Max's Zipper Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago (edited)

When my youngest nephew was born, his parents named him Max and I made him a quilt! This quilt was fun to make because of all of its bright colors. The design was kind of like a zipper, although I cannot remember the name of it and I sort of made it up as I went along.

12622136_10156466741305035_3712853970514642902_o.jpg

The quilt was sewn together with lines across each row and down the middle and side of each square. It really made it obvious how crooked the quilt was at the end! I still think it turned out pretty well. The back, as usual, was just some leftover pieces from the front that I sewed together.

12694708_10156466741300035_4302058330523483472_o.jpg

I am happy that he liked it. He is now two years old. I noticed today while getting this picture that I only have one quilt left to talk about. Looks like I need to get started on making another one! And I have a few other ideas to share about as well!

Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Texas Angel Pillow
Handmade Rag Doll for My Daughter
Baby Charlotte’s Purple Wave Quilt
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

monday.png
SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

oh, yes please @apanamamama, I really enjoy looking at the quilts and how you do the backside looks cool too.

I really like how you made the back out of the leftover pieces from the front! Great way to not end up with a mountain of scraps...maybe I should steal that idea ;)

Yes, I love using the scrap pieces that way! :)

Tell your relatives to start having more kids.

Seriously. ;) Sadly I think most are done. There might be one more niece/nephew born at some point...

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 74 (3/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Your work is beautiful, it's much harder than my embroidery. To sew such a blanket you must apply a lot of patience, effort and time. You umnichka.

It is a lot of fun! Thanks for stopping by. :)

I love art, I would like to see more of you post like this: D

firma 4.jpg

Thanks! I post my quilts every Monday. :)

I love that pattern! I made a large thick quilt for my son to use as a play mat, but the squares were about 8"x8" and there was no pattern, just different batik squares. I don't think I could get my act together enough to make something that regular. None of my corners matched up!
Anyway - love it!

Lol - Yeah, it takes practice and manipulation to get the corners to line up. :)

Yes, it’s time for more quilts! 😊
This one is really pretty and unusual in the pattern. I really like it!

Thanks! :) Yes, I definitely need to get one going! :) I need to make one and send it to my newest niece when my parents come to visit next month! That's probably the one I need to work on first! Ha

This is a Fun one!! It reminds me of putting a puzzle together! I always like the colors you choose for the boys...those bright blue and oranges!

Oh yes! I guess it’s that time to get working on some new ones!!! That’s how I felt when I ran out of my crochet archives...it was time to start anew!!! 😉 Looking forward to seeing the other projects you are working on too~

I need to do one for my newest niece and send it when my parents come to visit next month. Hopefully I can get one planned and finished before then. :) I always wanted to dress my baby boys in bright colors, but it was hard to find anything like that at the stores. Light blue and green... ;)

I hope you can get it done in time!! I too like to dress my boys in bright colors!! 😉

I think I will have to make you make and ship it to me to Croatia one day. You really do a great job making these. I have seen I believe 3-4 different ones you made in your posts and all of them were great.

And, yes you should start making another one for your basketball Railoraod cop guy from Croatia. :P

Good idea! I'll just put a stamp on it and put the address as: Duro, Croatia. I'm sure it will arrive at your doorstep. ;)

Great. I will let you know when it arrives here. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66