the Impact Music can make to our Lives ||| How I Found My Home with and in Music

in #life7 years ago

Since more than 40 years, electronic music is my passion. Artists like Jean Michel Jarre, Tangerine Dream, Gandalf and many more were my favourites in the 80s and 90s.

In those days, early versions of what we call now Dance Music came to life, with House born in Chicago, Hardcore born in Rotterdam, Techno born in Detroit. It took me some time to discover and adjust to these new types of electronic music. I remember my brother was listening to (pirate) radio shows airing all these kind of music in second half of the 80s. Mostly in Germany, since for some reason those radio stations were not available in the Netherlands. I was frequently pulled by my brother to club parties bringing all sort of electronic music, but mostly I liked the styles Mellow, TripHop and Disco; Dance Music versions that are much more accessible than those he listened to and embraced.

When my brother took me to Slovenia for a christmas vacation sometime first half of the 90s and we ended up at an underground Techno party; I WAS SOLD! Some Austrian and local DJs were spinning the wheels, pushing the harder kinds of minimal Detroit-ish techno through the speakers. Hairdressers were re-modelling all of us at the party. Graffiti artists were pimping up the walls. The people were super nice and accepted us how we were; No judgement! After the party, we ended up at the home of some people we just met; We had a fantastic time with our new (party) friends. Such atmosphere I never ever encountered going to bars, clubs and other places before.

Later I found out this was the setting that belonged to the underground Techno scene and I became a huge fan! A perfect mix between music and great human behaviour and people with enormous open mind! I FELT AT HOME! Since then I met many fantastic people in the music scene with similar mindset, and some of them became my closest friends! MUSIC CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER!

With my @qsounds channel I bring you my choice of music. I hope it allows you to discover new, interesting and inspiring music!

@qsounds doesn't only cover Techno, but electronic music in it's widest definition, from dance music to experimental, pop-ish and even classical music.


some of @qsounds finest music


Björk - Vulnicura (2015) ... album | play | post
Etienne Jaumet - RBMA (2016) ... set | play | post
Heiko Laux - Fernweh (2014) ... album | play | post
Hooverphonic - The Magnificent Tree (2000) ... album | play | post
HVOB - Burning Man (2016) ... set | play | post
James Blake - James Blake (2011) ... album | play | post
Joris Voorn - Nobody Knows (2014) ... album | play | post
Kate Bush - A Sea Of Honey (2005) ... album | play | post
Kraftwerk - The Man-Machine (1978/2009) ... album | play | post
Lana del Rey - Born to Die - the Paradise Edition (2012) ... album | play | post
Lanoche - Madrid Suena | Veranos de la Villa (2017) ... set | play | post
Little People - We Are But Hunks of Wood (2012) ... album | play | post
Mark Knopfler - Cal OST (1984) ... album | play | post
Massive Attack - Mezzanine (1998) ... album | play | post
Minilogue - Blomma (2013) ... album | play | post
Pantha Du Prince - This Bliss (2007) ... album | play | post
Petar Dundov - Be-at.tv (2017) ... set | play | post
Ricardo Villalobos - Bionic Sad (2016) ... track | play | post
Ryuichi Sakamoto - Async (2017) ... album | play | post
Steve Rachmad aka Sterac - Movement Detroit (2017) ... set | play | post
Talk Talk - Laughing Stock (1991) ... album | play | post
Ulrich Schnauss - Far Away Trains Passing By (2008) ... album | play | post


QUESTIONS


Did Music change your Life?
What Role does Music play in your Life?
What Music Style you Prefer?

NJOY

follow me @edje
check out my music channel @qsounds

Sort:  

good effort!
keep going!

Thank you!

🌺 I will reply again to your wonderful posts when it gets easier. I am truly frustrated to spend time with @steemit at the moment even though we got many other options but it’s too complicated. Music is my passion but the music business destroyed my love for many artists (not all)

Music is my passion but the music business destroyed my love for many artists (not all)

For me it is very similar, although never worked in the industry, but still with two feet in it through my close friends, I see many artists turning towards the money and forgetting they are artists in the first place. But fortunately, not all artists are similar :)

Great post! To answer your questions Of course music has changed our lives, it follows us wherever we are, it is a part of life. I love Jean-Michel Jarre btw, such an artist! And your writing is genious also! Would love to hear more of your story Followed 😉

Thank you for your kind words. I may post more about my story; But most of it I tell in my posts in my @qsounds channel. Today I just felt to post about my love for music also in my general account :)

It's always nice to see other people's experience with music in their lives, other ways of perceiving this effect it has on us. Definitely it has changed us throughout the years, I find your take on electronic music interesting, it is not a genre I am very familiar with but I like!

Interestingly, I think Disco and now Electronic Dance Music is transforming the cultures, in Netherlands hundreds of thousands youngsters go out to festivals and clubs every single weekend day. We have more than 800 Dance festivals per year with highest peak something like 5 big festivals with 25.000+ people at the same time/day. It almost feels like everybody comes to these events. Just realise we have about 17M people living in Netherlands.

of course, music changed my life, i worked in the music industrie many many years. but this industrie have changed himself to, money money money thats all. my musikstyle prefer its so big, but in my life first musik is Queen, greating

Agree, music scene becomes more about money these days, but that doesn't mean that all artists are going that route. I know some music producers and performers who are 100% artists and they do gigs for free, when they really like the gig. They also reserve time to visit more or less remote places to be able to gie something to there local fans who may not be able to travel to the big cities. I also see artists giving themselves to the devil, but I suppose that you see in any artistic segment.

I love music...when I feel bored I listen music..it's make me happy

Music can support many of our moods, and it can take us away from our daily life and dream away. For me it did even more, it gave me a world of true liberal people and friends, somehow the real techno scene is populated by many of these type of people.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

exclient post

Did you read the post?

Good Post. Thanks for sharing

Nicely post I follow you https://steemit.com/@hrsh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37