My First (and Only) Zig Zag Chevron Quilt with Triangles - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #quilting7 years ago

Last week, I showed you the quilt I made for my oldest son whose birthday is today! He just turned 9!! He is a happy kid today - beach yesterday, pancakes and presents this morning, pizza for lunch, friends this afternoon. Who wouldn't want that kind of birthday as a 9 year old?

Today, I'd like to show you the first quilt I ever finished. I made this quilt to make sure that I could actually quilt it together! It was a lot of work to do this zig zag as it is made entirely out of triangles! Next time, I will follow an easier zig zag pattern like this one. The quilt I made is bright and the back is red flannel. It's super soft and also really small (36" x 20" or so). I did the zig zag pattern to quilt it on the middle part and around the outside I did a loop (just to try it out). It was good to practice quilting before tackling a big project like my son's quilt.

zigzag.jpg
zigzag1.jpg

I like how it turned out but it was a lot to take on as a beginner quilter! I'm glad it was so small. I think it will end up being my daughter's baby doll quilt!

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!

Sort:  

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice, beautiful, good job. Happy Birthday to your boy

Thanks! He had a pretty fantastic birthday by 9 year old standards. :)

You did a really great job. Zig Zag quilts are great for beginners because they take a little more effort than just squares or rectangles. I can see around the edges where you sewed little loops to add a little something extra to the threading. It looks great.

Thanks! It was an interesting piece to work on. I like how it turned out! :)

This is totally new to me - I enjoyed reading it, thanks!
Are you able to send them to Switzerland? 😀

I've never sold one before. It takes so many hours! I have donated one or two for fundraising efforts and given quite a few as gifts.

amazing talent of yours! keep crafting 😉

great job.. pretty colors too.. so nice to make something for gifts instead of just going to the store @samstonehill did a post about that . Happy Birthday to your son :) btw I like crafts too.. I have never quilted.. my aunt did until a few years back.

I like quilting. It is a lot of fun. I have made quite a few and plan to share them every Monday. They take a lot of time, so I usually do a quilt for Christmas. :) Thanks!

It would look perfectly at home in a cabin/cottage or beside a camp fire. This skill is a resource during times of hardship, should they ever find their way to or near you. Any spare piece of fit and clean material can be reused for your needs, "waste not, want not"...

Upvote for resourcefulness & self reliance.

Thanks! Yeah, I really enjoy doing it and it is true that one can be made out of scrap fabric! I plan to make one out of old jeans someday!

My parents made quilts way back when I was growing up. There was a big quilting fad back then, too. It's a lot of work. Congratulations on getting the job done!

Thanks! :)

invoking @originalworks for an added upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36