not that great at it yet, and have made many mistakes, but thats how you learn, right? 😉
Thanks for sharing!

Yes, my first quilts were not so great, but I still have them and I've learned so much since then. I'd love to see a quilt post!!

Good idea! Ill have to make one...

This is a really nice one for a little boy! I love the dark blue and green mix. I like that you made it smaller so that it would be easier for him to carry it around.

I’ve never had a quilt of my own but I grew up watching my mom make them for her customers.

Oh man! You need to teach your kids to quilt and have them make you one!! Thanks for the comments. :)

Haaa!! I should! That would be awesome!!! 😄

You made a wonderful gift for your friend's son. They definitely like it. Great great job @apanamamama!
And quilt is one of the needleworks I want to try in the future :)

Thanks so much! You should try it. It is a lot of fun and not really that hard with basic patterns like this one.

Yes. I have a quilt that was made for me many years ago. My now deceased dog chewed a hole in it many years ago, but I still kept it. I keep it folded on the end of the bed where you can't see the hole. I guess I could try patching it...?

Yes, you probably could get it patched depending on what kind of pattern it is... I would think at least. I bet a local quilt shop could help out. :)

Everything made of love tends to rebound and I'm sure your friend still has it or remembers it fondly. Thanks for sharing mama :)

Yes, thanks for stopping by! I sure hope they kept it. ;)

Nice work! Maybe you could ask them if they still have it? If they don't, where did it go?

Either way, thats a really nice thing to give to new parents. Creative, unique, practical - a great mix for a gift

"Um, well, we don't have it anymore. Donated it to a thrift store."
Me: "Um, what???"
Lol. :) Thanks for stopping by!

When I first seen the picture of the baby quilt I thought it was a 9 patch quilt until it was 10 squares across. It is a great color combination and a good size for the baby.

Thanks - yeah, I was just trying to use the fabric at the time and make it big enough but not too big. ;) I forgot how big it was, but it was relatively small compared to most of my others. Maybe 18" or so...

You had me at "little tiny tools" @apanamamama! This is such an adorable quilt that you have made. I'm always amazed by what quilters do..I can't even imagine the time and effort it takes. Happy #NeedleworkMonday!

Yea!! Thanks for stopping by and I'm glad you like it. It was a cute little man quilt. I have fabric to make one for my husband sometime that is tools and cars...if I ever get to it. I should have done it as a surprise for his 40th birthday, but that's in 14 days and that isn't going to happen... ;) Ha. Quilting is fun - I love it...when I find the time!

From where I come from, quilts are not common. Maybe it's because of the humidity. But that's a beautiful quilt you got there, one that I would be proud to own myself! :)

Lol - Yeah, I bet they aren't common. Probably like having a quilt at the beach. ;)

I do not have!!!! I really like the blankets that you do. they are bright, cheerful and festive. these are wonderful practical gifts !!!!

Oh, you need a quilt! Find some old tshirts and have someone make one for you. Or even some old clothes! Or any fabric that means something to you!! :) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58