Team Australia new recruits 14/02/18 and do you fancy yourself as a (tor)mentor of newbies?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Hey, hey! Another week, another Team Australia update. There's slightly fewer people to introduce today, which is nice since it's taken a bit less time to write this up.

Meet-ups

There have been none—that I'm aware of—in the past week. It's shocking I know, given all the meet-ups and photos and vlogs that have been posted in the past few weeks. That said, there are some upcoming events.

The ones locked in

  • Adelaide. Last Thursday of every month at the Jade Monkey from 6:00 PM. This means next week, 22 February. Contact @mattclarke if you need more info, or just rock up and look for the cool people.
  • Melbourne. Sunday 25 February, Father's Office bar from 3:00 PM. Details here.
  • Brisbane. Sunday 4 March, Southbank Beer Garden from 2:00–4:00 PM. Details here

The ones in progress

  • Sydney. The conversation has started. Details here. Stay tuned for more info towards the end of this week.
  • Perth. This one is coming along as well. Details here. Although I think @ryivhnn sums up nicely where things are at with Perth.

Steem Australia website

@just2random has been working hard designing a website for projects that don't quite fit the standard steemit website, and which are tailored to an Australian audience. He also sees it as a place where we can send the media to get resources for stories relating to Steem and the Australian Steem community. Check it out and get involved here.

Team Australia mentoring

A week ago, @buggedout suggested we get a volunteer mentoring program going to help newbie Team Australia members find their steemit feet. As expected, the response has been positive given the steep learning curve we all face when arriving on the platform. The requirements are not demanding so it should be a rewarding experience for both parties. If you'd like to be involved—either as a (tor)mentor 😁 or mentee—please check out his posts here and here

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising and rewarding Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends. 

You should consider voting for the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. 

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink and/or @mrsquiggle (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link.   

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@jac-e is from Brisbane. She is acupuncturist and nutritionist and thinks that the Banh Mi is the greatest sandwich ever.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I'm an acupuncturist that is scared of needles. Obviously happy to stick pins in people, I just have a mild freak out when pins are getting stuck in me. It's a work in progress."

Yeah, needles aren't my thing either. Don't want them stuck in me, but I also don't think I could stick them in someone else.

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@thecreativerebel is from Perth. He's into the cosmic evolutionary energies that influence our personal and collective lives, as perceived through the lens of the Mayan Dreamspell calendar. (I'll admit I don't know what any of this means.)

Intro post here.  

Fun fact

"When my son was born I quit my full-time warehouse manager job to drive across the Nullabor with my family and train to become a stuntman at the Nerang Stunt Academy in Surfers Paradise and sell my soul promoting timeshare to provide for the family."

Being a stuntman would be very cool. Selling timeshares sounds hard. Are people still doing that? Don't we just use airb&b now?

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@mcfiretruck is from Sydney and @perptacular's girlfriend. She is happiest when she's walking her dogs, correcting other people's grammar, and eating, drinking, or thinking about chocolate.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"Last year I broke my right wrist with a 'granny fracture' while cleaning by tripping over my vacuum cleaner. I spent three months during the heat of the Australian summer in a non-waterproof cast."

Hmm, is granny fracture an actual medical term? Either way, this fact sounds not very fun.

Candidate 4

Name and bio

@danjo1984 is from Brisbane and @ausbitbank's mate. He's also a calibration engineer, a partner in a mortgage lending company, and a fan of the beer economy.

Intro post here

Fun fact 

"I've been arrested for streaking before at a footy game and it'll probably happen again."

Lol, streakers are crowd pleasers (I just made that up). I've seen streaking at the cricket before and it's always entertaining. But isn't the fine like $5000 or something ridiculous now? Expensive.

Candidate 5

Name and bio

@jeremyc is an Aussie ex-pat living in Toronto. Before moving to Canada, he was a fitness coach in LA and trained Kim Kardashian's hair stylist.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"When I was younger my mum convinced me that fish fingers were chicken. A few years later I discovered that she was lying and to this day I don't like fish."

Ha! My mum always tried to get me to eat fish as a kid too. Why do they do this? It didn't work. Gross. I'm with you on this one.

Candidate 6

Name and bio

@goodnode is from Melbourne. He describes himself as a writer, artist, and professional procrastinator. 

Intro post here

Fun fact

I have lived in five different countries in my life; Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and the United States."

Living overseas is fun. I haven't lived in any of those countries, well except Australia. I think living in Asia would be pretty cool.

Candidate 7

Name and bio

@terrybogan is from Brisbane and loves to travel. Given that he is an inanimate object, he gets around by freeloading off his human host Renee.

Intro post here

Fun fact 

"My alias is a stuffed toy that has probably been more places than most people."

Indeed, looking through your intro post. He's probably never been frisked at the airport either. 

Candidate 8

Name and bio

@lovelivinglife is a mallsballer (i.e. someone from ADELAIDE! Come on people, you remember this). She is a licensed naturopath and a part-time metaphysics student.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I can't swim so I plucked up the courage to try and do more with water and joined a dragon boat team in 2016. In 2017 I was lucky enough to dragon boat the canals and all the islands of Venice as part of the annual Vogolonga (protest against motorised boats destroying the foundations of Venice). We were the only Australian dragon boat team and it was the best way to sightsee."

I'll bet. Venice is a gorgeous city. That sounds really fun.

Candidate 9

Name and bio

@ursa is another mallsballer and @holoz0r's girlfriend. She loves a lot of things including books, bears, beards (I'm guessing) and putting "phile" on the end of words. 

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I grew up on Lord Howe Island."

Oh interesting. You might the first Team Aus member that is from there.

Candidate 10

Name and bio

@aalsa is from Sydney but she's also lived in Fiji, New Zealand and Hong Kong. She likes travelling, cooking, and spending time with friends and family.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I'm of Chinese background born in Fiji—not your usual country of birth when Chinese!"

No. But that is cool. Everyone likes Fiji.

Candidate 11

Name and bio

@thewam is British, but from the Philippines, and currently living in Melbourne on a working holiday visa while trying to get sponsorship. She is a qualified lawyer but would rather be a graphic designer.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I can turn my top eyelids inside out, I'm a recovering wasabi peas addict, and my hair is so long it touches my bum."

Oh my god, the eyelids thing is freaking me out. I knew someone at primary school who could do this but I've never seen it—or thought about it—since then.

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia.  

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide by @teamsteem if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.

This post was created in mspsteem, which provides a 5% beneficiary to @minnowsupport.



Are you an Aussie? Introduce yourself in the MSP teamaustralia chat!   

First image credit: @lordnigel

Gif by @justcallmemyth

Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Thanks @choogirl great work once again and welcome to all new members.

This comment is the calling for Mentors to these new #teamaustralia members.

Just post a reply below and I will update the following table to ensure no double-ups.

MentorNew MemberCommon Interest
buggedoutdanjo1984Engineering
ryivhnngoodnodeArt/Writing
mattclarkelovelivinglifeAdelaide
phelimintjeremycCanada
mazzlethewamMelbourne
plushzillajac-eBrisbane/Nutrition
abh12345thecreativerebelCosmic Consciousness

I'd be happy to mentor @jeremyc , we are in the same timezone and country, also I seam to bond well with people named Jeremy seeing as two of my 3 best friends have that name. Although I do think he's probably way cooler than I am, I mean look at those eyes.

It's not just me drowning then?

LOL. Listen to you blokes swooning like a couple of old hens.

Don't make the guy uncomfortable! :)

He looks like a cool, dude I've been picking through his blogs, lots of great self improvement content, I'm looking forward to following.

😂😂😂 killing me over here. What exactly does a mentor do? @phelimint

The idea is to just help new members find their feet with the STEEM platform. It can be tough to get a handle on when you're new so a mentor is just there to help answer a few questions if you have them.

Yeah the plan is mostly just to have someone to ask any questions too, or give a bit of adivice or whatever.
I've got you on my autovoter too for a bit of extra suppport.

Great! Couple of questions then....

What would be the best way to reach out to you if I had a question as we don't exactly have a DM service or anything on Steemit?

Also, I have done a bit of research into bots and auto voters... I don't think I am keen on getting bots to upvote my stuff but I would be interested in an autovoter - could you point me in the right direction @phelimint ? :D

Thanks so much!!!

@lovelivinglife is all mine. We'll get along great; (unless she's a good judge of character)

aren't all the mallsballer's yours? It certainly seems that way sometimes. You're an inspiration to the rest of us

Thanks mate :) Lots to look forward to at the moment. #poecomp entries are coming in, and the next meetup at the Jade is this Thursday.
I just spent half an hour on facebook; and the low value, effort free posts and comments just did my head in.
We won't bring everyone across, just the creative people who actually want to contribute and interact.

Ah gotta love a sense of humor.
Apologies for the late reply - I have only just noticed this and the above table.
It is late so I will start my list of questions tomorrow.
Thank you for volunteering :)

If I don't have the answers, I know the guy who does.
Go nuts :)

Here's an example of the info I need in your replies.

I'd like to mentor @danjo1984 as we have a common interest in Engineering.

I'd like to mentor @thecreativerebel because this!

He's into the cosmic evolutionary energies that influence our personal and collective lives, as perceived through the lens of the Mayan Dreamspell calendar.

Cosmic consciousness and the Mayan Calendar yes please!

Great stuff. It sounds like a really interesting subject!

Yeoooh thanks @buggedout, Cheers again for the awesome initiative and looking forward to words of wisdom... Thanks @teamaustralia and @choogirl

No probs! Hit me up on discord if you have any queries. I'm not always online, but I try to get on there every other day.

I was going to put my hand up, but just found out my mum has recently joined, so best focus on her first.

I can mentor @goodnode as we're kind of vaguely in the same area (art/writing).

goatsig

Pencil me in as a mentor @buggedout. My interests are photography, beer, business and Steemit. Currently in Melbourne if there are any Melbourne Steemit users that need a mentor.

Looks like @tubcat and I have @thewam as our mentee. :)

Awesome! Hello! Hopefully meet you both at the meetup :D Love Lali xx

Sadly I can’t make it. I completely forgot that I had booked a day at the hot springs with the wife in Mornington for that day.

There will be a meet-up a couple of weeks after this one though so hopefully you can come to that as well.

Ah shame. I'm actually planning to write up a post about the morning tomorrow peninsula hotsprings! Sadly I didn't take my camera because it was trapped in my house which caught fire the night before we went :( I hope you have a lively time, however, and hopefully see you at the next meet up!

Your house caught fire?? Wow. Hope you didn’t lose too many things.

Want me to take some photos for you? You can hold on to the post until after I’ve been if you like.

No, luckily the fire was pretty contained. If you could take some photos, that would be grand! Thank you!

Happy to give @jac-e a hand since she is also from Brisbane. I don't mind getting needles but would have trouble sticking them into someone so we could probably help each other out :D

I used to have a nutritionist as a flatmate and have had my share of Banh mi as well so this might work :)

Loading...

Welcome new members. You are a well travelled bunch and we look forward to reading your posts.
@jac-e
@thecreativerebel
@mcfiretruck
@danjo1984
@jeremyc
@goodnode
@terrybogan
@lovelivinglife
@aalsa
@ursa
@thewam

This is so nice thank you so much @choogirl and #teamaustralia what an adventure this will be!

Cheers! Happy to be here :)

Thank you for the warm welcome @teamaustralia & @choogirl!

Thank you so much for putting in the hard work to make the network work!

Team Australia really works well.

Welcome everyone

And now there's three of us in Canada 💃

Too bad Toronto is damn far, 5 days driving 😂😂😂😂😂

There's this guy too Fairy, but he's not active. @jackdillon. I remember doing his introduction.

Yes I just checked him, Vancouver! Too bad 5 months inactive 😳

3? I think your missing a few more ladies. How could you ever forget @goldenarms and me @phelimint.
Or are you just counting real expats, then I retract my comment...lol.

I think she's just counting the expats. Everyone knows about you and GA, don't worry.

Wheew, that was a close one, glad we're still famous and not just in our own minds...lol.

What choo said, which you also said 😂 expats 😉

Welcome newbies! I'm keen to act as a mentor. :)

I'm sure @tubcat would be keen to help out as well. :P

Cool. My comment is up there near the top. Get up there and pick a new member to mentor and I'll add you to the list :)

Awesome work @choogirl and welcome new team members. If any of the newbies want to message me in discord (gio6) they can, I am still new here, but I definitely know more than the first few days when I joined, which were hard. Peace Out.

Thanks for the offer - i may have to take you up on that later

Hi :)
I have 3 young children; so if you ask me every question that pops into your head; it'll only be a slight increase for me.
Dm me on discord, mattclarke#6202
I'll head on over to your post now :)

Well I managed to join the PAL Discord by following the link the other day, but when I went into it tonight it wants me to claim my account.
Problem is I entered my email to claim and it comes that this email is already in use. Which yes it is, because I did this the other night.
Any suggestions

So its not asking for your password?
Are you able to post?

I think I know what I did - I clicked on the invite link so have netered my info twice.
I have it working on my tablet, just waiting for the link to expire(be unclaimed) on my lap top my name is lovelivinglife#5441
It doesn't appear as user friendly on the tablet as I can't see how to connect with you
Did I mention I was new......

I've been here for ages, but I'm new to discord as well.
I'll DM you.
Edit: Or lovelivinglife#7619
I'll message them both

Thanks Gio. Yeah, the first few days are a bit WTF-ish.

So true, it's like a 24 hour mind maze.

Thank you so much - !

You're welcome!

Aha, you made it - brilliant!

YAY - I am as slow as a wet week but I got there in the end!

Wellcome to Team Australia.

Welcome everybody :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39