Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #quilting7 years ago

My sister-in-law was graduating from college a few years ago, and as a surprise, I made her a quilt with some fabric from her college. She graduated from Texas A&M and they are known as the "Aggies." She really was surprised and loved the quilt!

The pattern is one of my favorites - Disappearing 9 Patch - looks really hard but is super easy. I used some girlie fabric as well as Texas A&M fabric. I also did a solid strip of the fabric toward the top.

21538_10150099445225035_3567995_n.jpg

On the back, I did a solid band toward to the top and appliqued "AGGIES" on to it. I really like how it turned out.

21538_10150099445220035_1800822_n.jpg

This was quilted with all over stippling, also known as free motion quilting. At this point I was getting better at this type of quilting. My stitches were more even and it went quickly and better than the others did!

21538_10150099451200035_7021065_n.jpg

Here she is with her quilt. She really liked it and everyone was surprised. I always think it is a lot of fun to see people open a quilt I've made for them, especially when it isn't expected. I have put a lot of time and energy into making the quilt and I'm glad to see that they like it and appreciate the gift. She still uses the quilt at home in her living room!

21538_10150099472570035_6519256_n.jpg


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

Sort:  

Once again, fantastic job on another quilt! I really like the pattern - it ends up making a very interesting looking quilt!

Thanks! It is my favorite pattern because it's easy but it looks really complicated and nice. :)

wonderful gift !!!!! can be seen that you did it with love !!!!! great !!

You kept saying this was easy, but I don't believe you, because it looks amazing. I bet she was happy - that would be a pretty sweet gift.

Thanks! :) It is one of my fastest and easiest patterns but it does look complicated. That's one reason I love it!

A wonderful personal gift that she will always treasure! Your stitching looks very even. Another very nice quilt!

Thanks! It is true that practice makes...better. ;) I am kind of rusty at quilting at the moment. I hope it's like riding a bike and comes back to me quickly when I find time to pick it up again.

Your quilting is Amazing! I love the colors of this one and the technique you used. Easy? Oh you are so humble...this looks beyond easy. Very nice work and such a nice personal touch for your sister-in-law. Thanks for sharing this week with us! 😊

Thanks! It really is an easy pattern - make a nine patch, cut it down the middle, turn it and sew it back together. :) The nine patch then disappears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83