Nifty or Thrifty: What Kind of a Mommy are you? - Part 4

in #family7 years ago

Over the past weeks, I have been sharing how in my simple means, how I am able to save even just small amounts through my DIYs.








You may have also seen my Introduction Post and noticed our Incredible Family Picture.

The picture was taken last year when we had a "Hollywood Themed Year End Party" with friends and colleagues.

When we started planning for the party, I myself did not know what we will come as. While everyone started sharing their ideas on our group chat, I just kept them all on a "seen-mode". Basically thinking, "OMG, here goes the expenses again!"

Down to the last week before the party, I decided that we will come as The Incredibles

WHY?

  1. The characters match our family - 1 girl, 1 boy and a baby, and of course Mom and Dad.
  2. The costume seems pretty simple and "do-able" by my not so crafty, busy self.

HOW DID I DO IT?

Around the same time, the Babyshop - a famous kid's store here was on sale. Like - BUY 2, get 1 FREE.

Hmmm, works well for me because

for my kids, I needed:

3 red long sleeves shirts, and
3 red leggings

We also needed black gloves, for which I made them wear black mittens instead.

For the black outer shorts, we just had to wear what we already own. Except for my girl who did not have a black skirt so I bought a $1 per yard black cloth.

The yellow belts were also just satin cloths I bought for around a dollar per yard, then I cut them as per our sizes. As I do not have a sewing machine (and because I do not know how to use one), this is where my trusted glue gun came in handy.

So that the threads will not come off, I just folded them and secured with a glue stick and ta-daaaa!!!

I printed off the Incredibles logo from the internet, pasted over it a transparent book cover (for a glossy finish) and used double sided tape to patch on the shirts. I was worried they will not last through the night and fall off even before we reach the venue but the tape proved to be very sticky and lasted the whole event!

Instead of knee-length black boots which we did not have, we just wore knee-length black socks instead!

To complete the look, we should have worn a mask for which I did not have time anymore. I contemplated on just drawing black masks around my kids' eyes but eventually decided against it.

So there you have it... attending a costume party without breaking the bank!

DQmQ7mGj3ZCjFQzkhB5PSHtqcgMMMESEusGAoRW4k2rFc2F_1680x8400 (1).png

Stay tuned for more of our thrifty adventures...

May the force of the STEEM be always in our favor!

Credits to @krystyglas for her very wonderful text dividers. Do check them out : Page Dividers for Everyone!



Sort:  

Wow nice family @arrliinn

I like toast 🍞

I like toast 🍞

Love this - your hubby looks thrilled in this picture!!! What a cute family you have :) Have a GREAT Wednesday my Steemit Friend - SUNSHINE 247

Thanks for the kind words @sunshine247. He just wants to look cute. haha

I love that - its great that he participates at all :) Keep having fun, your posts are awesome!! Sunshine 247

yes he does... he kinda doesn't have a choice. LOL

Hehehe... bonding with the family...

Beautiful family. <3

I love The Incredibles and you did such an awesome job on these costumes! WOW! I'm just tickled pink looking at your family picture. :D

Awww, thanks @merej99! This was the easiest I could think of at that time... :D

Three little kittens, they lost their mittens, and they began to cryyyy.
Awesooome. ❤️️ Can certainly imagine you doing the DIY costume LOL.

Yeah... I especially struggled with the belts. haha... I was supposed to put hooks to secure it, but just ended up with safety pin. LOL

You done with the challenge na?

Yup! I think 27 made it... she's announcing the winners today.

very nice =D

I try to DIY as much as I can... para tipid. hahaha

haha true pero minsan napapamahal ako sa diy haha
btw minimize pala using gif's kasi may bandwidth si steemit ngayon para di ma drain bandwidth mo

https://steemd.com/@username btw @arrliinn there a bandwidth on steemit now check your bandwith here.

ay, thanks! oo nga... been hitting that bandwidth limit error from the last 2 days.

Followed and resteemed! :)

Kung sabagay..mga cartoon heroes nga naka-leggings, why not try din for guys. Basta sexy mga legs. Bute ka pa, me babasaging banko.

haha... nabutas na ang alkansya kaya bangko naman ang babasagin. :D

totoo ka. mga alkansya di nagtatagal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55508.70
ETH 2914.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30