Talking To Two People About Their Dreams And Tips To Achieve Them.

in #life7 years ago

I wanted to write about two conversations I've had with two people in the last 24 hours and their dreams. I have somehow entered the mix of this.


Source

Yesterday I received a phone call out of the blue.
Someone I've known for a very long time called ME to get advice on their dream and how they should move forward. This person is around their late 20's and has always lived on government assistance. The person's parents, brothers, and sisters also live on governmental assistance.

This person is sick of the lifestyle of poverty and wants to find their way out of this lifestyle. When dreams are mentioned there is tons of negative feedback given of why these dreams can't be achieved. There are even times roadblocks are thrown in the mix to intentionally stumble this person.


Source

The second person I spoke to has a dream also. This conversation also revolved on how to achieve this dream. It was way more upbeat than the first conversation. We were brainstorming ideas and the second person identified what was holding them back; the lack of technical knowledge.

During the brainstorming of ideas of how to solve this issue, I was asked if I could help contribute some of my time to help achieve this dream.

Mind you, I was taken aback by both of these people asking me for advice.


Source

"Why Me", I'm asking myself? This is the guy who has been broken for years. Sure, I've graduated college, went to war, had a small business..blah blah blah. But I'm the person who has been an alcoholic for over a decade, had two failed marriages, deals with PTSD and secluded myself from the world for years.

Sure, since my sobriety of 93 days I have been coming out of this funk, but doesn't it seem a little too soon for people coming to me for advice?

So, Why Are You Telling Me This Lex?

Trust me, I'm going somewhere with this.

I've contemplated these two conversations all day and my role in the whole mix. I wanted to share what I learned and maybe it can help you achieve your dreams too.

  • Look around you. Are there people trying to hold you back with their negativity? Surround yourself with positive people. Positive mental attitude has been shown to build a person's physical, intellectual, social, psychological resources. Remember the rule: "You are the average of your five closest friends".

  • Are you surrounded by people trying to sabotage your goals? People may get jealous or are afraid to be left behind. Make it known that you expect your goals to be supported or you will surround yourself with people who do support you and your goals. It's been reported goal sharing can improve success rate up to as high as 70%.

  • Is a technical skill holding you back? Increase your knowledge in that skill or bring people on board who have that skill.Successful dreamers do it all the time.

  • Are you looking at yourself for who you were and not what you are becoming? Do others look at you in this same light? Don't let your past experiences hold you back. You have more to offer the world than you give yourself credit for. Here are some tips to help with what is commonly called "imposter syndrome". If others hold you to your old self, find people who support the new you.


That's what I learned throughout these past 24 hours and achieving dreams. I even learned a little bit about myself throughout the whole process. I hope some of what I gleaned can help someone out there achieve their dreams too.

OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote, resteem and FOLLOW if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!


Awesome Veteran Logo Designed by @guiltyparties

Sort:  

This is so useful somehow, thank you for sharing! Upvoted, please look up my post too

@lexikon082

Glad it could be useful.

I like your point, surround yourself with positive people

Don't forget about supportive people and people who may have the technical skills that you do not. Some may put supportive people in the positive people category. Thanks for the reply.

interesting @lexikon082 do ur best :))

I will dude.

Why it is you they are coming for advice? Maybe because you've been broken a few times, you've been down and somehow managed to get up again, you've got experience and that is very important.

I agree with you. I have to remind myself all the time that I have a lot to offer the world. After being broken for such a long time, I would be lying if I said I haven't had to work on my self-esteem. It's slowly coming along though.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66