The Special Number 8 Sponge Bob Quilt I Made for My Nephew - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #quilting7 years ago

You’ve now seen three of my quilts. This is my first one that I made for my son when I first learned to quilt. Then my favorite quilt which is purple and I still use all the time! Then my first zig zag quilt which I plan to never make again!

I really enjoy making quilts for other people, and I learned this early on. (Sadly I haven’t made the one my husband has requested yet – denim front with a red flannel back…but it’s on my list!) Seeing someone’s face when you give them something you made with your own hands is pretty amazing. I love putting time and energy into a quilt that I know someone isn’t expecting but they’ll love it anyway!

37424_10150213439050035_1320201_n.jpg

My nephew is now 15 years old, but I made this quilt for him when he turned 8. He really loved Sponge Bob Square Pants, so the majority of the fabric is that. Then on the back, I put some of his other favorites – some random Transformer fabric I had, leftover Sponge Bob and some Star Wars panels I had left over after making him a pillow case.
37424_10150213439055035_5860632_n.jpg

I made the 8 by drawing it onto a piece of graphing paper and making sure it would work out. Then I measured it all out and cut. Measure twice, cut once, they always say! It is mostly made of squares and a few triangles. I HATE sewing triangles. It’s so hard to get the corners exactly right. I like the way it turned out though.
37424_10150213439060035_733662_n.jpg

He loved his quilt and snuggled right up in it! I was so glad that it was big enough to wrap around him. He was so surprised and so excited to get a quilt with all of his favorite things!
37424_10150213439065035_3296310_n.jpg

What kind of fabric would you pick for your favorite things quilt?

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!

Sort:  

I love sewing, but haven't done any lately! I've never made a quilt, but I would love to make one. I have fabric squares from a great aunt that passed away in 1986 that I could turn into a quilt. That's what she intended to do with the squares. Sadly, I haven't done it. If I picked material myself, I would make it out of butterflies and flower prints. :)

Wow! That would be awesome to make a quilt out of her squares! You should definitely try it. I bet there is some nice vintage fabric in it. :) Thanks for the comment! Butterflies and flowers would be cute!

sponger bobbbb square pants!!. Love spongebob square pants and don't mind people calling me a kid. hehehe

You are a creative person! don't let those left over cloth out to waste. Other people just throw it out (me especially)

Yes, I try to use all of the fabric. I want to do a scrap quilt some day with all of my leftover pieces! :)

I love this ! We need to do a quilting day ! Like they do at Joya ! One day a week where we spend it quilting :) I love your personalized themes! I am currently making a baby quilt :) I'm using different kinds of material which may not be ideal but so far it's cute ! I usually use big squares but making tiny ones this time ! I am not sure I could actually make a number like you did and it be all lined up ! Good job 👏🏽

Thanks! I like making them and trying different designs. Yeah, we should do a quilting day. Once I get all the stuff set up here at the house, I'll totally have you guys over to do some sewing! You could start going to the classes at the quilt shop by the park too. :) Can't wait to see your quilt!

You have some amazing skills. You can see how happy he is! <3 STEEM ON!

Thanks! He was a pretty happy camper!! :)

I love Sponge Bob =)

your expression nice.

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51