My Niece Ellanor's Baby Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

When my niece, Ellanor, was born, I asked my sister-in-law what fabric her nursery would be done in. I bought a matching sample of all of the fabrics to make her quilt. I ended up sewing them in long strips and then using the main fabric to frame them. It ended up being very delicate and girlie looking! Perfect for a newborn baby!

281251_10150729016020035_712482_n.jpg

Ellanor is exactly six months older than my daughter (I did not find out I was having a girl until she was born - what a great surprise)! They are great friends and love talking to each other on the phone. I finished the quilt by making little "roses" as the quilting. It was a lot of work, but it turned out great! The back has her name appliqued to it in the middle and leftover pieces of fabric sewn together.
285306_10150729016245035_4342677_n.jpg


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

I love how you add the names to the backs of your quilt. That makes them even more special for the receiver!!! I love the pastel colors in this baby quilt. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! Yeah, I sometimes embroider their name, sometimes write it in fabric marker and sometimes applique it. Just never know what I'm feeling until it's time to work on the back. ;)

That’s pretty neat that you have several options!

The roses are perfect, also the colour combination. I am totally into pastels (mostly pink and mint) When I seee what you can make by sewing - wow. I directly want to go to my sewing mashine. But right now I have a cold and I am whiny instead of productive :-D

Oh believe me I haven't pulled my machine out in months. I wish I had the time to do all of this. I'd have to take a long break from cleaning, homeschooling, steemit to be able to get a quilt done these days. ;) Someday soon I'll pick it back up though. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

I like the pastels and the rose like spirals. They look like they would take a lot of time with all that twisting and turning! I think this might be my favourite one that you have posted so far!

Thanks! That's so nice! Yeah, I like the roses too. I forgot I had done that on this quilt until I pulled the pic (my niece is now 6). I don't remember them being extremely difficult, but who knows. I did a spiral and then made a "c" and backed out of the spiral. :)

That's really beautiful! You must be one organized and energetic woman to do this along with everything else you have going on.

I have only made tiny quilted boots since I moved to Panama...in the last 8 months. I haven't done major sewing in quite a while. I used to have more free time when I would make all the kids go to rest time for an hour every afternoon. Now, that's when I do homeschooling. This quilt was made 6 years ago. I have a few that I need to work on right now (my youngest 2 boys don't have a quilt at all, I have some other ideas of quilts in my head and I want to make one with some indigenous fabric I bought). One of these days... ;)

the fabric is so cool and lovely @apanamamama

Thanks! :) It was a fun quilt to make.

Wow!!!! it is wonderful!!!!!

Lovely quilt! I can't sew but a quilt is such a great thing to make. You can personalise it so much. Great work.

Thanks so much! :) Yes, I like to make them as personal as possible. :)

Your quilts are always great to take a look at!

I think small quilts like this are fantastic gifts for newborns. I know that many times they get attached to a certain blanket or object. If I was a small child, I think I'd take my quilt everywhere. haha perhaps not, but anyway, I think it's great that you enjoy gifting quilts after you make them.

As I've told you before, my grandmothers both enjoy quilting, and the majority of the quilts they complete are given away, so I can appreciate this for sure.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by! Yes, kids all get attached to something - most of my kids have anywhere from 3-5 blankets. It's insane. Every Christmas, they get a new thing and decide to add it to their collection. I've tried to get them to ditch some, but it doesn't work. Fold it and put it at the end of the bed doesn't work. ;) Yes, I bet the quilts your grandmothers make are amazing!

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34