I Made My Daughter a Handmade Rag Doll - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

I'm taking a break from my usual posting of quilts I have made to show something that I made last week! Yea! It's always a good week when I have some crafting time!!

My friend wants me to come teach the orphaned girls she homes at their organization how to sew. She was thinking quilts, but I wanted to start with something that might be relatively easy and something cute that they could sell easily and personalize. So I wanted to try out making rag dolls to see how easy it was and I found it to be rather simple and something I plan to do again.

IMG_9002.JPG

@redwellies has posted a few times about the rag dolls she has made and they are totally adorable. So I took that idea and added what my daughter thought was super cute on Pinterest posts that we could find to create her new rag doll.

IMG_8999.JPG

There are many things I learned while making this doll, and many things that I plan to change (like the shape of the head that is a little off). I also plan to add a little skirt to this one since I think her legs look kind of funny...or maybe it is the bottom of the dress. I would also triple or quadruple sew the arms and legs on since I have already had to hand sew them all on to make them more secure.

IMG_8997.JPG

The doll is about 22 inches tall and has felt hair. I saw a lot with yarn hair, but I could not figure that out yet. I painted her shoes on and stitched her smile and eyes with embroidery floss. My daughter designed her necklace.

IMG_9001.JPG

I think it turned out really cute and my daughter loves it. She has been taking her shopping with us and various other places. I hope to start teaching the girls how to sew these in the next few weeks, and if I do, I will be sure to post about it!

Check my last quilt post for a list of all of my previous quilts.

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our [fabric arts discord group](https://discord.gg/t8tB6f

monday.png

Sort:  

The first one of anything you make is always the hardest. Did you make a pattern? Or did you just "wing it?" This looks like it could be Christmas presents for all those nieces you've made quilts for. (Think of all the money you'll save!) But I'm not sure I'd want to try to get the stuffing all the way down those legs!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.36$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I did make a pattern and I need to tweak some of it next time. I wanted to make these a few years ago for Christmas, but decided they would take too long (and I started a little late thinking about doing it). I know the girls would all love them. My daughter likes hers. ;) Yeah, stuffing the legs was kind of a pain - I used a pencil to push it down. Next time, I'll make the legs the same length, but not stuff as much and sew more of it into the doll body. This time the legs just barely made it!

@apanamamama YAY!!! SHE'S ADORABLE!! Love, Love her and her long legs. Her expression is delightful! And fantastic that you're going to teach the orphaned girls how to sew and a doll is a wonderful thing to start with. There are already programs around the world that donate rag dolls to orphans and it's perfect that they'll be able to personalize them.

That's pretty cool to know. These girls are 14-17 I think and have aged out of the orphanages but still need a little more encouragement before being on their own, so my friends started a ministry to help them out. They live there for 2 years and learn all kinds of things to help them succeed. I'm hoping they will like this idea and I think they will. I'm glad I found it pretty quick to do and pretty easy as well. :) Thanks for encouraging me to get it done!!

This is so cuuuuuute@ apanamamama! What a great cause, and it is wonderful that you got your daughter involved in the creative process, too! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you!

Thanks! Yeah, she kept coming up with things she thought would look good. I tried to do what she wanted as closely as possible (with a little bit of direction based on what I thought I could handle). ;)

You both did a great job!

Awwww! This is cute! I should learn and do this! My girls would love this! tip!

Hi @apanamamama! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @elizacheng :)

@elizacheng wrote lately about: Makemesmile Weekly Challenge Is On! / 让我们开始每周的Makemesmile挑战吧!. Feel free to follow @elizacheng if you like it :)

Awwwwww .... it is so lovely!!! maybe you could come up with a crochet doll holding a steemit sign. Just an idea =D
I love how yr child appreciates the art you made, i seen other children engross in phones and tablets they forgot how dolls can make them happy =)
Your child is proud of you!!@apanamamama

Oh my oh my!! This is doll is soooooo cute!! You did such a good job on her!!!! Way to go to your daughter for designing her cute necklace! I would love to learn how to sew one of these...okay this motivated me get out my machine and start creating!!

We just got a mini sewing machine for my daughter. She was intimidated at the size of mine so we figured she could start small. I think I’m going to look for some beginner doll projects like this for her to start on because she’s always asking for more dolls! 😁 Thanks so much for sharing this!!

The doll turned out so cute! I made yarn dolls for my younger sister and girl cousins one Christmas. That’s so exciting that are going to teach them to sew! I took sewing classes the summer I was 9. My mom already sewed and I was very happy to learn how to cut out material using a pattern and make it from start to finish.

Awwww!! How cute! Love how you’re going to teach sewing to the orphans - that will definitely be a blessing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32