Easy-Peasy Veggie Dinner with an avocado dip! - RECIPE & PHOTO SHOOT - #veganwednesday

in #food6 years ago (edited)

baked veggies (11 von 11).jpg

Hi sweethearts!! How do you like to eat your vegetables? Raw with a dip, in salad, cooked or baked? Or a combination of them all! I am currently addicted with baked eggplants with other veggies BAKED in the oven. OMG, cant really write this without drooling;) This is my perfect dinner (keep it simple guys), and same goes for my partner and baby boy. I had some difficulties with the photo shoot, because they both were watching and impatient waiting to get some warm baked veggies. Thats why I cant say it is the prettiest pictures, but who cares, when the taste is all that counts? After 2 minutes my little boy started to pick the veggies he wanted to try, and the photo session was over.

One small secret: I made the Lentil-Curry, that I posted yesterday, one hour before this dish, no actually I made those 2 meals simultaneously. My partner is the biggest fan of eggplants, so he waited for those baked veggies to get ready, although he just had 3 bowls of the Lentil-Curry dish! I was waiting for them to go out so I could get some work done (and to speak with my dear @nicoleslife ), but they couldnt resist my veggies. Thats how good they are. I have made this dinner several times for the past few days, and want to make it today again!
I know, eggplants is not for everybody, but if you like them, you will truly love them baked, especially with some olive oil and sea salt...

baked veggies (4 von 11).jpg

@nicoleslife has challenged me and some other friends to tell 5 facts about our self, that noone here on Steemit knows about. So, I will see if I can find 5 secret facts for you!

So lets start with number one and than continues with the other four (+one extra):

  • I got marriage when I was 18 with a guy I had known for 6 months. For him it was all about the papers, for me it was more, an adventure! We lived together for 3 years, and they his wife from Kosovo moved in to his (our) appartment.
  • I was depressed for several years during my teens. I saw life and everything that happend through the question: why do I live? What is the meaning of life? Those years changed me completely, and it was definitely the most diffucult time of my life. I considered taking my life, and cut my arms with razor blades, yes that was how difficult it was. But the strange thing is, that cutting myself actually helped in one way, because for me, my inner pain became physically, and that was easier to handle, than the inner pain that I couldnt put in words nor understand.
  • I was born in the Netherlands, but grew up in Sweden. My parents got a job on an organic farm when I was only a baby, so we moved to Sweden year 1991.
  • My family is big, I have 5 siblings, my father got 2 more children with his second wife. I am the oldest one;)
  • I had 2 miscarriage before I got pregnant with my little boy. The first one was a real suprise as I didnt even know that I was pregnant. It was a chock though. The second one was very dramatic and I had to spend 11 days at the hospital and go through a surgery that took many weeks to recover from.
  • One extra fact: I am a badass horseback rider! (I really miss to feel the horse-powers here in the city.)

So now its my turn to challenge some of my friends: @trucklife-family , @amy-goodrich , @heart-to-heart , @lymepoet and @missdeli to share 5 facts (or more) about you that we dont know yet!


Now it is finally time for this easy-peasy recipe you have been waiting for!

Baked Veggies with an Avo-Dip

baked veggies (8 von 11).jpg

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • a few potatoes
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 or 2 eggplants (I had 2)
  • 200 g tomatoes (I love cherry tomatoes)
  • 1 paprica
  • 1-2 garlic cloves (pressed or chopped)
  • virgin olive oil
  • sea salt
    baked veggies (1 von 11)-2.jpg

Method:

  • slice the eggplant(s) and rub them with sea salt. Set aside and let them ´sweat´ for some minutes.
    baked veggies (2 von 11)-2.jpg
  • Slice or chop the other veggies.
  • wipe the eggplants with a clean towel. No need to wash them, just be sure they are dry. Then turn the eggplants in olive oil. Dont leave any spot without.
  • Place the eggplants and the veggies on a parchment paper, spread the pressed garlic(s) on the veggies, sprinkle some olive oil and sea salt and pepper on the veggies, and bake at 200 degree celsius for 45-60 minutes, or until they get some colour.
    baked veggies (3 von 11).jpg
    Before...
    baked veggies (5 von 11).jpg
    After..

Avocado dip:

  • 1 ripe avocados
  • splash lemon juice
  • sea salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 pressed garlic

Method:

  • combine the ingredients for the avo-dip in a bowl and use a fork to mash the avocados and to mix the ingredients thoroughly.
  • serve with the warm baked veggies. Garnish with some fresh herbs.

baked veggies (10 von 11).jpg

This is my entry for the #veganwednesday contest by my dear girl @heart-to-heart ! Hope you like baked veggies as much as I do!


I am a proud member of:

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

niina (1 von 1)-2.jpg

Love, Niina


Cant get enough? You can alo find me here:

BLOG & INSTAGRAM & FACEBOOK


While you are still here, take your time to check out my other recipes and recent posts:

Pancakes:

Life & Inspiration:

Thank you all! ❤
I want to inspire you to live your dreams, eat delicious, wholesome, nourishing, healthy food, and keep a creative mind. We all can do that, now!

Health starts inside our mind.


All content and images are mine and original. If you want to share my work, you are welcome. Just remember to tag me.

Niina vegan Niinja Logo.png

Sort:  

Reply to my last blog post everytime you make a blog post and I will upvote and resteem it for free to my 36,000+ followers. @a-0-0

Thank you for sharing this beautiful recipe and for your vulnerability♡

Thank you for your love and support, I appriciate that a lot. It was not very easy to write down does facts about me, because not many know about that part of my life.

I completely understand♡I recently shared some parts of my past with a group of strangers I was speaking to and the interesting thing is, it can help people relate to us. We all have our shit that we've gone through and most of the time people only see what's on the surface and see these "perfect" lives. The lotus flower can't grow without the mud ;)

So beautiful written! Thank you for those words!

Wow those facts are very personal, thanks for sharing! Love the veggies you made, so simple and delicious :)

Thank you so much Nina for those words! I really appriciate that!

Yummy roast veggies! Don't you love how enthusiastic your little guy is about food? Healthy food?! People think I'm cruel starting my little boy on green solids - but he loves it! Cruelty is feeding children the junk that doesn't even pass off as real food

That it is so true! I absolutely adore the fact that he loves it that much! He is always hungry for some more healthy and delicious foods! He has never tried any junk food so far, no sugar, no animal products, and I am so glad I can give him this oppertunity and start his life in such a healthy way. I wish that healthy food and how to combine the nutrients was a common knowledge that was teached and showed already in kindergarten and in school. Hopefully the younger generations will understand the importance of this.

We aren't vegetarian. I have goats and I love my goats cheeses. But we allow no sugar, gluten or junk in the house. I find well intended family and friends a challenge. They all want to shove candy or a cookie in his hands

Yes it is very difficult sometimes with strangers and family, I find that challenging many times...

I love oven roasted veggies Just made some made some yesterday............... but yours look amazingly delicious Sweetie 🌸💖🌸

My absolute favourite food at the moment;) And so simple!!

Wow that looks amazing, and thank you for sharing your truth with us, a lot of what you shared with us would have been a huge learning curve for you I am sure, but you would not be the person you are today if you did not go through all of that. Much love to you Niina, I will have to think of 5 things now xx

Thank you so much sweetheart! I feel good to be honest about my past, I wouldnt be the same without it, as you wrote. I wish I had the knowledge about life that I have now back then, but that would probably not helped me at that time, right;) Enjoy your weekend my dear friend!!

This is a lovely looking dish full of joyful looking veggies. I love to hear about two year olds that love vegetables. I have never met a vegan child before. Thanks for sharing your story!

Haha yes I know, it is not the normalest thing with vegan kids;) Happy sunday dear!!

this makes me miss having an oven. YUM!
interesting u life you have had, thru all the ups and downs u are truley a special person!
lol im glad i wasnt nominated yet! at least i think i havent? :)

Oh I forgot to nominate you! Or perhaps I thought you didnt want to share your personal life with the Steemit world, yet;) Lol, but if you like, I can nominate you now!!!

Thank you for your love, that means the world to me!

Baked veggies and avocado or eggplant dip are a must for us weekly, as we all love it. Thanks for the tag and for opening up about your past. It's amazing to see how Steemit connects different souls from various part of the earth. ;0)

Yes it is! I totally agree;) Baked veggies with a delicious dip has been on the menu at home all week long, lol!;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87