Pop's Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

Pop, as my kids call my dad, loves Texas A&M, so one year, I decided to make him a Texas A&M quilt for Christmas. He was very happy to receive this quilt and still uses it on his recliner at their house. I believe I found the tutorial for the pattern online and it was not too difficult to follow. It had a lot of Texas A&M fabric in it.

59722_10152537134200035_638127208_n.jpg
He told me after receiving this that he had been eating Bento boxes at work for lunch!

The back of it is a (crooked) Texas A&M with AGGIES appliqued on it. It is really hard to get the front straight with the back when the back is taped right side down to the floor with batting in between when making the quilt sandwich. Not fun.

529718_10152537134615035_1769768793_n.jpg

I quilted it together by doing all over loops. I thought this would be easier than stippling, but it was actually kind of difficult.

12014_10152537134705035_320885066_n.jpg

Do you like the bento box pattern?


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

My lord, you are an Aggie too? Please tell me your not. I do everything I can to avoid Aggies, I drive to Waco, via Austin, to avoid going through College Station and those Aggies.
I do like the pattern though, nice workmanship.

Nope, I'm not an Aggie, but there are 3 of them in my family - two brothers and my dad. I went to Hardin-Simmons in Abilene for college. I was seriously considering going to A&M until I visited it and saw how massive it was! :)

Okay, that could have been a deal breaker, glad we have that behind us.

;) Lol. Did you go to UT or something? ;) Your kids aren't allowed to go to A&M? My husband went to Texas Tech in Lubbock, so we probably won't have any Aggies either. ;)

No, I didn't go to UT. It has to do with some shady business dealings that A&M pulled a few years back on me.

Ah, makes sense. Not cool.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by A Panama Mama (apanamamama) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Wow, another really nice quilt. Indeed, craft on! @ironshield

Very nice! I love the colors on this one too! I love the pattern designs on your quilts!

Thanks so much! I tend to stick with what I know, so trying something different like on this pattern is always a challenge. ;)

You’re welcome! I’m the same way. I tend to stick to what I know but I love a challenge here and there.

I have all these links for quilt ideas that I'd like to try "someday." :)

I bet you do ;)

Nice Quilt. Gig Em! @rebele93

TX A&M Class of 93' - Whoop!

Nice! I am not an Aggie, but three of the members of my family are. My dad graduated in 70something and my two brothers were in the 2000s. :)

My mother is an avid quilter and made me a TX A&M quilt for my bed when I was in the Corps. It's one of my most valued possessions. I'll try to post a picture soon.

That's awesome. Would love to see a pic! You are a hardcore Aggie then for sure! :)

Yes...I do like the bento box pattern! Your quilts are so amazing...it's like sewing a huge jigsaw puzzle together! I don't know how you do it 😀

Lol! Yeah sometimes it does feel like a jigsaw puzzle! I usually lay it all out on the floor and make sure I like the end product before I sew it all together. ;) Thanks for stopping by! :)

Wow your post is awesome!

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Love the group. Thanks for the upvote and having this in the curation post. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76