You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Team Australia new recruits 14/02/18 and do you fancy yourself as a (tor)mentor of newbies?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Thanks @choogirl great work once again and welcome to all new members.

This comment is the calling for Mentors to these new #teamaustralia members.

Just post a reply below and I will update the following table to ensure no double-ups.

MentorNew MemberCommon Interest
buggedoutdanjo1984Engineering
ryivhnngoodnodeArt/Writing
mattclarkelovelivinglifeAdelaide
phelimintjeremycCanada
mazzlethewamMelbourne
plushzillajac-eBrisbane/Nutrition
abh12345thecreativerebelCosmic Consciousness
Sort:  

I'd be happy to mentor @jeremyc , we are in the same timezone and country, also I seam to bond well with people named Jeremy seeing as two of my 3 best friends have that name. Although I do think he's probably way cooler than I am, I mean look at those eyes.

It's not just me drowning then?

LOL. Listen to you blokes swooning like a couple of old hens.

Don't make the guy uncomfortable! :)

He looks like a cool, dude I've been picking through his blogs, lots of great self improvement content, I'm looking forward to following.

😂😂😂 killing me over here. What exactly does a mentor do? @phelimint

The idea is to just help new members find their feet with the STEEM platform. It can be tough to get a handle on when you're new so a mentor is just there to help answer a few questions if you have them.

Yeah the plan is mostly just to have someone to ask any questions too, or give a bit of adivice or whatever.
I've got you on my autovoter too for a bit of extra suppport.

Great! Couple of questions then....

What would be the best way to reach out to you if I had a question as we don't exactly have a DM service or anything on Steemit?

Also, I have done a bit of research into bots and auto voters... I don't think I am keen on getting bots to upvote my stuff but I would be interested in an autovoter - could you point me in the right direction @phelimint ? :D

Thanks so much!!!

For sure man!

I use discord for most of my steem related chatting. There's two separate team Australia channels here https://discord.gg/mPkMxvp and here https://discord.gg/BW79uMC
Once we're on a mutual server you can search for members pretty easy, I use the same name there, if you wanna find me there that's then easiest way to chat.

In regards to autovoters i use steemvoter but steemauto is also a great service with a few extra features over steemvoter.

I can explain it all better if you need to know more as well.

@lovelivinglife is all mine. We'll get along great; (unless she's a good judge of character)

aren't all the mallsballer's yours? It certainly seems that way sometimes. You're an inspiration to the rest of us

Thanks mate :) Lots to look forward to at the moment. #poecomp entries are coming in, and the next meetup at the Jade is this Thursday.
I just spent half an hour on facebook; and the low value, effort free posts and comments just did my head in.
We won't bring everyone across, just the creative people who actually want to contribute and interact.

Ah gotta love a sense of humor.
Apologies for the late reply - I have only just noticed this and the above table.
It is late so I will start my list of questions tomorrow.
Thank you for volunteering :)

If I don't have the answers, I know the guy who does.
Go nuts :)

Here's an example of the info I need in your replies.

I'd like to mentor @danjo1984 as we have a common interest in Engineering.

I'd like to mentor @thecreativerebel because this!

He's into the cosmic evolutionary energies that influence our personal and collective lives, as perceived through the lens of the Mayan Dreamspell calendar.

Cosmic consciousness and the Mayan Calendar yes please!

Great stuff. It sounds like a really interesting subject!

Yeoooh thanks @buggedout, Cheers again for the awesome initiative and looking forward to words of wisdom... Thanks @teamaustralia and @choogirl

No probs! Hit me up on discord if you have any queries. I'm not always online, but I try to get on there every other day.

I was going to put my hand up, but just found out my mum has recently joined, so best focus on her first.

I can mentor @goodnode as we're kind of vaguely in the same area (art/writing).

goatsig

Pencil me in as a mentor @buggedout. My interests are photography, beer, business and Steemit. Currently in Melbourne if there are any Melbourne Steemit users that need a mentor.

Looks like @tubcat and I have @thewam as our mentee. :)

Awesome! Hello! Hopefully meet you both at the meetup :D Love Lali xx

Sadly I can’t make it. I completely forgot that I had booked a day at the hot springs with the wife in Mornington for that day.

There will be a meet-up a couple of weeks after this one though so hopefully you can come to that as well.

Ah shame. I'm actually planning to write up a post about the morning tomorrow peninsula hotsprings! Sadly I didn't take my camera because it was trapped in my house which caught fire the night before we went :( I hope you have a lively time, however, and hopefully see you at the next meet up!

Your house caught fire?? Wow. Hope you didn’t lose too many things.

Want me to take some photos for you? You can hold on to the post until after I’ve been if you like.

No, luckily the fire was pretty contained. If you could take some photos, that would be grand! Thank you!

Should be there this Sunday if all goes to plan. :)

Happy to give @jac-e a hand since she is also from Brisbane. I don't mind getting needles but would have trouble sticking them into someone so we could probably help each other out :D

I used to have a nutritionist as a flatmate and have had my share of Banh mi as well so this might work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72