A Panama Mama's Make It Monday - Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

in #makeitmonday7 years ago

For my first Make It Monday, I would like to share with you one of my favorite quilts. I love the fabrics that I chose to use with it. I coordinated each fabric off of the main one that I used for the binding. It is a yellow fabric with many bright colored birds and flowers on it. And my favorite color is purple, so that is probably why it is my favorite quilt. It measures 60" long by 37" wide.

The pattern I used is called the Disappearing 9 Patch. It is pretty simple to make, but looks quite complex. To do it, you sew together 9 squares in a 3x3 pattern. Then you take a straight edge and cut straight through the middle in both directions, turn the pieces and sew them back together. At the bottom of this post is a link to a video showing you how to do it.

On the back I just used the leftover pieces of fabric from the front and sewed them in straight lines and finished it out with a solid purple. It was quilted together with a zigzag straight line stitch. The threads sometimes snap when it is pulled, so I need to go back and reinforce it by doing a zigzag in the opposite direction. This was one of my first quilts that I finished around 8 years ago.

61869_10150281513910035_275677_n.jpg
The front of the quilt.

61138_10150281514015035_7210374_n.jpg
The back of the quilt.

21538_10150099467775035_1341907_n.jpg
The detail of the quilt.

<><><><><><><><><><><><>
Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

It is a beautiful quilt and the colours are stunning together. I haven't done any quilting myself but used to watch my grandmother, great aunts and my mother quilt through the winter months. Perhaps when the homestead is running the way we want I will have a little more time to take up quilting.

Thank you! That's a great idea and such a lovely memory!

Amazing! It looks like a piece of art. Love it!

Thanks so much! :)

this is great .. I love crafts ..I will certainly share some in the future. I like posting on so many things but am hooking up with you today. Following.. well to Steemit..

Yea! Please do share some! I love seeing everyone else's projects too!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Love the quilt and the pattern is very clever! I was trying to work out the blocks, but it's name is perfect - they disappeared!

I haven't quilted in ages and this makes me consider taking up the needle again. I might even be able to pull this one off because matching the seams isn't so critical here. I suck at piecing and usually did pre-printed fabric (log cabin is good) or a whole-cloth to show off the stitches.

Now where did I put that hoop stand...

Lol! Very nice! I hope you are encouraged to start it up again. I did this one on a machine. I tried hand quilting once and it just about killed me. My stitches were always different lengths but on the machine it went so much faster. :) Yes, I love this pattern because it doesn't require matching the seams up. I have a hard time with exactness!

I've pieced on a machine, but not quilted. I tend to choose big projects, so getting all that material to cooperate is a challenge. I say whatever works is best. ;~D

Yeah, I haven't made a twin size yet and most of mine are considered lap size or baby size even. I haven't been brave enough yet! But the town I live in has one of those huge quilting machines that you can use for like $2 an hour or something crazy like that. In a tiny town in Panama!! I can't wait to get time to go use it. :) I have a back up of UFOs waiting to be worked on as well as a stack of fabric that is dying to be cut up and sewn back together!

I've seen those machines on TV. Seriously awesome equipment! For that price, you could really go nuts - especially if you're all organized upfront. I look forward to seeing more of your creations.

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83