My First Quilt For My Baby Boy - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #makeitmonday7 years ago

Last week for Make It Monday, I showed you my favorite quilt. Today, I would like to show you the quilt that started it all, my very first quilt.

I had always been interested in quilting but didn’t really know how to sew. When my first son was a baby, I found a local quilt shop that did a class to teach you how to quilt and you only had to be able to sew a straight line. I figured I could do that, so I enrolled! We followed a pattern in class. We met once a week for a few hours and had to finish the rest of the assignment at home each week. I loved getting to go to class and learn my new favorite hobby.

I picked out the fabric all by myself. Some of it was from my stash and I bought some that coordinated. I decided to make it for my son. Here is the quilt top sitting in rows waiting to be sewn together.

21538_10150099467890035_2517077_n.jpg

So, with a very good newborn, I started quilting in my free time - when he napped, when I trapped him in his swing for a little while, when he was in bed at night. It was a lot of fun and began my love of quilting.

It is smaller than a twin size. The back has solid green flannel. It was quilted in diagonal lines (which was actually kind of difficult to keep it all square). I don’t remember the name of the pattern and never plan to do some of those squares again!! I sewed and quilted this with my Brother sewing machine, and the binding was done by hand.

21538_10150099472515035_2356416_n.jpg
21538_10150099472505035_5008761_n.jpg

My son turns 9 next week and here he is all wrapped in his quilt after I finally finished it. I think he was 2.
21538_10150099472535035_7188884_n.jpg
<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

From one quilter to another Job well done!!!

Thank you! I really like this one. :)

That is a beautiful piece... I haven't done any quilting before... I am thinking of quilting with my girls in the future as our yearly project...
This year we are doing paper quilling.. :)

Cool! I hadn't thought of doing a yearly project with the kids. That would be awesome. I'm going to have to think about how I can get my kids to help me with something like that. Great idea!

They can actually be good helpers... But sometimes they mess up too... Well it's a way to train them... My girls are 8, 6 and 3... Need to think and assign different tasks to them...

For sure. My oldest turns 9 next week (boy) and the youngest is 2. There is only one girl (5) in the middle and 2 other brothers crammed in there too. I had the oldest two embroider their handprints on pillows last year for the grandmothers. They liked that ok. We would just have to do a very basic quilt...figure out what each could do at their current age. But I still love the idea.

Wow, that's beautiful. What a great quilt. Maybe someday I'll make a quilt. I love sewing!

Thanks! You really should. It's a lot of fun and pretty easy to do! The quilting is the difficult part but it was pretty easy to get used to it. I don't do much of any other sewing. I can't really follow a pattern!! :)

Great looking quilt, especially for your first! Your son looks very happy and snuggly in it, too.

Cheers,
@lilrut

Thanks! It was a fun project! Thanks for the comment! Have a good one.

That's really awesome! You did such a good job on it. I love quilting too but now that I have a little one I never have much time. I love the orange and blues of your quilt. Now your little boy will have keepsake of something you made for him.

Time is definitely an issue when it comes to quilting. I want to drag out my stuff and spend hours, but that just isn't part of life now. Maybe someday!

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50