Rhubarb Lattice Cheesecake and Parfait! Gluten Free, Oil & Sugar free Recipe FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

in #food6 years ago (edited)

rhuburbcake (12 von 14)-2.jpg

Hi sweethearts! I am back with a new sweet recipe, this time an impressing but yet simply Rhubarb Lattice Cheesecake!

But first things first: I took a small break from Steemit and blogging for 2 days because I had turned my work routine upside down (again), and went to sleep very late, but waked up early. So I decided to change this week, and today I woke up at 4 am (!) after sleeping for about 8 hours. That feels so good! I love to wake up with the sunrise, hear the birds sing outside while I watch the sky get brighter and breathe the fresh air from the new day.
And also my partner has been away for a couple days, so I was alone with my little boy. I hope you all have been doing well and I am looking forward to checking out your posts again!

We have the hottest summer weather ever right now in Austria (even though I know it will be even warmer later on), and I enjoy cold breakfast, cold desserts, and light meals. I always try to listen to my body and its needs, and right now I am in a period where I am obsessed with greens; green smoothies, green salads, avocado in and on everything, fresh and raw ingredients and just simplicity. So it may seem a little surprising that I made this Rhubarb cake in the mist of all the greens, but as it is the rhubarb season here in Austria right now, and I see organic fresh rhubarb in every grocery store atm, I knew I wanted to try making something with it. So I got some inspiration from a friend on Instagram for the Rhubarb Lettice and combined it with a creamy cheesy cashew-lemon-vanilla cream and the easy pie crust that I also used for my veggie pizza last week. But this time a sweet version of it.

It turned out perfectly delicate! The crispy crust goes perfectly with the creamy vanilla-cashew creamcheese and the amazing rhubarb taste! I had to remake the Rhubarb Lettice a few times, luckily I had a lot of Rhubarb at home because I didn't realize that when you cook rhubarb, it takes only about 30 seconds or 1 minute to be al dent and if you cook it longer, it falls apart. Don´t worry, I didn't waste any of the Rhubarb. With the leftovers I made 2 delicious dessert parfaits, with some of the vanilla-cashew cream and my homemade granola.

rhuburbcake (10 von 14)-2.jpg

To make the rhubarb lettice is much easier than it looks, this was my first time trying it, and if I can do it, you can as well! Its basicly just weave it together.

rhuburbcake (11 von 14).jpg

Here a good descibtion: Line up slices of cooked rhubarb side-by-side on a sheet of parchment. Fold alternating slices up, and place perpendicular slices over, in a lattice pattern. Repeat until the sheet of lattice is big enough to cover the entire top of the tart. And here on youtube , I also found this one!

So give it a try, it is so much fun and I love to challenge myself making new things! This one looks very beautiful and if you have guests, be sure to suprise them with this awesome rhubarb cake!

So lets move on to the actual recipe!

Rhubarb Lettice Cheesecake with a crispy pie crust!

rhuburbcake (13 von 14)-2.jpg

Recipe

Ingredients:

Crust

(Note: this cake makes about 6 pieces. If you want a bigger tart, double the recipe for the crust and the rhubarb. The filling should be enough for a bigger tart as well, but you won't have any left for a parfait.)

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp coconut nectar (or maple syrup)
  • 1/4 cup water (add 1 or 2 more tbsp water if the crust is to dry)
  • 1 tbsp psyllium husk
  • 1 tbsp flaxseeds

rhuburbcake (1 von 14)-2.jpg

Rhubarb

  • 4-5 stalks rhubarb (+ more if you also make the parfait)
  • 1/2 cup sugar of choice (I used coconut blossom sugar)
  • about 3 cups water

rhuburbcake (8 von 14).jpg

Cheesecream

  • 1 cup cashew nuts (soak them overnight or at least 8 hours before use, rinse and drain thoroughly)
  • 4 tbsp coconut nectar (or maple syrup)
  • juice of 1/2 lemon (organic)
  • 1 tbsp coconut butter
  • 1/2 cup plantbased milk (almond, hazelnut or oat milk)
  • ground vanilla or vanilla from one vanilla bean

rhuburbcake (5 von 14).jpg

Method:

  • Start with the crust: blend the flaxseeds, the rolled oats and the psyllium husk until you have a fine flour.

rhuburbcake (2 von 14)-3.jpg

  • Then add the water and coconut blossom nectar or maple syrup. Mix the wet ingredients together with the dry in a bowl.
    rhuburbcake (3 von 14).jpg

  • Create the tart shell by pressing the dough into the bottom of rectangular tart pan. Fold up the edges. Make the crust as thin as possible, without breaking it.

  • Bake for 15-20 minutes at 200 degree celcius. (Or until golden)

rhuburbcake (4 von 14)-3.jpg

Creamcheese filling

  • Blend together all the ingredients for the cream in a high speed blender or food processor. Blend until super creamy and smooth. This process takes some minutes.

rhuburbcake (6 von 14).jpg

  • Pour the cream evenly over the baked crust.

  • Let the tart chill in the freezer approx. 1-2 hours.

  • Now make the rhubarb lettice:

  • Using a mandolin slicer or vegetable peeler, slice the rhubarb long-ways.
    rhuburbcake (9 von 14).jpg

  • In a pot bring water and sugar to a boil. Reduce to a simmer then add 4 or 5 slices of rhubarb at a time to the pot. Cook rhubarb until slightly softened (approx. 30 seconds to 1 minute), then drain on paper towels. Repeat, until all the rhubarb is cooked. Reserve the remaining syrup for the glaze.

  • Line the rhubarb slices side-by-side on a parchment paper. Fold alternating slices up, and place perpendicular slices over, in a lattice pattern. Repeat until the sheet of lattice is big enough to cover the entire cake.

  • Take out the cake from the freezer.

  • Flip the sheet onto the top of the cooled tart, and peel the paper away.
    *Cut of rhubarb slices that hang over the edges, with a scissor.

  • Using a pastry brush, dab the remaining poaching liquid over the lattice to glaze. (Optional for more sweetness)

  • Let the cake defrost for 20-30 minutes before cutting it into pieces.

  • (If you make the parfait, simply add some of the cream in 2 jars, and than as much of the rhubarb on top of it. Add toppings of choice. Rhubarb goes very well with strawberries!)

  • Serve and enjoy your summer cake!

rhuburbcake (14 von 14)-2.jpg

Let me know if you try out my new recipe, I would love to hear from you how you like it!

And I know I am way to late for the @fruitsandveggiesmonday, but as I have promised Lena to share this cake with her, I want to send it to the contest anyway! Hope you dont mind;) Here is all about the contest!

Sorry Lena @lenasveganliving for my very late entry;)

Many kisses and hugs to you all!!


I am a proud member of:

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

niina (1 von 1)-2.jpg

Love, Niina


Cant get enough? You can alo find me here:

BLOG & INSTAGRAM & FACEBOOK


While you are still here, take your time to check out my other recipes and recent posts:

Nutella only 4 basic ingredients!
Sweet Nutella Pizza
BRUNCH Toasts with bakes sweet potato, eggplants, white bean hummus, avo-dip and roasted chickpeas
Pizza with a crispy oat-crust
Pancakes:

Life & Inspiration:

Thank you all! ❤
I want to inspire you to live your dreams, eat delicious, wholesome, nourishing, healthy food, and keep a creative mind. We all can do that, now!

Health starts inside our mind.


All content and images are mine and original. If you want to share my work, you are welcome. Just remember to tag me.

Niina vegan Niinja Logo.png

Sort:  

This is the kind of sweet delight I am looking for @vegan.niinja please ship some over to me ;-)

Haha I wish I could my dear!! Thanks;)

dear @vegan.niinja, thanks for sharing your recipe. I already made a rhubarb cake and used a mango for the mousse :) I haven´t posted it. So you will be the first, who see a picture of it. To the point picture. I love the picture of you and the happiness and the free feeling you reflect. All the best my dear :)
20180519_153501.jpg

Oh thank you so so much for this comment and your sweet words! You have just made my day a lot brighter darling!! Your cake looks absolutely fantastic! It's so good with rhubarb, right! I make some kind of oatmeal with rhubarb today because I had some stalks left! Together with strawberries, it was a delight!

Have an amazing day sweetheart!

xxx

Nice to see you and I Upvoted you :) !
:
做事应适可而止。

Thank you so much!!

You got a 2.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @vegan.niinja!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

beautiful idea with rhubarb. and the crust, so easy to make us so delicious, right? thank you for your recipe. it's fun to bake so well, right?

Yes I totally loved it! And yes the crust is pretty simple, and you can actually use it for all kind of pies or cakes!!;)

Such a beautiful and delicious goodies Sweetie.............to bad this week contest is over now 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Such a beautiful and delicious goodies Sweetie.............to bad this week contest is over now 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Yes I know, sorry again sweetheart, next week I will hopefully be in time with my entry;) Much love!

No problem Sweetie................I look forward to see your entry next week 🌸💖🌸

Thank you Lena! Have a great friday!

Thank you and same to you Sweetie XOXO

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-30T12:37:39
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 455.72/800.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.96 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks amazing - so pretty!

Thanks so much darling!

Beautiful beautiful beautiful!
I never use rubarb and now I want to, That was a superb recipe. I have also not had coconut blossom sugar. It sounds great. Enjoy rubarb season dear!

Thank you my love! So happy you enjoy it! I hope you will try this one if you can find some rhubarb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56