Grandpa's Texas Flag Red, White and Blue Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

Grandpa is not from Texas, but he got there as fast as he could! One Christmas, I made him a quilt that looked like a Texas flag on the front of it. I wanted the stripes part to look kind of wonky and crooked, but it did not turn out as wonky as I wanted! This was just my own pattern, sewing stuff together and seeing how it looked. I did four patches and large single square patches to fill in the rest of the quilt. The star is appliqued on.

149402_10152537134195035_1914505062_n.jpg

The back part of his quilt is a large panel of a Native American on his horse. Grandpa really liked the back! The rest of the back was leftover pieces of fabric from the front. The whole quilt was done in red, white and blue.
149472_10152537134205035_1930171616_n.jpg

I quilted it together with diagonal lines that crossed each other. It was a large quilt that covered his whole couch. That is where is still lives to this day. I'm so glad that Grandpa enjoys his quilt.
382370_10152537134855035_100070895_n.jpg

What project are you working on now or have you made in the past? Share a link in the comments!


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I don't really believe in anything like werewolves and vampires I do like werewolves though.

Yikes. I don't know where that came from. I'm not a fan of either one.

Redbear was Sherlock's dog.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow!!!! amazing work!!!!!!

Thank you! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by A Panama Mama (apanamamama) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is so beautiful! I just love the Native American you added to the back. Very creative and original. Your work is truly inspiring :)

Thanks! I knew Grandpa would like the Native American print and I would never have another reason to use it! ;) He did say it is his favorite part! :) Have a great Monday!!

You’re welcome! I can see why that’s his favorite part. You have a Great Monday as well~

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

That's a nice quilt! Red White and Blue with Buffalo! Perfect match. My wife's working on a quilt, I should have her do a post on it sometime. @ironshield

Thanks! :) Yes, she should! Does she have an account, or use yours? :)

@lturner. She hasn't posted in a while, since we're getting things ready four baby #4, due any day now. Manditory bed rest may result in some more posts, though. @ironshield

Oh nice. Yes, I already follow her! :) Yea for baby #4 being due any day. I KNOW that she is ready. Looking forward to her future posts.

What a nice combination @apanamamama

Thanks so much! :)

@apanamamama That's a nice quilt you made for your Grandpa! I'm crocheting a scarf for my daughter for Christmas. I haven't crocheted in about 5 years so I picked an easy one! I'm using blue chenille super bulky weight yarn using a size 10 mm crochet hook. I'm happy with the way it's turning out and it is fast and easy. I'll post a pic to you when I finish it! I may even make a few more for more of my family. :)

So nice! I love making stuff for other people! I'd love to see the scarf when you're done! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65