The Community Engagement Challenge - Day 11 DiarysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge7 years ago

Congratulations to all participants as we close the first

Community Engagement Challenge!

This has been one of the more challenging things I've ever done on Steemit but those reflections are being saved for the next post. This one is to celebrate!

rocket-2482856_640.jpg

image source

42 people joined | 25 made it to the winners' circle

6 people were so close that it hurts my heart excluding them from the prize pool but this was not a challenge pitting one person against another. This was a challenge against one's self.

In a nutshell, every participant had a total of 10 days to:

  • Write 7 posts with a minimum of 300 words, at least one cited picture, and no click bait titles.
  • Write 500 comments, including responses on their blog, the usual interaction, and GIF WARS.

This was not a popularity contest, nor was it exclusive in any way. Brand new minnows to seasoned Steemians entered and pushed themselves to reach a common goal.

CEC-badge500.jpg

CONGRATULATIONS

Challenger

Finish line

Wonder Woman

@karenmckersie
July 13

Power House

@progressivechef
@steempowerpics
July 14

Moseyed In

@jlufer
July 15

Skipped or Tripped in

@aboutyourbiz
@enazwahsdarb
@jaymorebeet
@lexikon082
@sgnsteems
July 16

Stubborn So & Sos

@arrliinn
@creatr
@denmarkguy
@dreemit
@kubbyelizabeth
@kylek717
@positivesteem
@rawpride
@thesimplelife
July 17

Dug Deep

@cryptologyx
@fungusmonk
@haphazard-hstead
@luzcypher
@pathforger
@steemfluencer
@tonyr
July 18

What was at stake?

One lucky person will be delegated 5,000 SP between July 23 - 30th

I will be traveling and watching my son graduate from Marine Corps bootcamp!
Name to be drawn and announced by July 20th
ADDITIONALLY
The prize pool began with 150 SBD from my own account and grew to 360 SBD between top offs and generous donations. 100% will be equally distributed among our successful challengers!
All SBD will be distributed by July 20th. Screenshots will be posted in comments below.

Huge thanks to our sponsors

30 SBD donor:

@jlufer

donation-1288390_640.png
image source

20 SBD donors:

@alicemarie
@dreemit

10 SBD donors:

@deanliu | @thecrazygm | @haphazard-hstead | @steempowerpics | @sgnsteems | @creatr | @denmarkguy | @nonameslefttouse | @tonyr

thank-you-1428147_960_720.png
pixabay.com

quality-2470673_640.png

image source

The Daily Diary consists of quality-checked, curated posts which must have at least one cited photo/illustration and 300 words or more. Our participants range from brand new minnows to Steemit veterans.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10

divider-2154993_640.png

Participants' posts in no particular order:

HOW TO VOTE 100 times a day without burning your VOTING POWER


I Finally Got It - I Need Different Approach


Exploring Life in the Deeper End: Wandering the Philosophical Path


Do You Know What The 80/20 Rule Is? - Why You Should Make A Steemit Post Ever Day Regardless Of Your Rewards

divider.png

The Day My Van Went AWOL - Another True Surfing Story


The Allies of Old; Book Two Renewal: Chapter Twenty-Five "F***ing Humans"


Talking To Two People About Their Dreams And Tips To Achieve Them.


Your opinion matters to me! Wish-box time! (500 followers milestone!)

divider.png

Learn To Draw With Friends! - 55 SBD PRIZE POOL! - Week Five Update and Proposal For Future Contests!!


Deep-Fried Wild Black Locust Flowers - A Real Treat!


STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 34: Raspberry Peach and Papaya Turmeric Take the Smoothie Stage


DEVOTING POST N1000 to @merej99: A HUGE THANK YOU, GIRL!

divider.png

Nifty or Thrifty: What Kind of a Mommy are you? - Part 4


What Are The Rules To Enter Steemit Open Mic And Why Do We Have Rules Anyways?


I got a call from an old friend, bringing in nostalgia for a visit.


STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 34 : Smooth Smoothielicious Farewell

divider-2154993_640.png

You did it, guys!


image source

All challenge WINNERS
have express written consent
to use this badge if they choose.

CEC-badge.jpg
CEC-participate.jpg

ALL PARTICIPANTS
have express written consent
to use this badge if they choose.

divider-2154993_640.png

shout.jpg PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT shout2.jpg

You have a duty as a new Steemian to learn about witnesses and their important role within the community. Read @pfunk's Complete User's Guide to Steem Witnesses. You have 30 votes. Use them wisely.


alien.jpg
image source
100SPbadge200gray.png
Sort:  

And what a fantastic 10 days it was! Super big thanks to you @merej99 both for the vision to create this challenge, and for pretty much putting the Energizer Bunny to shame for the duration of the event!

A big congratulations to everyone who partook, regardless of how you finished... as far as I am concerned anyone taking part in building community through quality posting and engagement is a winner here!

What we all did-- together-- is a great example of what makes Steemit unique and wonderful in the social media world.

^^ 100% this ^^

I was pondering our experience, and I am writing a "What I Learned" post about it.. and I suddenly realized that this moment... reminds me of years in the past when I used to go to week-long spiritual and self-growth retreats at the end of which everyone had "retreat brain" after a bunch of intense focus and connection around common objectives.

The rest of the world (in this case, the rest of Steemit) seems "different" somehow... not because "it" changed, but because we changed, as a result of the experience.

I know exactly what you mean! I love my retreats but there is so much focus on the one area that I sadly feel like I've neglected everyone else not involved. Whoopsie! Well, a girl's only got so much time and for the last 10 days it was on us, the warriors ;)

I am kind of surprised that you struggled with the comments though. Very interesting. (Bandwidth issues notwithstanding)

I love this! Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about the challenge. It affirms what I knew (or hoped I knew) all along. Community engagement is meaningful here. We need to battle to keep this place smart and worthy of our time and creative efforts.

Congratulations everyone! What a challenge to conquer. Don't spend all your SBD in one place, unless it's on Steem Power of course! Don't forget @merej99 to donate my share of the winnings to Chris's motorcycle fund.

Congratulations @lexikon082! It was a great challenge and interactions 👍

Thanks @sgnsteems! Yes, the interactions were awesome. I love meeting new people. Now I just need to make sure I find the time to continue to interact with the cool people I have met.

LOL! I know...i might have to take a look at the people i follow and see if my initial following is still interesting, since i have new people to follow...it is hard to keep up with everyone! :)

There has to be a better way to keep up with blog posts. I wish the Resteems would stop showing up in my blog feed. That makes it harder to keep up with people who you want to follow.

I completely agree! Separate "resteems" from feed. Lately I see more resteems than actual posts 😕

You got it, babe. 14.4 SBD will be added to the 7 from your post. I did see it!
That man needs to get his ass on Steemit but I'll donate directly from my BOA account. Do you want a screenshot or am I good for it? ;) (probably send you a screenshot anyway)

Lol, you know I trust you. How cool is that to participate in a contest and make a post to be able to contribute some dough to a good cause. I know it's not the most, but I wouldn't have had that to donate if it weren't for Steemit. After donating the $50 to Delton I was almost tapped out for the month.

If the VIVA.cash alpha was up and running, I'd be throwing some VIVA your way to help offset that fog machine you were talking about. Who was it for again?

Right, wouldn't that be awesome! I don't want to put her name out there right at this moment. I would hate to embarrass someone. I am currently communicating with her to see if it ok to use her name in a post. I have a feeling this is going to be a way bigger feat than I imagined. The fogger requires propane. Can't send propane through the air. But if we had a kind steemian from a landlocked country to send the propane(if she does not have access) could solve that issue. I am trying to find out exactly what the availability of electric is, the size of the area, type of electricity, is there standing water, what kind of tools does she have access too... Then I am going to devise a plan and as I said I may need the help of Steemians from other countries.

It has also grown to possibly building a nonelectrical a/c unit. It only cools by 5 degrees Celcius by that is almost 10 degrees Fahrenheit! The materials should be available but that is why I need to know what tools are available.

I just woke up after a full systems crash less than a half hour after @merej99 literally dragged me across the finish line. What a woman!

I had put off some work to get this finished and now I'm just having my morning cuppa...checking to make sure all moving parts are still functional...and I'll be off to a gardening gig on the ritzy sided of town...uggh! Running behind again...as usual.

I'm so glad I decided to accept this challenge. If there's a harder one here at Steemit please let me know about it. So I can stay well clear of it. hahaha

I laughed, cried, went hmmm a lot and spit a lot of steem at that damnable bandwidth wall these past three day. I also had the opportunity to meet some interesting and wonderful people.

I am especially impressed by the way so many were quick to help one another through this. Especially during the last push. That, my friends is what esprit de corps is all about.

Thank you teacher/coach, you are truly a great leader among Steemians. You didn't just build the theater of engagement here. You got right into the thick of it and pushed, pulled and cajoled to get nothing but the best out of each of us.

Gunga Din himself would put a badge on you...if he could. <3

Looking forward to the next Challenge!
Be well everybody, enjoy the celebration...

...and lets try to keep in touch...

                               ✌️

finally...after a couple hours waiting at the wailing wall of Steemit...check this out
I woke up...10 hrs sleep...tried to post the above and slam rejected again.
This is what I've been putting up with the past three days...I think Steemit is growing an AI
and it has an inherent dislike for me
patience will win out...every time! ;)
gotta go to work now
enjoy your day
~smiles~
good morning wall.JPG

I try my very best to be a woman of my word. You had a pulse and I wore out my damned f5 button to see who was still twitching.

I was very impressed by how we all came together to help one another out. We're all Steemit Advocates and got a taste of what true community feels like. Will it last? Will we all stay connected? Who knows. It was a wild ride and I can't wait to do it again... :)

Sincere congratulations to all the winners!!! You deserve it!

Special thanks to you @merej99 for taking so much care about all of us, for your sincere help, support, and dedication!

@ana-maria I am soooo sad that we got you so close but not over the line. :(
Is there anything more I could have done to nudge you along? I'm taking notes for the next round and will have volunteers to help in the next round.

Don't worry @merej99 - it's OK, although I'm sorry too. But what can I do? ¯_(⊙︿⊙)_/¯

I'll play next time hard from the beginning! 😉

@merej99 - Thank you very much for 5 SBD you have sent my way, but you really didn't have to do that. I feel kinda ashamed.
The rules were as they were, and I didn't pass. That's it. If I thought or felt withhold by any means, you can be sure I would speak aloud and argue about it. But that wasn't the case. Not at slightest! Quite in contrary!

I maybe didn't win some financial price, but I gain a great value in so many other aspects.
As first I met many great members I probably wouldn't if there wasn't this challenge.
Second, I've learned a lot - many things that I neglected or didn't find as important as they actually are. In short, many priceless things.
And above all, I had a great time with lots of fun! 🙂

It was my pleasure to award that little extra for you and a couple other people who didn't quite make it to the finish line. It definitely wasn't easy...unless you're @karenmckersie or @dreemit (LOL) and I probably would have held back if any of you totally gave up...but there were six of you who stayed the course. How could I not recognize you guys in some way???
I'm working on a post reflecting on the experience and also posting who won the delegated SP for one week. Stay tuned!

Thank you once again, @merej99! 🙂

Woot Woot ! That's awesome that 25 participants made it ! Way to go guys , much congratulations to everyone , it was an awesome experience and I really love the badge I got , they are beautiful @merej99 ! Awesome job , you deserve a break now my friend ! Thanks also for your special mentions , its much appreciated ! Wow I still cant believe I finished first , I have way too much time on my hands since being laid off haha ! What better way to make money then posting on Steemit LOL !? Anyways Fantastic job everyone , Time to Celebrate now ! Woot !!! 🎈🎆🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🎈

Yup! It was pretty awesome! I was up until 6 AM putting this post together and looking for any last minute finishers. I'm so proud of everyone -- that's ALL participants -- who pushed themselves this week.

Yes for sure ! All were awesome !! And now that some of the hard parts of setting this all up are done , your next challenge if or when you have one , will be easier I hope !! Now get a massage and some rest ! You deserve it my friend ! 👍👍👍💕

HAHA! Easier??? Aw, hell naw, especially now that I know what you all can do!

haha ! But now you have everything set up ! So in that sense its easier , is what I was saying!😂😂😂👍

@merej99, hope you're going to give yourself a little bit of a break, at least just "do your rounds" without time pressure...

By the way, noticed you skated past 10,000 posts somewhere towards the end of the challenge... congrats on a BIG milestone!

LOL Thanks! I wanted to reach 10K posts by my Steemit anniversary (July 22). Mission Accomplished Yup. Kind of taking an easy day as I work on my next post. I still need my 31 day post badge from SteemitBoard and 31 more blog posts to hit 300. Gotta keep chasing those milestones! :D

And congratulations to you on finishing first! It was a great experience interacting with everyone 👍

Thanks ! Yes for sure , it made posting a little more interesting as well , instead of the same old same old !! 👍👍👍💕

It was a lot of fun. I don't know what I'm going to do without this crazy pace!

Can you feel my face through this picture? LOL

feelmyface.jpg
circa 2009

I'm thinking... the week leading up to Halloween. That should be FUN.

Bwahahahhaha !!!!!!!😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

That should be fun. We could do costumes 😂

hmmm... what kind of torture...errrr...I mean challenge could we include that requires costumes? The mind wonders as it wanders...

Lol! Make a post about our costume since it would be about halloween maybe!? 🤓

Awesome stuff! Thank you @Merej99 for this incredible challenge. It is very clear that you put your heart and soul into this engagement challenge. You are a legend!

So how does the winnings work now?

14.4 SBD is going to be distributed to each winner between today and tomorrow. By tomorrow I put the 25 names into a randomizer and one person will have 5,000 SP delegated for one week while I'm on vacation.

Thank you for everything you have done @Merej99! You are too kind :)

By the way, who won the 5,000 SP?

Thanks for the 14.40 @merej99 ! Looks good in my wallet !! 💲💲💲

It was reallly extra nice when it was sitting in MY wallet. LOLOL Enjoy!
Working on the post to announce the winner of the delegated SP. Stay tuned :)

Awesome thanks ! It was challenging but fun ! 👍👍👍

Thanks, @merej99! I would not have gotten 7 posts in the last 10 days without this challenge! Did you do a screen capture of blogpage, so you can figure out home many comments you made during the challenge? Your fingers were smoking this whole time. You surely outpaced us all! Your encouragement and tips for everyone were so helpful. Everyone on Steemit would benefit from a @merej99 Steemit Coach!

If I keep getting all of these thanks I may have to drain my head from all the swelling that may occur. LOL I didn't do screenshots last night because I made myself available for anyone needing help over the line. Takin' a little computer break. Will be back in force later! ;)

Hello @merej99! I am so glad for having able to achieve the target set but also a little bit sad that the contest is over!

It was really very motivating in working hard and bringing great contents on the steemit platform and at the same time engaging with many people out there!
You have been a great mentor I will say and been here for us each and everyday with your valuable advices!
I am so happy to have known you and connected with you! This is the best part! You did something magical indeed!
We all owe you a lot!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Those are great words @progressivechef! It is a bit sad. I keep watching my replies and they are definitely less than before! Lol congrats to you as well! 😊

The pace was definitely hectic but if you continue practicing what the challenge brought you, you're definitely going to see continued growth. :)

Yes tools for the future! 👍

You are absoltuely right @sgnsteems , mine too has dropped consequently since yesterday! We need more @merej99!
Congrats to you and everyone who participated!

It is going to be a little sad but now I can actually escape and see all the friends I've been neglecting. LOL
Keeping organized was all on me but you guys are the ones who did the work. May you take some of the lessons and fly with your Steemit dreams :)

You really deserve the cut-off @merej99! What a workload for you these last 10 days! Amazing indeed!
Words are not enough to thank you though!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I am grateful to have been in this challenge and glad to have finished and met new people as a result. Awesome job everyone!

This is the beauty of the 3 C's: Content, COMMENTS & Curation. I will always preach this because through my own experience it will bring you growth and a strong, engaged following. It's the healthy way to Steemit. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60295.64
ETH 3298.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37