Texas Angel Handmade Pillow - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The Texas Angel was a pillow that I sewed off of a pattern for my pastor's wife in Mexico City when I was doing mission work there years ago. I became very close to their family - almost like they were my parents! I knew that they loved Texas and I saw this cute pattern and wanted to make it for her.

10458306_10154389577615035_6522089522450608304_n.jpg

To make this, I traced the pattern onto a piece of white fabric. Then I chose the colors of embroidery floss I wanted to use for each part and started sewing. It was not too difficult to make and I really liked the finished product. My mom helped me sew it onto a pillow and I think she did a great job. Teamwork at its finest! I wonder if I can find the pattern again in my pile and make another one...

My pastor's wife says that this still is used every day on their bed. I'm glad that she liked it so much!

Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Baby Charlotte’s Purple Wave Quilt
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


monday.png

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

What a neat pillow and of course I love it since I'm a Texan!

Do you know who made the pattern? It really is very cute.
You sewed this nicely, it looks adorable 💚

I have no idea who made the pattern! :) I was really into primitive stitching at the time, but I'm pretty sure I didn't make it. I had a year of angels patterns but I don't think that was it... I just googled and didn't find anything!!

It is so sweet of you to make this for the pastor's wife. I guess everytime she hugs or sleeps on the pillow she will feel the love and the warmth from you. Beautiful heart and beautiful art. 😍

Thanks! I know she loves it. She is always sewing stuff for people and she's the one who got me into cross stitch!

I can honestly say, this is the first cowboy angel I've ever seen. @ironshield

This is such an adorable sweet pillow!! I really love the cowgirl angel!! I love the added words on there too. I bet it’s special knowing the pillow still has a place on their bed! Good job on this project!!! 😊 Thanks for sharing~

Thanks! I love sewing things like this. They're quick and easy. I made the grandmothers a handprint pillow last year for Christmas and have made my mother-in-law some flamingo pillows like this. I started off trying to get "I Done My Best" patterns, but decided I actually like doing these type better. ;)

That is so cool! I love that you are tying new things!! Keep it up!! 😃👌🏽

Great work! What is that on the cow's horn? a bird?

Yes, it is a little bird. :)

That is a beautiful pillow! What really got you into sewing? I am not really good with sewing unless I need it for a costume haha

I used to sew pillow cases as a little girl so maybe that's where it started...or it is hereditary as my mom also sews. :) I don't do clothes though!

Ohhh look at you go, @apanamamamma! Too cute. I love your Texas pillow!

Thank you! :) It did turn out cute.

this is great. reminds me of a homemade quilt my grandmother sewed for me :)

I love homemade quilts! I wish I had one from my grandparents!

Your talent is amazing. That looks great.

Thank you! It was fun to make. I have done a few others that are similar, but not this same one - Christmas, flamingos...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34