Hudson's Plus Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art7 years ago

My second son was around 18 months old when I finished his quilt. I chose to make him a plus sign quit because I had seen one at a quilt show and thought it was really cute. This was a pretty easy tutorial to follow. It would be adorable in any color combination for a boy or a girl.

I chose to do bright, boy fabrics for my son's quilt. I just picked out as many as I could find and started cutting. I did the binding in all the different fabrics as well. I quilted it together by sewing a straight line on both sides of each part of the plus.

222559_10150728969095035_2824389_n.jpg

The back was made from an extra sheet I found on clearance at Ikea. I thought it looked perfect for a little boy! Then I cut the letters out for his name and appliqued them onto the back of the quilt as well. I love the way it turned out!
215114_10150728968780035_3767877_n.jpg


My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

Love the colors! Bright and beautiful... I haven't try quilting before... Will put this into my to do list with my girls.

This one is relatively easy as a starter. Or just doing a nine patch would be easy. Or a disappearing nine patch is pretty easy and looks really complicated finished. :) I haven't been brave enough to do any quilting with my kids yet! No sewing machine use for them. ;) Thanks for stopping by! :) I saw your girls' steemit page. My son has been asking for one for a little while now. Maybe I'll let him try it out!

I can't do any projects on my own without being disturbed by the girls... So now I will only choose those we can do together... So they won't feel left out and also they can make presents for their classmates as birthday party packs. Thanks for dropping by my girls' page. Yes, should let him try. We are planning on a junior teammalaysia for the children now. Hoping to motivate the young ones to develop their writing, drawing, crafting and many more other skills.

That's a great idea for the kids. I told mine they had to get better at reading before they could so I wasn't doing all the typing for them. ;) Ha. I used to do any crafting while the kids napped or were in bed at night. Now, I'm too tired to do any of that. ;) I do need to get us started on a big project together. Last year we made string art for everyone for Christmas (by we, I mean I did the majority of the work and let them take credit). :) Ha. Have a great day!

Totally feel you... It's the same here... 😅

I want to have one also ><

You need one too. :)

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is another really cool quilt. I love all of the bright colors!

Thanks so much! I really liked doing this one as well. I need to do one like this that is girlie - flowers or something. I just unpacked my mountain of fabric today and had 3 quilt tops already made and so many more in the planning stage. I need to get back into using my machine.

I like the pattern n this one! I don't recall seeing one with the cross pattern before.

I really thought it was cute! Thanks for stopping by! :)

Awesome monday as fabric was hot @apanamamama

Thanks! Thanks for stopping by. :)

I love the pattern and the bright beautiful colors! I’m sure your son kept busy enjoying this one :).

Thanks - he does like it. I need to do a girlie one sometime soon! Maybe for my new niece. :)

you turned out wonderfully !!!!! I also really like bright, cheerful colors.

Thanks! It really is a colorful quilt! :) Happy and cheerful for a little boy.

So glad to see your post. I want to see all of your posts, as I have time. This quilt is so colorful. I like the name on the back, too. Be sure to check out my memorial bear and pillows post I put up this morning. So glad to have found you (and following) on steem. Have a great day.

Thanks - I will check it out! :) I hope you like the other quilts too. They are fun for me to make (although I currently don't have time to work on any, but hopefully soon I will). :)

I hope you will soon have the time to pick this back up again. Piecing and quilting leaves you with such a feeling of accomplishment. Thanks for checking out the bears. I hope to become a regular visitor to your posts.

It does. I love quilting! :) I love the bears. They're awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33