I am a VEGAN mom! A short introduction.

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hi dear friends! I am happy to be back today with a new post and this time a personal one. ๐ŸŽ†

In my first post I didn't really introduce myself so I felt I want to to it now. This is me. Niina. A Swedish, Dutch, Finnish girl living with an Afghan and our baby in Austria. ๐Ÿ˜Š

image

I'm a vegan mom and my baby is now 19 months old. He has been a vegan since he started to eat.

(Just one question, is mother milk vegan?๐Ÿ˜‚).

How Vegan?

You may wonder how is it possible to live as a vegan family. So I will tell you how we do it.

Actually there are no secrets or great tips or something like that. Just skip the dairy products. And meat. And fish. And eggs. Not very complicated if you are familiar with a healthy lifestyle.

image

We have had a very natural way of introducing our child to food, we have used a method called baby led weaning, that means the baby can decide for it self what to put in his/her mouth.
We didn't start with puree or juice or anything like that.

We waited until he started to show some interest in food and than placed a few pieces of cooked or raw vegetables or fruits in front of him, which he could try out if he wanted to. We didn't expect him to EAT.
I did this along with breastfeeding. My son was about 12 months when he started to eat and swallow some of the food he was interesting in. Mainly avocado and sauerkraut. Some weeks later he started to eat more and on this way it went.

image

I have always felt it is very natural to continue with breastfeeding as long as I feel comfortably with it and my baby shows that he needs it. That's why I am still breastfeeding now with 19 months and I am sure we will continue for a quite while.

image

**WHAT we eat as a vegan family **

  • fruits

  • vegetables and greens

  • berries

  • legumes

  • nuts

  • seeds

  • virgin oils

  • 99% organic

WHAT we don't eat

  • meat

  • fish

  • dairy products

  • eggs

  • almost no soy products

  • refined sugar

  • almost no gluten

  • industry processed food

  • GMO products

image

I spend a lot of time with preparing food, cooking, baking and eating. This has become one of my biggest passions in life and I am so excited where it will lead. This is what I aim for and I want to make my passion to a full time job.

I can officially say I am a food blogger!๐Ÿ˜‰

I have always been very interested in healthy food, in raw food, superfood, the nutritions facts and what impact food has to our body.

This has been my biggest interest since I was a teenie and it has grown tremendously since I become pregnant and I went vegan.

Vegan

The first time I went vegan was when I was 15 years old, without any knowledge at all about what my body needed. But I had (and have still) a great willpower.
I can't say I had a healthy lifestyle back then because I was mainly eating to much, a lot of bread, refined sugar and way to little greens and nuts. My body didn't get the nutritions it needed.

If you want to start a vegan lifestyle, be sure to inform yourself about what your body needs and what you need to eat each day to get all the nutritions including vitamins that your body asks for.

I have learned a lot since then and now I am a very happy vegan with (almost) endlessly energy. I am sleeping way to little but I rarely feel tired. Of course there are more reasons for that than only healthy energizing food intake. But food is one important reason.

Some more reasons for my high energy level

  • I am happy with the choices I make
  • I do what I love
  • my way of thinking is based of the belive that I live in a friendly loving world.
  • I have found my passion
  • I eat when I am hungry and so don't overeat
  • I learn out of curiosity and not out of pressure

image

The end

I hope you have enjoyed reading my article. Now you know me a little more. And there is more to come!

If you have some questions or want to correct my English, feel free to do so!๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜ I happily read and answer your feedback!๐Ÿ™

Love you all๐Ÿ’“

Your Niina

Sort: ย 

I'm so happy that you are here and you are such an inspiration for me <3. I love you and your family. You actually gave me some energy now on a bad day and inspired me to look forward to a new tomorrow. Keep on going love. I see a bright future for you here <3

I am happy I could light up your day a little my dear friend. Love you so much and I am looking forward to see you soon again in Sweden. I hope you can sleep good tonight and that tomorrow will be a better day for you Nicole.๐Ÿ’“Hugs and kisses!

Beautiful. Such a lovely post, as a Vegan dad of 3 hearing these storys warms my heart. Your story is similar to a girl I know here in Ireland called Vegan mammy.

Continued success to you @vegan.niinja keep up the great work.

Thank you so much my dear friend. This means so much to me!๐Ÿ’“You are awesome!

Ah, you'll make me blush now!

๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ˜‰

Hi, great to have some more vegan foodies over here! Welcome! :)

Thanks a lot Emily my dear! Happy to be here!

One thing that inspires me most about Niina is that with all her success, her intelligence, her tenacity she is still a student. I love and admire her soul and energy immensely.

Wow thanks my dear! This is just so sweet and I feel very grateful knowing you and sharing everything with you.๐Ÿ’“

Hey Niina ๐Ÿ™‹โ€โ™€๏ธ Welcome to Steemit, so nice to have another awesome vegan food blogger here!

I had a look at your blog and I love it, I immediately subscribed, I am excited to see which recipes you will share next! I started my food blog a few months ago and it has been great so far. ๐Ÿ’š

Have a great day! โญ๏ธ

Thanks a million for your sweet welcome! I am happy to find likeminded people here like you!๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ’“

I really like the way you wrote & organized this introduce yourself article! I think its one of the best I've read here so far! :) This method of raising a child seems very natural for me. I would love to try that when I'll have my own children one day. Thanks for sharing it!

Oh thanks a lot my dear Ken! That is so great we think in a similar way on this topic. I am sure you will be a very cool and great father one day!๐Ÿ’“

Welcome to Steemit vegan.niinja. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem/Steemit. The official FAQ can be found here and is quite extensive https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also, Steemit is just one of the sites using Steem the blockchain. We also have Dtube, Dsound and Steepshot if you prefer videos,music or pictures instead of blogging content. And many more of course!

Thank you so much Janne! Happy to be here on steemit!

so happy i got to know you better niina!! iโ€™ll introduce myself too in my next few post ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am looking forward to read more about you darling!! Happy you are on steemit dear Emily!

Thanks for sharing and welcome to the platform, nice to ready more about you and your family. yay for vegan baby !

Haha thank you my dear vegan fellow ! Hapoy you likes it!๐Ÿ˜šHappy weekend dear!

Hi! I know you from Instagram :) I am also vegan mom and we eat like you. And I'm still breastfeeding ๐Ÿ’–

Wow great to hear! Happy that you also joined steemit my dear ๐Ÿ˜™๐Ÿ’“

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67