I Finally Got It - I Need Different ApproachsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago

I believe I was doing many things terribly wrong. I'll explain later on why. For now, let me just tell you, I'm 100% confident I need a different approach.

Idea

Story No. 1

A few months ago a group of foreign business people was looking to rent an apartment, and they were interested in a suite I was taking care of. It was a luxury apartment in the very core center of the city. Although the building is old, it's well preserved, and the suite is newly renovated.

But, there was still a catch 22 or 24. Whatever! The catch was the elevator. To be precise, moody elevator. It was an old elevator somewhat adapted for more modern times. It has two kinds of doors. I would call them "still doors" (the ones on every floor) and "moving door" (inside-door that would ride along with the elevator).

Luxury Apartment

I waited for the group (they were all men, except the lady from the agency) at the entrance lobby of the building. We couldn't all get in the elevator at once as it was too small. Therefore, they split into two groups. Three of them would go with me in the elevator so that I may show them the trick with it, and the other two would go with the lady from the agency by stairs. (The apartment was on a second floor, so it wasn't a big deal.)

When I entered the elevator with those three guys that were following me, I told them it's very important for them (if they decide to take the suite) how to handle with the elevator. As first, inner doors should be firmly closed otherwise the elevator wouldn't start. I showed them how to do it and pressed the button, so we have begun moving up.

Elevator

Second, an even more important thing is not trying, in any case, to open the inner doors before the elevator fully stops and arrives on the floor, as they may get stuck for several hours until people from service wouldn't come to release them.

I didn't finish that sentence and the guy who was standing next to me, although I was somewhat blocking the door by standing in front of it, managed to stretch out his arm behind my back and pull the inner door. The elevator stopped immediately, and of course, we got stuck in there.


Story No. 2

As everyone else here on Steemit, I'm also wishing for the votes and hoping to receive them as much as possible as they would raise my reputation and bring me more STEEM, and we all know STEEM is money.

I'm not saying that I don't like comments. Of course, I do. They are another kind of proof that someone truly reads our content, and as well they are most valuable feedback. But, comments by itself wouldn't raise us on the 'ladder' we are trying to climb.

In other words, with every post, I was mainly hunting votes.
Until yesterday!

Yesterday I had an entirely different goal, and I couldn't care less about votes. I even didn't need lots of comments. I needed lots of questions. Questions that could be placed in a single comment and that would trigger and inspire me to answer them and make a lot of comments/replies.
(If you want to know why, please take a look at my yesterday's post.)

And, what happens?

Since I published my yesterday's post asking for comments with questions, people start voting on my posts like crazy. And not only on my yesterday's post but even more on those from previous days.

I told myself: "Ana-Maria you are doing something deadly wrong!"
And then it hit me! I had completely wrong approach!

Next time when I would want someone to go right,

I would say: "Take a LEFT turn, please!"

Bulb Idea

Bingo!
I finally got it!


Photos: Pixabay


Posted on Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Sort:  

you are great Stemian and thats a fact :) It should be enough :)

WOW - Thank you very much, @olegw! 😊

Congratulations @ana-maria! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A funny discovery, humans will never do as they told, you were trying to say, @ana-maria ? :p

LOL - Yeah, something like that! 😉 😀

No no, That's not the case.Actually, you cannot treat all the people in one particular manner.Some people will actually take the left.:-D
You just have to treat them as they are.
Now tell me for how long did you stick inside?

If you mean in the elevator, luckily not long. We were not able to re-start it from inside by pushing buttons. But the lady from agency tried to the same from outside like she would do normally. And that worked by a pure miracle. I knew that trick with this elevator, but I also knew it doesn't work always. Thank God, that time it did. Although, I wanted to strangle that guy for his childish behavior.

Didn't you ask him that what made him pull that door even after being warned?

No, I didn't! No use of such question. It was funny to them as everything went well quickly. If it didn't, it probably wouldn't be that funny.

Check my new post too!

I think that the funniest part is that you had to call for help and tell them that you were taking the elevator up one floor! And you couldn't make it without an issue!
How long were you guys stuck in there?

![image]()
Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada.


Latest Blog

Luckily, just a few minutes. First I tried to restart the elevator by pushing the floor button and other floor buttons from inside, but it didn't work. As we were almost at the second floor (where we were going) I asked the lady from the agency who went by stairs with others to try to call the elevator from the outside. Sometimes it works. Not so often, but that time it did. 🙂

Well, I hope you did not get stuck in the elevator for too long. That guy who opened the door has to know that "curiosity had killed the cat." I agree with you. To continue the conversation you always have to leave some questions in your comments so the person you are talking to have something to continue the conversation. Of course, we should not do it by forcing it and writing whatever. But rather, take our time and answer with putting some thought into what we are saying. Great post my friend. :)

Thank you, @awakentolife! 🙂
And yes, thank God we were not there for hours, just a few minutes more as the lady from the agency did the right thing and elevator reacted positively. 😉 But, it's not always in such mood. 😉

Well, as long you guys got out of there. lol

You are turning into a great #steembassador @ana-maria. Story number one is pretty scary.. the guys had to climb the stairs.. it's 2nd floor!!!

LOL - Are you serious, @steemfluencer? 🙂 2nd floor is only about 20 or so stairs, and they were young businessmen. Besides, it was their own choice. They could wait for the second pick-up round. 😉

Hahah... my basic rule is don't use elevators if you need to reach something that's withing the 5th floor range.

WOW - you are better than me! My (same) rule goes only up to the 3rd floor! - LOL -

Ah, it's just 2 floors difference. You'll be fine if you keep it on the 3rd or just move one up :)

Yeah, yeah... - I know that approach... - Give me just your little finger and then inch by inch my whole hand is gone. 😜

And yeah, it's wasn't that scary as it maybe sounds.

Hopefully it wasn't indeed : ) Well, did the guys took the flat at the end?

No, when they discovered I'm not going with the package! - LOL -

Now seriously!
No, they didn't as they wanted some different kind of ultra-modern who knows, if even they know what. 😁

Oh my goodness! I can imagine THE LOOK you gave the first businessman when he opened the door to make the elevator stop! What was he, five years old? LOL
Your post to ask questions was brilliant! I hope that trend continues and you find a wonderful and supportive Steemit tribe :)

To be honest, that first businessman was a complete stupid jerk. And I really don't know what he was thinking. I was so shocked that I couldn't believe it happen what just happened. But at the end of the day, he is the one who has to live with that, not me! 😉

Regarding my post to ask questions - I think it was a good call, although I must admit I expected a bigger response if nothing else for curiosity sake.
But apparently, I'm not that intriguing, even less that famous to create such kind of 'AMA'. - LOL -

Hmmm... I knew there's a reason why I generally take the stairs (aside from it helping me stay in shape) in older buildings.

The post with the questions... asking for questions... was still a brilliant idea. I always ask questions at the end of my posts. A lot of people simply don't know what to do, otherwise.

Thanks, @denmarkguy!

Asking questions at the end of the post is also a good idea.
Although in some more rear cases it's not possible or would ruin the story or something. That's at least how I feel about it sometimes.

beautiful

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32