Baby Charlotte's Purple Wave Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

About four years ago, my sweet little niece was born and she was named Charlotte. She is a spunky little girl now - she takes after her dad (my brother). I made her a quilt for when she was born with perfectly girlie shades of purple. Her daddy likes video games and this one kind of reminded me of Tetrus or something similar.

1920484_10153834581290035_1141414619_n.jpg

The back of the quilt had all of the leftover fabric just sewn however way it would all fit together. In the bottom corner, I also embroidered her name and my name as a special keepsake.

1920004_10153834581365035_1030997826_n.jpg

The name of the pattern was called Waves and I found a tutorial for it online similar to this one. I also just did my own thing on this quilt. I had an idea in my head and went for it. I was looking through all my old quilts today and pins on my pinterest board and it made me want to get my machine out! Hopefully soon I'll get it all together where I can spend some time quilting! I believe that Charlotte really likes her quilt!

1901698_10153834581450035_1985219555_n.jpg

My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

monday.png

Sort:  

@apanamamama Another gorgeous quilt in our favorite color :) if Freyja hadn’t been Freyja she’d have been Charlotte :)

Thanks! I love this one too! Freyja is a cute name! I like Charlotte too. :)

Nice pattern. Interesting color combination. I probably wouldn't have thought of using green, but it works.

I think I picked a main fabric and then I go find other fabrics with coordinating colors. The green had all of the same colors just with a background of green. I'm glad it worked out colorwise!

Awww!!!! Adorable baby in an adorable quilt! I love the purple and lilac colors in this one. I agree, it does have a video game feel to the pattern. I love seeing the little babies enjoy their soft handmade quilts! Nice work! 💕

Thanks! I'm glad that they all get one when they're born. I've only missed one, but I sent her some boots. I need to get working on her quilt so I can send it when I see my parents in April!

Absolutely!!!! Oh I know those boots looked adorable on her!

We moved our gender reveal party up to this Saturday! I’m excited to find out and let everyone know!!!

The blanket is just super! I really like quilts, they look very cozy and beautiful!

Thank you! I love quilts as well. They are so comforting!

the blanket is wonderful !!! you have an inexhaustible source of fantasy !!!!

Thanks! I get most of my ideas from Pinterest. :) That place has a ton of ideas... ;)

I still absolutely love your backs. It seems like a small thing, but you pieced everything together so nicely. It looks wonderful!

Thanks! I hear that a lot. My MIL loves the back of her quilt and it's just one big piece of fabric. The front almost killed me, but she loves the back. Ha!

Wow, another beautiful quilt. I like the pattern and love the shades of purple. Did you ever go to the State Fair of Texas and see the quilts on display that had won the ribbons? It's one of my favorite things to go look at every year!

I think I saw them quickly one year. I love the quilt show they have in Plano and I went to the international one they have in Houston. Those quilts are insane. I can't even imagine...

start a needle work alliance with @redwellies, both of you super ladies are arty, skill, and superb at handcrafting all those little things that can make babies, kids and even grownups happy! :-)

Yes, she has some awesome stuff as well. I'm about to try making a baby doll like the ones she has posted. :)

Purple is my favourite colour, so naturally I was drawn to your photo! Do you use a special machine to do the sewing on the top? I have started to make a quilt and am nowhere near that stage yet, but was curious. The action shot is so so cute <3

I just use my Brother sewing machine. I hope to one day use one of those huge (garage size) quilting machines. There is one in our town that we can rent. I haven't done one yet. My brother is maybe a little bit on the small side, but it works. :)

That is awesome. Do you just sew wherever you feel or follow a pattern? I have seen air erase pens but I have never made a quilt before, let alone sew the design on one! I saw you can send it away but I kinda want to do it all myself!

Such a stunning quilt! 😍
Love the purple so much. Excellent job!

Thanks so much. I also love purple, so I was glad to get to use a lot of it in this quilt. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34