Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago

Years ago my best friend was raising funds to bring home her adopted son from China. She was looking for different ways to raise money and I offered to make a quilt that she could auction off on her blog. I thought this would be a great way for me to help her bring home her son. We ended up raising $250 I believe and the quilt was mailed to its new home.

This was a fun quilt to make. I just cut a bunch of squares with pictures of things to look for. "I spy a snowman." This ended up being a really colorful and fun quilt.

411253_10151616982100035_930005306_o.jpg

On the back, I did a solid piece of some fun fabric. I think I need to make another one like this! It ended up being pretty cute.
469023_10151617020745035_1019217646_o.jpg

My favorite hobby is quilting. Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!
Do you make something with fabric? Join us on Mondays for Needle Work Monday.

Sort:  

Just beautiful!

What a charming colorful quilt. I am sure it is a cherished item

Thanks! It was a lot of fun to find the different squares for each I-spy part. :)

I love homemade quilts. My Aunt when she was alive made me out of the clothes I out grown as a child.

Oh, that's so great! I love that!!

I always liked the quilts. I believe that this is a real art of drawing pictures and shades of color! Your work is impeccable! Good luck).
Мне всегда нравились лоскутные одеяла. Я считаю, что это настоящее искусство составления рисунка и оттенков цвета! Ваша работа безупречна! Удачи).

Why thank you! That was nice of you to stop by. Cool to see your native language there too. :) Russian?

Йес ай ду)) Да, и русский и украинский, я из Украины).

I love that backing. My daughter recently finished a quilt that her grandmother started. I think she was proud of herself, but not excited about doing another any time soon...

Thanks! It was a different feeling backing - had a little texture. Quilting is a lot of fun, but it can also be a lot of work. Fun that your daughter finished one that her grandmother started! My grandparents were both quilters too but I didn't think to see if they had any UFOs (UnFinishedObjects). :)

This quilt is beyond amazing! I'm always amazed when I see handmade quilts because the amount of time, love and effort that goes into them is visible in every inch. The fact that you made it for auction as a fundraiser for a friend makes it tenfold special Just wow!

Thanks so much! Yeah, I think it turned out cute. I'm glad I was able to help her out. :)

very good! I like this combination. bright cheerful. the child for whom they bought this blanket, probably was delighted

Yes, I hope so! Not sure who received it even. :) Somewhere out there is a random quilt made by me. ;)

What a wonderful gesture this was for you to help out a friend in need. What a great amount it was sold for. It looks like a fun interactive quilt! I like the back of it as well. Thanks for sharing another one of your amazing quilts!!

:) Thanks for stopping by! Yes, it was nice to help her raise some funds - I was glad to be able to help!

Wow it turned out so great and is a very unique quilt!

Thanks! I really loved it. I need to try another one. Maybe I have a top actually already ready...I think it's in my UFO pile. Maybe I'll have it up here someday!

handmade products always have a different essence for the mass products! also your initiative to auction on of your stuff in order to help your friend was and is really admirable!

Thanks! Yes, I like handmade stuff as well. It does take longer but it means a little bit more. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88